We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Miami Beach stay”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #53 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant Miami Beach stay”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean, spacious rooms, one if the nicer places we've stayed in Miami Beach. The only reason I give a 4 rather than a 5 is no room service. Fairly quiet (especially compared to the noisy Clevelander) but since the Clevelander is the Essex's sister hotel you can use its pool etc as if you were staying there. Plus Essex has its own small but pleasant pool. One block from beach access. Overall a great option.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    698
    216
    67
    56
See reviews for
295
775
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Near ocean drive where the action is but far enough from the noise (ocean drive is really noisy at night!!),a good thing for your sleep.
Our room was big and clean,staff was helpful.
The japanese restaurant and bar is really great,tasty food and good cocktails at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tintinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

You cannot beat doing business in S. Beach. The accommodations for the Essex Hotel were fantastic, location of the hotel is perfect, and the hospitality was great! The staff went above and beyond my expectations. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwoods, WI
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you're considering a first visit to Miami Beach, you could always find a room in one of the big chains on North Beach, but we're really glad we started checking out the "boutique" hotels in the Art Deco area of South Beach. These historic properties are being restored to their past glory, and their lobby bars are wonderfully intimate places to have a drink and do some serious people watching! We've stayed at two such places and will visit others in the future. The Essex House, like our earlier stay at the Whitelaw, puts you steps away from the beach or all the restaurants and nightlife of South Beach. The lobby architecture is seriously beautiful and the service is usually quite friendly. (It can be hit-and-miss like a lot of touristy places; that's fine. We had two different bartenders with serious attitudes, but plenty of other options for buying beverages.) The rooms are small, but that's reflective of hotels of that age and that's more than made up for with very comfortable beds, plentiful hot water and very good TV service. The Essex House is right next door to the Clevelander, party central, and yet we never heard the party once we got to our room. We would highly recommend this place to anyone coming to visit South Beach.

Room Tip: Just say, "I know you're next door to the Clevelander, which can be loud, so can you make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwesternBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It's a comfortable hotel in an excellent location on Collins Av. The suite we had was very nice indeed. All the staff is pleasant and friendly, they help tourists all the time at anything which can be needed. Breakfast is good and even if it's not a buffet you can eat a variety of delicious pastries, if you aren't on a diet:))) I highly recommend it

Room Tip: I haven't seen the rooms, just the suite I was in. As I said before it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariacop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

By far the best service I have ever received and the hotel is gorgeous. I visit Miami twice a year and always stay at the Essex. It's right by all of the action of South Beach, but still very quiet and relaxing. The staff is amazing and they are all very accommodating. Also, it's right by the beach and you still get access to the Clevelander. Quiet, yet right by the action...what more can you ask for? Stay there and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a place that I would be worthy of a return stay. Check in was a breeze, staff was very friendly and helpful, the room (we had a suite) was spacious and very clean and the location was very central. We liked the short distance to the beach and the fun to be had at the Clevelander next door. We enjoyed restaurant and Carolina was excellent in helping us pick out some delicious food. And happy hour during the week is a great time to meet some other guest and enjoy a free beer or glass of wine. We were very happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenJen0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach
Essex House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing