We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fun hotel. I am glad I took a chance on it.”
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freehand Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am happy I decided to branch out from my usual with this hotel. It is so expensive to stay in Miami in the Winter so I gave this "hostel" a try. I am glad I did. I booked a private room. I was there on business. It was stylish, clean and the staff was wonderful. My one caution is that it is a bit loud at night. Bring earplugs if you are not there to party.
The outdoor area is fantastic. It is has a bohemian vibe. It is like a bit of San Francisco in South Beach. I also love that there is no "resort fee" or WiFi fee that effectively raises ypur room rate. You can rent a towel for $5.
The location is great. A fairly short walk to Lincoln Drive. The beach is a block away. The rental bikes make all of South Beach easily accessible. Street parking was easy to find and there is a lot a block away. The crowd skews young (I am 44!) but everyone is friendly.
A few small complaints...
The pool is only open until 6pm
There is no coffee available before 8am
The breakfast is just okay.
Have fun!

Room Tip: Room 209 is in the center of the hall and ALL of the hallway and lounge noise makes it's way int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steferx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had one day before going to Miami and still hadn't found lodging after countless attempts to book via airbnb. Then Trip Advisor asked if I was still in search and sent me some suggestions, including the Freehand. The reviews were great, and I can now say totally on point. All my friends who live in Miami (and didn't have room for me) suggested we go to the Freehand to have drinks, not knowing I was already staying there. It's a trendy spot for those looking for a low key hang by a pool surrounded by charming touches like street art on the fence and fairy lights in the grove of trees. I stayed in an 8 person shared room. No complaints except one of the two bathrooms there was clogged and it took them a day to fix it.

Room Tip: Check out the bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for the feedback - we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is great value for the price, very friendly staff. If you are traveling solo or with a group of friends that is the place to stay at, very close to the beach, have a good breakfast and most importantly a bar and a swimming pool.. Lots of party.. Meeting new people, making friends from all over the world...

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank AwesomeSmSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A really amazing hostel ! It was very clean. And if you have any question or problem they will come in 10 minutes. For example, we asked for blankets because we were cold (yes I know, cold in Miami ^^) and the handyman was here 10 min later with 2 big blankets ! The staff is really helping if you have any question. Perfect place I will come back there if I come again to Miami.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexia-cloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the Freehand Miami for 2 nights and had a great time. Check in was efficient. We had a 4 bed room for the three of us, nice furniture like no other hostel has. We really appreciated the nice garden with the swimming. The guest kitchen is fine as well. Only drawback was the fact that we had a third floor room and the elevator was out of order. No problem without luggage but climbing the stairs with the luggage was a bit tough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It's worth crashing at Freehand for a night, at least. You will experience Freehand's trendy charm and the youthful adventure of a hostel, at half the price of a mediocre airport hotel even if you also book a rental car.

The accommodations are comfortable and clean while the helpful staff will show you around the facility if you ask. The building's charm (with the ambiance of a well-traveled hipster with accompanying music during breakfast) compliment a key perk: it's location. A straight shot from MIA, it's easy to find. There's a public parking area is a block away ($1/hr and free overnight). Staying here means that you're close to the action but far enough from SoBe to actually find a place to park.

Although staying in a hostel isn't for everyone, at breakfast time one can find a wide range of travelers, mostly young but a few in their 30s and 40s. Staying here was a good decision.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hostel with good standard. Nice garden, and swimming pool. 15-20 minutes walk from South Beach downtown, 3 minutes walk from beach. Very fast wi-fi, good working A/C. Small breakfast, just fruit and cookies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pibi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Collins Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
991 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,386 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,840 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 89 in Miami Beach
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: £42 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach
Freehand Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing