We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For experienced travelers and first timers to Miami Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freehand Miami
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For experienced travelers and first timers to Miami Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

You’re already in Miami Beach and things get better!

Tiki bar, ping pong tables next to the pool, wishing well and the Broken Shaker Bar’s "Knight in Shining Armor" awaits you at the retro-feel-with-hip-vibe back patio and lounge. Clean bunk in quad with plugs to charge the utmost hi-tech companions; clean bathroom (though piping could use a bit of work) and plenty of towels (ask for more at the reception desk if your earlier-arrival roomies “borrowed” yours from your designated locker) and drinking water available; breakfast is OK to fuel the bike rides and kitesurfing!

Efficient, effective and friendly staff ready to assist the most weary of travelers without gushing about the ArtDeco ambience of the main lounge: table games, lending library, activities boards and plenty of seating areas to accommodate awaiting friends, family or in-line skaters going by.

You’re in Miami Beach!! All amenities are close or within public transportation – or citi bike – reach.

For the price, the location, the company and accommodations: 5-stars! Piping, roomies that take up most available space (everywhere!) and lack of non-fried pastries and cereals at breakfast: 1 "improvement" star reserved.

Experience to believe. :)

Room Tip: I saw the private rooms and it seems to me that the quads on the 2nd and 3rd floor are quieter. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Civy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    325
    125
    41
    37
See reviews for
61
137
345
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Not the type of hotel I am used to, however for the price you get good value. Yes, it's a hostel however you can get a private room for a little more money. I stayed in a private room. It was very clean and hip. The bathroom was not shared, but extremely small.
Staff was nice. About a 10-15 minute walk to the confusion of south beach.
Only real complaint was the noise at night. You can hear everything in the room next door/hallway and street. AND people are NOT quiet in hostels! Woke up several times during the night; from screaming in the hallway, to people in the next room shattering, to cars revving under my window. This was a bit of a downer because I spent extra for the peace and quiet of a single room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I came here with a bachelorette party. We stayed in an 8-person bunk room, which had 2 full attached bathrooms. The bunks were actually pretty comfortable and I slept very well here. Each bed had its own light and power plugs, too.

The property was well-located, close to the beach, and very close to a grocery store. The front desk staff was very helpful. And the pool/patio/bar area outside was beautiful - peaceful and casual during the day, but more of a bar at night. There was a mix of travelers here, many from outside the US, and it was an upbeat crowd without being a college scene. I would definitely consider staying here again on my next trip to Miami, especially since they have private rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the review - we're glad you all had a good time at the Freehand! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Let me start out by saying that I'm not a hostel guy. Many people are, but I have an aversion to sharing stuff with strangers (and sometimes with people that I know). But this place was very nice. The rooms were small for the number of people that had to fit in, but it was a pretty good experience. The bar/lounge area was the busiest location on Collins. Many people came there even if they weren't staying there. There were some very attractive women there.

The young guys will love it. And everyone was very cool. Not "go out of your way friendly" (the staff there was), but people were pleasant.

I wanted a cheap place to sleep and this more than fit the bill. Walking distance to South Beach & the craziness down there & the facilities were great and clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahntra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review us - we're glad we exceeded your hostel expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

It is a very good hostel, the people who attend the front desk always have a good mod, the atmosphere is really god, the breakfast is not a full one (coffe, juice, and muffins)but is free and is quite enough. The locations is a really advantage because you are only 10 blocks of distance from the main place so is nice to make a walk night.only a few thing, it would be great if the hostel have a parking, is really something tedius find parking in this place and also expensive. I recomend it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezequiel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Freehand has a good location, it´s really no need to stay in a pricy hotel in South Beach.

Parking can be a hassle as they don´t offer valet parking or own any lots, and public parking in the area is limited to 3 hours from 8pm to 6am. Ask the service-minded receptionists if they have a parking card in that you can borrow, those cards apparently make it easier.

The private king suites is great. We got a living room with a big couch, a bath, and a large bedroom with a very comfortable bed. Big flatscreen TV´s in both rooms. All the furniture was new and the apartment was perfectly cleaned every day.

Freehands backyard bar/café has a great relaxing lounge vibe and is filled with people in the nights.

Room Tip: The private king suites is great. We got a living room with a big couch, a bath, and a large bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qhauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The freehand does not really seem like a hostel, the rooms are beter then some rooms you will find in hotels, prices are quite high for a hostel, and in which hostel have you ever seen poolside table service are you asked and are you asked not to wear flip flops in the evening but something more dressy?!? Okay they have some shared rooms, but thats just as much hostel as it gets. Furthermore dont expect a youth hostel, most people are young but there are all sort of ages, even families with kids.

Rooms: the private room we had with ensuite bathroom was really nice. A verry comfortable queens size bed. A desk and above it a flat screen tv. There was a seperate walk in closet, and a seperate small bathroom with hot shower. All was clean. I guess the pipes are really old or something,  because everytime we flushed the toilet it made a horrible sound, so best no flushing at night becaus you will wake your partner. Not mich room for toiletries in the bathroom, but the room itself is spacious. There is ac, an ironing bord, iron, safe and blowdryer for your hair. No fridge. Our room was on the street side which was quite. You can also open up the window to let some fresh air in. Little minus was that there are no sheer curtains, so you either close the normal curtains and it is dark or you leave them open but then people can look inside. And the bedside lights were not working which didn't help either.


Facilities: great lobby and outside area. Big pool with loungers. Pingpong tables and a poolside bar. The music which is playing outside is quite loud, so could barley understand my fellow travellers talking and can imagine that when staying in rooms near the pool the music which plays till.tje laye ours can interfere with your night rest. 
Breakfast included coffee, thee, juice, fresh pasteries (which were quite good) and 3 types of fruits. Good enough.
They make a great effort to organize fun activities such as bbq, pool party, etc. These are also attended by people who are not staying at the hostel.
There is no parking provided which is a big issue!! You can park on the street but expect to drive around for an hour before you find a spot. Then you will need to pay the meter, which has a maximum of 3 hours, so you will need to stick around to put money in the meter. Meters did not except our foreign visa card, so we had to stick to the streets which have cash meters. Parking is free at night. There is NO long term parking lott in the neighbourhood, so big problem if you do not want to stick around all day. Parking is difficult throughout miami, so at check in we were told the best option was to rent bicycles for 15 dollar. But when we wanted to rent those the next day, no bicyles were available as they were all out of service...

Neighbourhood: real close to a fantastic beach. Not verry close to south beach, wouldnt walk the distance, but taxis are cheap and just take 5 min to get there.

Hope the above info helps for those trying to decide. Taken price/quality into consideration, and location as to stay somewear near miami beach, I would recommend this place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback! We value your opinion and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#60 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#57 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Property: Freehand Miami
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach
Freehand Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing