We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for WMC / ULTRA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
Ranked #139 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great for WMC / ULTRA!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel, like many on South Beach are not as luxurious as the boutique hotels, however it is definitely worth your stay if you are looking for something cheap, reliable, and located in a central location.

The staff was extremely accommodating, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the pool area was accommodating. Really liked the bar and patio, but the best part of this hotel was it's location... especially during the WMC / Ultra week.

Have stayed twice now during Ultra, and the prices have been cheaper than most, and it is everything we would expect. Would recommend again.

Only complaint was that the AC wasn't working as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    87
    44
    10
    11
See reviews for
69
59
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The rooms were recently renovated and all new, and stylish. Very efficient cleaning staff and helpful staff in general. However, Carlos was the one person who went out of his way to help explain something or attend to whatever you needed. He is a very welcome compliment to the Dorchester. My only complaint is that with such a commodity in these very small hotels, a pool is a great asset. The staff painted around the edges while we were there, but it needs to be cleaned thoroughly. Other than that, we had a great stay. I would recommend this hotel and Carlos to everyone looking to vacation in Miami Beach!

Room Tip: First floor room, and very little noise. We left the day many families were coming in, so at least w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I travel often and stay in many hotels. This is one of the worst hotel experiences that I have had. Let me begin by saying that the previous reviews on TripAdvisor and Expedia were positive. Perhaps this hotel is good for a spring breaker, but not for anyone over the age of 25. Please be aware of the following before booking your stay...
1. The walls are paper thin. I was able to hear every car and person talking outside my window.
2. Staff not helpful - The window in our room would not lock. Despite asking this to be fixed immediately, it was not. This was unsettling as there was a standing ledge below the window; therefore, we did not feel safe.
3. Pool Area - The pool and pool furniture was dirty. There were old tissues tucked in the chairs and trash that had not been cleaned up. There was no smell of chlorine from the pool either (SCARY).
Beds & Pillows - Do not expect a restful night.
Bathroom - Small and no place to even put your cosmetic bag.

Overall, this hotel was very old and dirty. For the price, you can find something MUCH better!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FSGarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here for the amount this hotel charges you can find much better locations close to beach and in the same locality. Staff were unhelpful and sultry and rooms dirty. Very basic indeed. Pictures they use to promote the hotel must have been taken a long time ago. The pool area is disgusting and dirty and we did not dare to step in! Never again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank S4AVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We rented 2 rooms here for a girls weekend. It was our second time staying here. The location is pretty good, about a 10 block walk to the Clevelander, about 3-4 blocks to the Lincoln Road mall and less than 2 blocks to the beach. For the $15/night resort fee, you get 2 free beach chairs ($20 value) and free wifi. The hotel has a nice enough pool with good lounge chairs and a bar with a nightly happy hour where they have a featured $1 drink. The rooms are pretty big, with a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen and large living room with dining area. The kitchen is great because we can make our own breakfast and save some money, since South Beach is definitely not cheap. I like this place. It is old and a little worn, as most places in South Beach are, but overall, it is a good deal, and pretty clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advonefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about
your stay.

We are happy that you find our location to be great
while close to Lincoln Road and the Malls.

Hope you will stay with us again during you next
visit to Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Hi All, I recently returned from the USA. Where I took my wife to Miami. After too much choice we choose the Dorchester suites.

This was a mistake.

We booked a queen bed room, we were given a room with two double beds. not very romantic. Fanny on the desk was rude and didn't care that we were on honey moon and told "Come back tomorrow and we can see what we can do" terrible attitude.

All the table and chairs in the public areas were not clean or have in my opinion ever been cleaned, especially the hammock.

For the ridiculous price tag of this hotel, you would expect a clean bathroom. Well avoid 314. You can not polish a turd. By putting a waterfall tap and square shower head does make up for the bath scum and dirty walls,

The pool, only chlorine made it safe, it was dirty and we never used it,

The gym, old and clearly had never been cleaned EVER!!!! and the air con was never on, so it took 1hr to cool the room before you could work out.

In summary poor staff, poor hygiene standards, over priced hotel, AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!

Room Tip: Another hotel anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RikMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Me and my partner were visiting Miami as part of a trip to celebrate his 30th birthday. This fact was listed on our initial booking by our travel agent, with a request to give us a nice room if possible. No effort was made by the hotel for this, and quite the opposite in fact. We had booked for a double room (with a double bed to share) in this hotel between the 9th and 16th June 2013. Upon arriving in the room, there were two beds. I phoned the reception and was quite abruptly told that is what they class as a double room in America- double guests and therefore two beds, which has been untrue in all other cities we had visited- this would have been listed as a twin room. I said I had paid for a larger bed for us to share and would like to be moved, and she said there were no rooms with double beds available, but if I wanted to upgrade I could do so for $350 extra for the week! We refused, and stayed in the drab room we were given, hoping to make the best of what we had got. The rooms were basic and in need of some tlc. The beds creaked as soon as you even put a bag on top of them. Very noisy air con.

Avoid any dealings with a girl called Fanny on the reception desk. She is rude, patronising and unhelpful. All other staff we dealt with were nice.

We spent most of our days at their sister hotel, the Marseilles across the road, and I would advise others to do so if you have already booked up this hotel. The pool is cleaner, the staff are friendlier and the overall atmosphere is much nicer. You get free towels and loungers there too without being questioned.

Also upon check in at the Dorchester, we were given a card that stated that with our booking we would get 2 free sun loungers and an umbrella on the beach. After asking at the desk about this, they told us we would have to pay $10 per person per day for this privilage of 'free' sunloungers. Breakfast at the hotel is very pricy too, and didn't look or smell very nice. I would avoid.

Only plus point to the hotel is its location, but there are plenty other to choose from in that area. Reading other reviews it seems you need to pay for an expensive suite to get better treatment at this hotel, which is ridiculous, if you had that money to spend I would advise you to go to a different hotel. Another couple who checked in at the same time as us, left and paid for a room in a different hotel for the week. If we had had that money spare, we would have done the same.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#119 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,320 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#145 of 208 in Miami Beach
128 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#94 of 208 in Miami Beach
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hotel
#121 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,279 reviews
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#128 of 208 in Miami Beach
395 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 208 in Miami Beach
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Property: Suites of Dorchester
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7413
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester
Suites Of Dorchester Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing