We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
Ranked #17 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Me and the wife stayed just for one night to get away from home. Lol. This hotel was really nice. Great service and very helpful. Beautiful and very clean. The rooms were spacious and the food was great. The pool was perfect. The valet was awesome. But the best part was the front desk. Smiles, great attitudes, and just as helpful and great people. Loved this place.

Danny CRUZ

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmak1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Daniel C,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the entire front desk staff exceeded your expectations by delivering exceptional service and smiles.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We needed a break from the usual weekend routine of chores and errands, and decided to spend two nights at The Mutiny. Living just up the street, we were familiar with the hotel but had never stayed there, and we welcomed the chance to escape for a couple of days and pretend we were visitors experiencing Coconut Grove for the first time. We were greeted by Jorge and Evelina at the front desk, who were very nice, and within a few minutes we were escorted to our room by Ariel, who was polite and friendly.

Our room was a tastefully decorated suite with bedroom, bathroom, living/dining room and full kitchen. Both the bedroom and living room have large sliding glass doors that open onto a balcony offering beautiful views of the Grove's waterfront. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, as was the living room. Both had large flat-screen TVs and adequate lighting. The kitchen featured a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove/oven, dishwasher and assorted pots/pans, glassware, dishes and utensils, offering guests the option of dining "at home" instead of going out for every meal.

The bathroom included a toilet and bidet, marble sink, deep bathtub/shower, plush towels and a lighted vanity mirror. Be careful in the bathroom, as the hot water gets scalding hot – once we learned our lesson the hard way, we were careful to not turn the faucets to "full hot." There was also a washer/dryer in a small closet near the bathroom which we would have used if we were staying for more than a couple of days.

Off the lobby is a small restaurant – Atchana's East West Kitchen – that offers a menu featuring Thai and American dishes. We've dined there before and always enjoyed the food and service. This weekend, we enjoyed a delightful al fresco lunch on the beautiful pool patio just outside Atchana's. Even though it was mid June and the Miami heat and humidity had already ramped up, there was a beautiful breeze off the bay that kept us cool while we enjoyed our Satay Salads. And back in our room, we often left the air conditioner off and the sliding doors open so that we could enjoy the breeze there as well. Also on the lobby level is a small fitness facility that we didn't use, but it looked like it was well equipped.

The Mutiny's location is great – it offers one of the best views in the Grove, and an easy walk to all of the Grove's shops, restaurants and galleries. We really enjoyed our start the Mutiny and would recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Coconut Grove.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. I don't know what the west side views were like but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Peter L,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that Jorge, Evelina, & Ariel exceeded your expectations by delivering exceptional service.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just spent 10 days in June 2014 at this hotel. We were very pleased with our room which was more like a small apartment. It had its own kitchenette which included dish washer, microwave, cooker etc. We also had washing machine and tumble dryer. The only thing we didnt have was a view. It was $30 extra per day for a view over the pool area and water front. Did not think it was worth it. The reception was very helpful but the staff on the entrance did not seem to be able to answer questions on how to get around Miami or what was available.Non of the staff told us about the Metro Rail that ran north into Miami and the connection on the Metro Mover to the Miami Intl Airport. Initially we paid $50 each for 2 days of the Hop on and Hop off Big Bus that does a loop through Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, Little Havana then onto Downtown Bayside where you then catch the bus on to a loop of South Beach. This gave a good overview of what was available. We also spent initially $30 - $40 on taxis going to South Beach and Down Town but one day we jumped on the 249 Bus in Coconut Walk and for 25c this took us to the Metro Rail and for $2.25 we took the Metro Rail into Down Town Miami. From there you could catch various buses to other parts of Miami. The local supermarket (The Fresh Market) was a 10 min walk away. This supermarket had a lovely selection of quality produce. The pool area is small but nice and the bar is also small. The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff helpful. The dining area is however quite small. The quickest way to Coconut Walk the local shopping area is to go to floor 2 and take the back entrance which brings you on to Grand Avenue. Near The Fresh Market are 2 restaurants called Monty's and Chart House. Monty's is rather basic but you get good deals on crab legs and shrimpts. The fish dishes at Chart House are also very good. We also had some nice meals up in Coconut Walk at Jaguars and The George. Overall a pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossJenkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear RossJenkinson,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that our front office exceeded your expectations by delivering exceptional service.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Mutiny Hotel provides fantastic service from the maids to the front desk. We had 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a washer and dryer in our room. The service was outstanding and the staff is very friendly. Jorge Acosta works at the front desk and was particularly helpful. I will hands down stay here again when visiting Miami.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcalorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kcalorico,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that Jorge exceeded your expectations by delivering exceptional service.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked a night on 6/13/2014 and I was received by the front desk by ambassador to guest Jorge Acosta. He went above and beyond and made my stay here amazing and unforgettable. We were also surprised when we got to our room with a bottle of wine and a cheese platter, courtesy of the GM, Greg Allowe. Definitely recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Michelle G,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that Jorge exceeded your expectations by delivering exceptional service.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the mutiny for 7 days whilst visiting from England. As other people have said the staff are excellent, helpful and very friendly. The room we had was very spacious and much more than you would normally get in a 'chain' hotel!

The only slight criticism was the intermittent wifi in the room which was a bit annoying when it wasn't available

We would however still thoroughly recommend The Mutiny

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terminus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Terminus69,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations of guest service. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

I am sorry for the inconsistant wifi service available in your suite. We were experiencing technical difficulties with our provider and we have taken the measures necessary to correct the issues and guests should not have the same experiences going forward.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Starting out with a great location in Coconut Grove with shops, restaurants and the beautiful marinas. The staff is great, makes you feel at home, the rooms are excellent, spacious and well equipped. I am seriously thinking of buying one of their apartments if and when one will be for sale.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristinn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Kristinn B,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that local Coconut Grove area exceeded your night life and entertainment expectations.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

Also, we look forward to assisting you with purchasing a suite here at The Mutiny!

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 125 in Miami
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 S Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33133-6002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £131 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing