We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location!”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #50 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The pictures provided by the hotel looks nice but the reality were an older building, average room and restaurant.We stayed in room 320. The room is clean, quiet and good location in South Beach.There is no safety deposit box in the room.

The restaurant is nothing to write home about. It's not a truly Japanese Sushi restaurant. It's more like fusion Japanese food with a nice presentation on your plates.

The happy hour is from 4:30 - 5:30pm (mon-fri) with free wine and local beer in the lobby for 1 hour. They clock it and shut down by 5:30pm.

I hesitated to give it as a 4 (very good) hotel but I also feel bad that I give them a 3 (average)..... And I just did!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing747-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    691
    212
    65
    56
See reviews for
289
768
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Essex House Hotel for 4 nights. It was in a great location - just around the corner from the South Beach bars and restaurants, a two minute walk to the beach and a five minute walk to some great shops.
This is a very busy spot but the Essex House Hotel is a bit more quiet compared to the beach facing hotels. If you prefer to get away from the noise then this is perfect.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. The only downside is that the bathrooms are very small and there is a lack of storage. There was only one small wardrobe and no drawers. Not a problem if it's a short visit.
We would recommend this hotel and would use it again if we were to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Went with my daughter for our annual trip together. Each year she picks where we will go, and this year it was Miami. I wanted her to see the beach scene, but I also wanted to be able to get away from it at the end of the day, and the Essex House was perfect. Great location, very friendly staff, and nice, clean rooms. We stayed in one of the courtyard suites, and it was perfect. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was my second visit to Miami and so I suggested Essex House because I thought it was a good location just off Ocean Drive and behind the Clevlander bar.
September was much quieter in general than when I last visited in the April time and so the hotel was extremely quiet.
The rooms are basic and there is no hotel safe! The rooms also smell quite damp and musky. I know it is an older style deco hotel but they need to do some work in the rooms to get rid of this.
Breakfast is very ample and included. I would also highly recommend the Japanese restaurant downstairs where we had a fantastic meal.
I think if you want to be on Ocean Drive in a good location then you should opt for this but there is no hotel beach access and the pool is shaded so I would call this a party hotel in season!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Only stayed for one night (post-cruise) but wish it had been longer! The room was small, but immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. Service at the front desk was exceptional - all staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Loved the location and will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chemainus48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for two nights this week and had an absolute blast. Julianna (I hope that's how her name is spelled) ensured that my boyfriend and I were comfortable and even upgraded our room to the King Suite because it was his birthday. The room was clean, beautiful, spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Customer service was amazing all around and we had no complaints whatsoever. The fact that they're connected to the Clevelander is another bonus and we were able to access the property at any time. Sitting in the lobby, I saw how the whole staff worked diligently to ensure customer satisfaction! I've stayed at over 7 different hotels in South Beach and this was definitely the best by far! Can't wait to return for my birthday!!

Room Tip: King Suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you want to be close to the action but not right on top of it then this is the place for you. Located between Ocean Blvd with all the hustle and bustle and Washington and it's shops is Collins. Walking distance to everything one needs. Hotel is a wonderful Art Deco restoration with outstanding customer service. From the moment the cab dropped us off we were welcomed with smiles and a desire to make our stay an enjoyable experience. From the breakfast in the morning to the happy hour we were completely surprised on how nice everything was prepared. We were upgraded to a suite, which for the price we were paying was an excellent value, and the room was beyond our expectations. Huge with a nice layout of furniture and decore, the surprise was the huge jacuzzi tub. Overall a great experience and would recommend the Essex House to anyone visiting South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldJase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach
Essex House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing