We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty dirty dirty”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #56 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2006

What a shame. The building has a beautiful exterior and the porch is absolutely lovely.
The problems begin when you walk in the door.
I was greeted by a surly front desk person. When I got to my "suite" (actually a large room), I found that the furniture and carpets were filthy - just as others have written.
The bathroom was also dirty and there were stains in the jacuzzi - why would anyone actually want to sit in a stained jacuzzi??

The place really is noisy. It seems the suites are booked up by large groups of rowdy kids who party all night. Why would they pay for seperate rooms when they can fit 4-6 in one suite? Calls to the front desk asking for help in quieting late night noise down from the next room and the room above me went unheeded.

So - if you are a spring-break type who wants to party and make noise and don't care about filthy rooms - the place is great. Too bad the management settles for this rather than make this potentially beautiful hotel a truly comfortable place.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DollyLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2006

What can I say.......this Hotel was disgusting. Here it is:

1 Filthy rooms (incl carpet, bathrooms etc etc)
2 Noisy rooms (it seemed every loudmouth in Miami stays here. The paper thim wall exentuate the noise)
3 Lack of customer service skills

Do yourself a favour, do NOT stay here. That is, if you appreciate a clean room and a reasonable sleep at night.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2006

We were upgraded to a suite but when we got into the "suite" it was disguisting, I booked this hotel on orbitz as part of a package deal and the pictures and description looked promising. When we got into the hotel I didn't even want to sit down, there were stains on the floor, the bed wasn't made right, there was mold and dust everywhere, and the furniture had huge stains on them. This place was a complete dive, we had to go to the front desk to have them give us a new room and that one was better, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2006

The pictures on the hotel's website are very misleading. We saw three different rooms before settling on a $45.00 suite upgrade. All the carpets were stained, as were the bed linens. Worst problem is the walls are paper thin. We were told by indifferent management staff that this is how it is here on the weekends in March and April. We are in our 40's and did not expect a spring break type hotel for a price of over $250 a night.
Drunk cliental coming and going, and fighting....all hours of the night and early morning.
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2006

I called this hotel directly and made a reservation, used my credit card and was given a confirmation number.

Upon arrival at the Essex House, they could not find my reservation. Said I had none, and proceeded to tell me I could get a room for $100 more per night then I had confirmed with my direct phone reservation!!!

Interior is unkept, lobby is a mess. Front desk was a mess and the people under qualified. People hanging outside were scary.

We were outraged, after that we walked out, down the street to Ocean Drive, and got a reservation at a chic botique hotel called The Strand and never looked back.

2  Thank Tea0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 April 2006

Our sincere apologies if there was confusion with your reservation. Upon arrival did you provide the front desk associate with your confirmation number given upon booking the room? It is extremely rare to not locate a reservation for a guest whena confirmation number is provided.

On behalf of the Essex House, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2006

I was expected the worse, so nothing really surprised me. The hotel looked nice from the lobby, but the hallways looked horrible. My room was ok. The carpets definitely were dirty, and- like others- there were no bath towels in my bathroom. Overall, it was OK. I wouldn't stay there again, but I didn't want to run screaming out the door when I got there. That said, when my boyfriend had a business trip in coconut grove, I gave up my prime location (it's biggest selling point) on SoBe for his nicer hotel where it didn't feel so "dirty".

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlingtonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2006

Stayed for New Year 2006, one week.

Location: perfect
Breakfast: for the money you pay, 220 CAD, I would say it should be way better. However, Miami Beach is expensive. Nice terrace to enjoy the breakfast.
Personnel: nice

Bad parts: the room was incredible dirty. The bathroom was not clean. The carpet was disgusting. The idea of the room was nice, but with that carpet and the dirt??? The refrigerator was inside the room. Very noisy thing. Could not sleep well. There is plenty of space in the wardrobe, before getting into the room but still they putted there.

I would not stay again. I regret I did not book Colony instead.

By buss, .25 cents…at the end of the line (opposite direction to downtown) there is a supermarket. Excellent. Takes 10 minutes to get there.

Stayed: January 2006
Thank AlohaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#57 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream South Beach
Dream South Beach
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £142 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach
Essex House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing