We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel Near South Beach”
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Freehand Miami
Oxford
Level Contributor
136 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Hostel Near South Beach”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed in this hostel for one night, having previously visited it with a friend a few nights before with a friend.

The single sex dorms are well kept, with a vibrant atmosphere evident throughout.

A bar out the back is pleasant, albeit a little on the expensive side.

A fruit and cake light breakfast is available and pleasant.

Overall, I would recommend a well-priced stay at Freehand.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callcrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
We’re very happy you visited us again, and we hope you keep coming back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    329
    127
    42
    37
See reviews for
62
142
349
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you are looking for a low cost quality hostel/hotel in Miami, you have found it. Very relaxed, cool and friendly atmosphere. I was planning to stay for 2 days but ended up staying for a whole week. The room was clean, moderately spacious with new towels every day. After a good night sleep in a comfortable bed the hotel serves complimentary breakfast of fruits,yogurt and croissants with orange juice and coffee.
Location is great, about 15-20 minutes from Ocean Drive and 3-5 minutes to the beach. You can also use the bikes and free mini cars to get around the beach in a fast and affordable way.The Shaker (bar) has a cool lounge, nice crowd, great easy listening music selections, cheap drinks, innovative cocktails and friendly bartenders. You can also take a dip in the pool if you like.
Last but not least is the staff. The Freehand front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Quality service that any luxury hotel would be proud of.

Bottom line: This place has all you need to have a good and affordable stay in a beautiful city. Highest recommendations to the Freehand and its staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I spent one night here recently, loved it and will definitely be back. The Freehand is in a great Iocation - close to the beach and only a 15 or 20 minute walk to the heart of South Beach! I stayed in a private quad room. It is very clean and the beds are amazingly comfortable! A little noisy during the wee hours of the morning, but that should be expected. The lobby area was comfortable with a Bohemian flair - I wasn't quite sure if I was in the US or perhaps in Zanzibar! The complimentary breakfast was adequate - coffee, juice and mini muffins and other pastries.The pool and garden area has a very cool vibe with twinkling lights, lanterns and plenty of comfortable seating. If boredom sets in, try ping pong or boule and there are also bikes to rent The Broken Shaker bar -- wow!!!! ---- although tiny in size, it is probably the coolest, most unique bar that I have ever been in - anywhere!!! Offerings include pretty wild takes on classic cocktails, daily punches (wonderful!) - mixology at its finest!! and a good beer list as well! The music was great and the staff was friendly and attentive, which brings me to my only complaint...the front desk staff needs some work...the majority of them are not very friendly - almost flippant with a touch of arrogance - lacking in good old fashioned customer service. Hopefully those issues will be resolved as the Freehand just opened, but the poor attitudes and service from a few staff members would not stop me from returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We’re so glad you chose to stay with the Freehand, and it seems like you took advantage of your stay! We hope you come and visit for some more great cocktails and ping pong in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We (myself and 2 friends), booked Freehand after much research into hostels in Miami. As our adventures were over the Xmas break, we wanted the location to be pretty special and also to make sure we were completely satisfied with our choice. Freehand Miami lived up to exactly what we had envisaged for our trip, and some.

A beautiful and respectful refurb of what we believe to be the old Indian Creek Hotel. You walk into an atmosphere of a true totally relaxed holiday spirit..the entrance hall/reception/sitting area is the hub of the hostel, beautifully and tastefully decorated to compliment the original features of this 1930's building.

Our room was a Private Quad, and the beds were AMAZING....brand new mattresses and pillows that give you the sort of night's sleep you can only wish for on a holiday. The rooms have character you can feel and the bathrooms still also have some original features to boot. Lockers to keep your bits safe if you need to. Fluffy white towels and views either to the road, or the pool/courtyard if you're lucky.

The pool and outside area is dreamy, with fairy lights and lanterns hanging gracefully from every tree. Ping pong tables and boule to keep you entertained. Outdoor showers, very cool cruiser bikes to rent. and not forgetting the one and only Broken Shaker cocktail bar. This was the real winning element for us. A vintage inspired cocktail bar, perfectly in keeping with the theme of the rest of the Freehand persona. Too cool for school bar staff who were very lovely and we befriended the wonderful Ricky from Ecuador who we wished we'd met a few days earlier to show us the sights of Miami. The cocktails were insanely good, inventive and inspired, with the cocktail menu changing within our stay there. They had ice-cubes in shapes I had never seen, used fresh herbs from the garden and created drinks that subliminally encouraged you to want to try all of them.

The breakfast was a homemade dream of all kinds of flavours of mini-muffins, croissants, fruit salad, yoghurt topped with granola, orange juice, coffee etc. Just what the doctor ordered and a real treat to eat outside in the morning sunshine next to the still waters of the pool.

This place is a haven...and although there isn't too much in close quarters to the location in terms of shops/bars/restaurants, these are only a walk away. The white sands are a 2 minute walk....and we highly recommend The Tropical Beach cafe on Collins, which although doesn't look like anything particularly special, we can assure you the food is delicious and the portions are close to what one might see on Man vs Food for a small fraction of the price you will pay anywhere else in Miami.

My only real gripe was that the customer service on reception could've been more enthusiastic. The welcome was slightly disappointing from a place that is so special, it was just too laid back and not entirely personal for us, I would encourage management to work on this to perfect the experience. Aside from this....nothing more than a wonderful stay for us, we would definitely recommend and love to return one day. I know this place is very new, having only been open for 1 month, and I think they have done a top knotch job with it...look out for the new onsite restaurant opening in the next few months, which I can only imagine will be out-of-this-world.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, although this could be a little noisy if you want to get to bed early due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our bar staff, breakfast offerings and beds. We’re sorry to hear your welcoming was not enthusiastic, our front desk is working hard and will always be eager to assist you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is truly a heaven of people of hipsters!
The newly renovated building has a cool atmosphere, great rooms, very clean and with great amenities. The hostel can be compared to 4 star hotels and would beat most of them. It has a great atmosphere especially in the evenings, you should chill out at the bar in the garden.
Some issues to be considered:
During our two day stay the elevator was out of order. I guess this has been for a while and hope they will fix it. people with disabilities should double check.
The hotel has no parking lot. It is pay park zones and mostly full all around the place. However, you can get a parking voucher with a discount from the front desk.
People at the front desk didn't seem that they are doing their best through our visit.
In the end, It is a very good hostel and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We apologize for our elevator out of service, we are a historic art deco building and unfortunately our elevator is historic as well. We are working on installing a new system in the future as well as additional parking for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Truly an amazing hostel. I've stayed in Hostels all over the world, and this one really takes the cake. Not only does it have a pool (and a CLEan one), it is housed in a renovated 1930's Art-Deco Hotel that is absolutely charming. The free breakfast is actually delicious and filling (unlike the sad piece of toast and jam offered to me at my previous hostel), the rooms are clean, aesthetically pleasing (somewhat nautically themed), the bar serves some of the best drinks I've ever had, and even the lobby music was totally to my taste.
The staff was totally helpful, they even let me use the office computer to book a flight (since my phone had been stolen). Oh -- and the most unbelievable part-- rooms started at $21 a night!

The only draw back was that there booking system seems to be a bit rough still-- having just opened. They accidentally put me in the luggage room at first, but compensated me with free drinks for the mistake, so, guess it turned out for the best. The location perhaps isn't the most interesting part of South Beach, but its easy enough to get around, and you might end up hanging out here at night any ways.
The crowd seems to veer a bit to the hipster, NYC and European. Not quite the clubby hook-up scene you might get at other hostels but to me that's a good thing.
I'm not sure how this place came into existance. But I'm glad it did. Having worked at a Hostel, I'm all the more amazed by how many things they've got right. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: 1rst floor rooms by the pool may be nosier at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielJFiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Daniel we wish you could live here too! Glad you enjoyed your time with us and for recognizing all our best qualities and acknowledging our new booking system is undergoing refinement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Went there with friends to hava a drink or two at the bar (Broken Shaker)...beautiful atmosphere outside, the poeple where very cool, kinda hipster, loved it! Nice drinks and good pricing! oh and the music was perfect...chilled...very nice place in Miami.....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed drinks at our on property bar, we change the menu every week so make sure to check back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#87 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#57 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,028 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Property: Freehand Miami
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach
Freehand Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing