We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Hotel!!”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #52 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special Hotel!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just returned from my second visit to the Essex House in 4 months. Elegant, classy hotel. NOT stuffy. Staff is wonderful. In the middle of everything you go to South Beach for. One short block from Ocean Drive and the beach. I like that it is quiet day and night. I have stayed on Ocean Drive where it is SO loud day and night. Hard to get a good night's sleep. I look forward to my next visit to South Beach and the Essex House.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    701
    216
    69
    57
See reviews for
300
779
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It was heaven to grab a beach towel from the front desk and only walk a short block to a beautiful stretch of beach, then enjoy the free Happy Hour wine for guests and delicious mojitos at the Essex's charming patio/lounge/porch/pool! The staff were helpful and courteous, the valet parking service very prompt, and it was terrific to be within walking distance of so many great restaurants. And of course it's so cool to stay at a great example of art deco style.

We're older early birds, so a quieter room was our first priority. The front desk did give us one facing the courtyard, and we heard no noise at all from the outside. However, the walls are thin, and we could hear the neighboring room's TV until almost midnight; still it's South Beach, and you can't expect everyone to go to bed at 10:30. We were away from our room on our first day from about 10:00 until 3:30 or so, and our room was just being made up. The next day, we put up the Clean Our Room sign, and it was ready when we got back, so I'd recommend that tip if you want the room earlier than 4:00-4:30. My biggest complaint about the room is that it was a single, and I can't really say it was comfortable. The bed was smallish and kind of hard, there was no chest of drawers , no room to put anything in the small bathroom or the room itself. But there were bedside lights on both sides of the bed, and the temp control worked great.

It sounds like the suites are much more commodious, so if we go to this area again, I guess we'll see if we can afford one. But the hotel itself will still be our first choice.

Room Tip: Facing courtyard is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C0l0traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My fiancé and I frequent South Beach often @3-4 times a year. We can't keep away from the Essex house. We <3 love this place, its perfect location (close enough to all) yet away from all the loudness and music from the Cleavlander at night. Its intimate, clean, and the suites are amazing, my favorite part is the suites, very roomy, big, tremendous bathrooms and very private. Love the outdoor little lounge area sofas to hang and the large comfortable lobby. We are extremely happy with this place :-)
We have been here - July, Nov, March past few years and not 1 complaint!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbieedollz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

For my best friend 21st birthday we decided to spend our time in Miami. We were extremely happy with the location of the hotel! We have access to the Clevelander Hotel but have the quietness from the Essex to step away from the busy party scene that south beach offers. We stayed at the hotel for a total of four nights and the staff made us feel as if we were at home. When we went to Miami it was around a time where the Winter Music Festival was in town and all the clubs were only playing nothing else but house music but the wonderful gentlemen Chris at the front desk gave us plenty of other options that he knew about around the town. There was no microwave nor refrigerator in the room but whenever we needed something to be heated Jenny or Brad the day time people personally made sure that we could get our food heated. I really enjoyed my stay at the Essex House and can not wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

After docking in Miami, returning from a week long Carribbean cruise, 4 of us had a good time for a few days in SOBE where we stayed at the Essex House.
They make the best Mojito's in the area.
Although it was spring break time, staying 1 block off of Ocean Drive was relaxed & sufficiently quiet. This is our 2nd time staying here & it is a great art-deco hotel with history to match.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAP10301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Essex House for two nights in March and were very pleased overall.

The Good:
Very close to the beach and it was lovely to eat breakfast next door at the Clevelander early in the morning on Ocean Drive
Room was spacious, clean, bed was comfortable, and despite the party going on next door, incredibly quiet
The pool is small, quaint, shaded and relaxing
The bartender (Brogan) was friendly and interesting and shared his favorite Keys experiences (since we were headed there next)

The Not So Good
Pool at the Clevelander was being repaired while we were there
Thought there was a fitness center at the Clevelander, but I must have misread (but you still have the whole beach, so it worked out!)
Air conditioner in our room sounded like we were hanging out on the runway at MIA
The sink was a super small pedestal - hardly a deal breaker since we are dealing with a property built in the 30s, but be aware if you have lots of products!

The parking situation is a litttle strange. There was no valet to be found when we arrived at 7:00 PM on a Wednesday, so we parked in the garage. Talked to the front desk and he said we needed to talk to the garage manager (right away - not at the end of visit). We walked back to the garage, met the garage manager, paid for two days of parking and he gave us a ticket that we scanned to get in/out of the building. Totally works, but a little weird.

Overall, GREAT experience. Would totally stay here again and recommend to friends!

Overall, a great experience. I would

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel two days ago for three nights. I was surprised for the quality and the quietness of the rooms. I got the suite 14, on the building outside the main building.
The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The hotel is located on 10th St, but you dont listen to anything in the street though.
There is no breakfast, but it is OK. You can grab a coffee (for free) and have something on your way,
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capitanblusero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach
Essex House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing