We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #54 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I got the Superior Queen room, 222. It was a corner room and looked out on the corner of Collins and 10th. I loved the windows. The room was smallish but fine. I only shared one wall with another room. Good thing since I could hear them clearly if i didn't have the TV on or some other noise in my room. The bathroom was small, the sink tiny and low but very clean. The bed linens were among the best I have ever slept on!
Short walk to the beach, shorter walk to Ocean Ave.
Front desk people were very nice. I had a nice conversation with the bellman who got me a cab. Interesting lobby. I thought the breakfast was fine. Not sure what other reviewers were complaining about. I would come back here when I want to be in the middle of things.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
There are newer reviews for Essex House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Essex House along with the Clevelander capture South Beach like no other place can. We enjoyed our comfortable room, great food, and loved the happy hour. A short walk outside our hotel room and we were part of the excitement that truly captures the South Beach experience. Being in the hospitality industry, we know when we are experiencing great service and that is what both the Essex House and the Clevelander deliver. Our stay was as care-free as it gets. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faridemyseesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel and it's sister property the Clevelander are the quintessential Miami hotels. Perfectly located at Collins Avenue and the beach, these two properties have mastered excellent service, attention to detail, upscale accommodations in a fun environment. Happy hour in the lobby and complimentary continental breakfast are an added value. You can choose to engage in the "party" atmosphere outside with the music, pool and DJ or chill in the sports bar. The C-level roof top experience is tranquility by day and party by night overlooking the beach and action below. They have stayed true to their art deco roots with modern accommodations. There's something for everyone here. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay at the Essex house to be close but not on top of the action. Stay at the Clevelander to be rig...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_prof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Service was great! Liked the weekday happy hour at 4:30 pm, though, I wished they did this on Sat and Sun as well. Juan at the front desk was extremely helpful.

Collins is a complete disaster with all of the construction, but none of that seemed to cause any immediate issues for the hotel - no additional noise, wait times, etc.

I would HIGHLY recommend upgrading to a King Suite. We had no issues with noise from the Clevelander, Collins, other guests (until the last night - but hey, it's SoBe right!). Suite was bigger than any other that you will find for this cost in this location.

The pool at the Essex is tiny, but it is oddly quaint and relaxing. Don't bother with the Clevelander - the Clevelander staff is completely incompetent even for Miami Beach standards. Rude, lazy, etc.

Good central location, but not quite up to the standards of the hotels north of 17th. Good stretch of the Beach within 1 minute walk.

If you can get it for the right price, then forgo more expensive options; you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a King Suite!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated one block in from Ocean Drive which is the loud section at night. It is within walking distance to the beach, lots of restaurants and Lincoln road. Charming hotel for a good price

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is dated but the rooms are clean and the hospitality is excellent. I found the whole stay very pleasant and the location (1 block) from Ocean drive is good.
Also the complimentary breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

rooms are a little smallish, only 2 of us though & really how much time is spent in your room!!! staff is INCREDIBLY friendly & helpful. no prob with noise ..... and when your standing @ the front desk turn around and get yourself some of the FRESH lemonade!!!! DELICIOUS!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#37 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#114 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £103 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach
Essex House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing