We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean hotel with amazing staff”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #119 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a clean hotel with amazing staff. Especially Jorge is the best concierge that we have ever seen. He's given us insider's tips about everything from restaurants to lounges to local hang-outs. We are very thankful for his help. He is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nur e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

nice hotel at Miami Beach. location and service is great. nice rooms but air condition was very noisy.
plus for simple but nice breakfast included. valet parking available, making parking in a busy area smootely.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I read the Yelp reviews prior to booking and most said great staff and great place to stay however, the only thing was the noise from the streets. Well that is correct. But you are on the strip in the heart of it all so what else would you expect. Rooms are small, however, super clean and staff was AMAZING... Thank you to Jorge and Ana!!! For my first time to Miami I could not have picked a more perfect spot to stay. There were 4 of us on this trip and we all agreed we will end our vacations in Miami!! And we will stay at the Avalon. If you are someone to spend most of your time in the hotel this is not your spot however, perfect for the average travler. One other thing to add... Although we did not eat at our hotel in the evening it is amazing how elegant it turned into at night. With beautiful intimate table settings and soft music playing it is a must to eat there. It really did out do some of the other hotels along the strip. Thank you Avalon for a GREAT stay. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingShannon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early May. Showing up Sunday evening we had to go around the block 3 times before we could park to unload & have the valet take the car. The first floor has a 1/2 flight of stairs to the rooms, but there is an elevator to higher floors. The walls were paper thin, we could hear everything outside, in the next room and in the hallway. Note that this is a party area, so plan to bring ear plugs unless you too will be out late closing down the clubs! The room was tiny & poorly laid out. Our friend's room was mildly better, but still not much room to manuever. Breakfast was nice. The hotel restaurant is excellent! The staff at the front desk seemed to fluster easily, but eventually got everything done. They did get distracted at chek in and accidentally gave us the keys to the wrong room. [Sorry to the guy in the towel we walked in on!!] It was corrected quickly and they were very appologetic.

Room Tip: Get higher up, and the rooms along the back are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunnilue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent a week here and loved it....the hotel staff was so nice and gracious the european breakfast hit the mark great coffee also....just have to cross the street to get to the beach. The room was clean and could walk to a ton of places. Loved the live music at night and also the dinner that was served if we wanted to eat at the hotel....we had a 2nd floor ocean drive/corner room enjoyed live music every night if we opened the window. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GiggyEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel you are paying for location only. The hotel is very old needs to be clean ! When we arrived in our room the sheets looked like coffee was spilled on them, the carpet looked like it has been there for 50 yrs, we asked the staff to change the sheets which they did. It was very noisy and I did not know at time of booking that this was on the Main Street. I asked the staff if we could get a refund the minute I steped into the hotel, they said no that they could not do that. There were 3 couples behind us asking for rooms, the desk staff says sorry we are full. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Right down the street was a hotel name room mates I would suggest that
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cjkid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management A, Staff and Management at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear cjkid54,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience. We will certainly look into all of the issues you have shared with us. It is unusual to receive comments like this, so we would ask that next time you travel to the area, please contact us directly so that we may have the opportunity to make it up to you.

Respectfully,

Staff and Management
Avalon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Art Deco hotel in the perfect location. Located right on Ocean Drive and 5th across from the park, beach and Atlantic Ocean. Complimentary WiFi, continental breakfast and beach towels.Rooms are clean and simple. Very comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton linens.
Service staff are lovely; a special thank you to Ana and Jorge at the front desk.
The restaurant A a Fish called Wanda offers tasty seafood dishes for dinner service; I recommend it.
My only feedback comment would be that it would be nice if the hotel offered a hot breakfast for their guests.

Room Tip: The elevator ( it is an Art Deco hotel) is slow, so perhaps a room on the second floor would be good...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vouzoukos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#170 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#69 of 210 in Miami Beach
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#194 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £103 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing