We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kent hotel very good value a block from Ocean Drive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kent Hotel
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Kent hotel very good value a block from Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for many years. Learned a long time ago that it's best to be 1 block from Ocean Drive, or sometimes you don't get any sleep when you want to. You see hotels on Ocean Drive have loud music sometimes very late. The Kent is quiet and close enough to the action. Rooms are small, but so are most in the Deco hotels. This trip came as a walk in late at night for two rooms. They were able to put two together, but it took them a while. Place had run down a bit from my last stay. Believe it or not, there were some ladies of the night parked in the hallway outside our room. Not sure what was going on, but they seemed friendly enough and did not keep us up. Will probably go back but management needs to keep a closer eye on their clientele. Next morning everything was fine. Typical crowd of tourists and families. Great value for the money and friendly staff.

Room Tip: When making a revervation I've asked for the top corner room on the street. What they call a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunlovingJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    248
    221
    101
    87
See reviews for
111
291
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We come to Miami every year for the Basel art fair and try different hotels. Disappointed by the Kent - won't be staying here again. Surly staff, no help with bags, housekeeping inconsistent and noisy courtyard bar that plays loud music till 2 am. If your a light sleeper get a room on the third floor and not facing the courtyard - I.e., facing the parking lot. No carpeting in rooms, cheap vinyl flooring - so you can hear the guests upstairs clomping around at all hours. Basic amenities - TV, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, mini fridge. Built in furniture but no drawers - you'll be fishing your stuff out of your suitcase during your stay. Valet parking is $20 a day. If you're hard pressed maybe a night or two, otherwise keep looking..

Room Tip: Get room on third floor facing north/parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R2ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest, let me apologize for the noise you encountered at the property, there are many events that take place during Art Basel both at the property and the surrounding area which can contribute more noise than would be acceptable for some guests. Our property is a small boutique hotel, so we do not have the manpower some other large properties can provide, we do not have a bellman on site to help clients with bags, but all of our staff, housekeeping, engineering, management and even the restaurant staff try to lend a helping hand to our clients with their belongings whenever we can, we clearly dropped the ball when it came to you, for that we are very sorry. We do not have carpeting in our rooms as you mentioned, but I doubt that would help much with limiting noise from loud guests walking around as the building itself was constructed in the 1930's and advances in construction from then to now have made huge leaps. If you would like to speak to me in detail about your stay I urge you to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I had such high hopes staying here when I checked in and got upgraded to their "suite." The Orchid I think it was called constantly smelled like weed and the tub did not work. Honestly, I did not complain since technically we had gotten what seemed like a free upgrade. Staff was not the best at all. Completely unprofessional. Overall this was a 3 star stay I would have rated. HOWEVER, three days ago I received a ticket in the mail saying I had an overdue citation and an additional penalty was added on top of the ticket that I had no idea I had gotten. I had my car valet by them all weekend so I did not understand why I had gotten a ticket. Not only did they illegally park my car, they also threw away the ticket they had gotten so I would not have known. The ticket turned out to be at at 1100 Collins ave.... Will you look at that, right next to their address.... I'm thankful I was able to talk to the court office and have my late fee removed. I still had to pay the original ticket price. which on top of their valet fee, turned out to be more than double if I would have payed to stay at a garage. Just spend the extra 30$ and stay at a better place. If you decided you can't pass up staying here, DO NOT VALET YOUR CAR WITH THEM. You've been warned.

Room Tip: Just pay the 10-30$ extra and stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Daniel, I'm very sorry about the ticket which you received - I'm surprised you did not contact the hotel before you decided to leave this negative review, had you done so, we would have asked you to send us a copy of the ticket and late fee and we would have taken care of it for you. The Valet service here at the hotel is provided by an outside company, it is not the hotel directly that parks your car, nor did we throw out the ticket hoping that you would not notice, that would be flawed logic since it is recorded on your tag and you will find out eventually (which you did) - not to mention the cost to the hotel would be less since we would take care of the ticket before late fees are charged. So you know, this is not the first time that a car has been parked at our Valet ramp and the City (for whatever reason) decides to give it a ticket, even though the ramp on the building is a loading zone designed for that specific purpose. Even though you have already posted an extremely negative remark without even giving us the opportunity to correct the issue when it happened, I urge you to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 or at sales@thekenthotel.com in order for us to reimburse you the cost of your ticket, your car was under the supervision of the Valet company and you should not be forced to pay out of pocket costs for an offence that you did not commit, it is not fair to you and we understand that, we will pass on this cost to the Valet company should you heed my advice and contact me. As a tip for the future, whether you are upgraded or not, if you have an issue at a hotel with your room (or a parking ticket for that matter) you should voice those concerns to staff/management, most likely we would have had your tub fixed right away had there been an issue with it, and as mentioned we would have taken care of your ticket as well, an option which still remains on the table for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I found this hotel through Groupon, the hotel is located in a great area, just behind Versace's mansion (where he got killed)...
I was kind of dissapointed on a few stuff, first we were told there were 2 rooms under my name, some how groupon messed up the reservations, the good thing was that we weren't double charged, it got fixed up, but the guy made it sound like a big deal... when we first go there was 10am the check in was at 4pm, so the staff told us we could get a room earlier but l had to call him to check on the status of the room, we left the bags and we came back at 12 and there was no room, they only had 1 staff working and a few people waiting on different things, what annoyed me was that he gave rooms to other people but not to us, cuz he couldn't check if there was any clean room available since we has busy... we came back at 3pm to check if there was any clean room, we lined up to be helped and the guy (a new one) was helping 3 people at the same time, was kind of annoying waiting for like 20 min just to get an answer... we finally got helped, and went upstairs to the room, the elevator is probabaly from the 50's very scary... the room was clean, in general the building is very old like most of miami's hotels..
at night it's very loud, its located next to a parking lot so you will get lots of people screaming, the room has some kind of renovations done, the furniture it's okay, it has hardwood floors which makes it loud when people on the floor upstairs walk... the bathroom is kind of cool, however the shower leaks from the ceiling which l found very funny they didn't install it propertly, the bathroom door didn't close l think they painted it too much and it gets stuck on the door frame, same with the entrance door, it has a safe, hair dryer, flat tv aprox 32".. then when we went to check out they mixed up our room with someone elses and we got a bill of 300 dlls!! crazy l almost freaked out and then they got it fixed...
also they have a restaurant outside and they offer 25% off to guest, however the hostess doesn't speak a word of english, oh wait.. all she says is: "specials" and pointing at the pictures, but you actually ask something to her and she has no clue what to say but to point at the specials pictures ahahah l found this very funny, we had to go somewhere's else...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asnaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry for the wait you encountered at the Front Desk - it is true we only have one employee at the reception desk at all times, sometimes things get extremely busy and they are forced to multi-task while helping numerous people, when management is around and we see guests waiting at the desk we help man the reception area so guests do not wait too long, it seems this was an option during your check-in. Typically at night the hotel is not too loud to be honest, our windows do a good job of limiting the noise that enters the property, since so much of our area is known for nightlife I am sure there are many instances when the rowdiness from outside the building negatively affects our clients, which it did so in your case. It was good to read that at least the issues with the double booking and the incorrect bill that was given to you was swiftly corrected, unfortunately that is not enough to make up for your other complaints. If you would like to go into detail with me regarding your stay I would urge you to contact, we always want to hear from our clients whether it is good or bad as we strive to correct the mistakes we make so that we can provide a better experience in the future. Please reach me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 or email me at sales@thekenthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The people in the front desk and almost all employees don't seem to be at your services.
The day that I arrived, nobody help me or my wife to carry the luggage, it was the same the day I check-out.

The standard room is very small, the door of the bathroom crash against the toilet, and is very small too.

For been in such touristic area, the customer service sucks.

The bathroom and room were very clean at least.

Try to improve you personal for customer service.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, try to rent the bigger rooms, the standars are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Oscar, I'm very sorry that we could not help you or your wife with your bags - I hope this was the only issue you had with staff as it was the only thing mentioned - it is a concern though as we typically get rave reviews about our employees, you can read the reviews and determine that yourself. We do not have a bellman to provide luggage service, so our staff tends to try to help anyone they can when they are not busy and see guests struggling with a large amount of luggage. The bathrooms in the property are not very big, but it is standard size for a hotel to be honest. Our rooms are slightly large than what you would expect from most hotels in the area. I truly wish we could do something to make it up to you, so if you would like to contact me please do so as I like to hear from all our clients whether its good or bad. You can contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 or email me at sales@thekenthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The room was clean but dated. We went for the advertised breakfast at $ 5.99. After we received our drinks we were told that the $ 5.99 breakfast was a mistake & it should be € 10.99, we objected to this & then price was reduced to $ 5.99. Needless to say our service we received diminished as a result. Please be up front with people & stop trying to dupe them.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tarajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest, I'm surprised to read this as I do not know of a special at the restaurant for $5.99, I do know they offer our clients a full breakfast for $9.95, so this might have been an honest mistake on their part, they did the right thing by given you the incorrectly posted price on their specials board, but the service should not have diminished, if anything you should be thanked for pointing out the mistake so it does not occur with other guests, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of the restaurant, they are not directly managed or owned by the hotel but they always treat our guests with the utmost respect, so I will show the restaurant owners this review so that they are aware if they haven't been informed already. Once again, I apologize for the confusion, I hope your stay was not ruined because of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and some friends stayed at the Kent back in 2011 and loved it - the staff were great, the adjacent bar was pumping and the location is hard to beat for the price!
So when we planned another trip to Miami we went straight to the Kent's site to book here again, and brought several of our other friends to stay there too.
However I felt a little disappointed after this stay, compared to the first. The construction going on outside is a pain however I know this isn't the hotels fault so can overlook that. However the construction happening inside the hotel was loud and started too early for a holiday destination where a lot of people stay out late and would like to sleep in past 8.30am! The rooms were being renovated last trip so how they are not all completed in 2 years I don't know! Our room (level 2) was older with a very mouldy bathroom yet our friends had a lovely renovated room on level 3.
We know the Kent isnt 5 star and generally were ok with the rooms but it was the staffs lack of friendliness that killed the hotel for us this time! A few old timers were still there and they were great but the new staff were rude and unhelpful, got angry when we had to keep getting new keys cos they stopped working (trust me, we didnt want to have to keep going up to our room only to find we couldnt open the door either), and gave us completely wrong information about tours and local attractions.
The restaurant & bar that we loved before has now changed hands and wasnt open a single morning we were there even though they have a breakfast menu and are supposed to open at 8am.
And we werent really given any appreciation or thanks for being repeat customers.
So even though the location, value and rooms are still pretty good, I'd think twice before staying here or recommending the Kent if Im ever in Miami again.

Room Tip: Level 3 rooms are newly renovated, level 2 ones aren't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Shanatic, I felt horrible reading your review, specifically because you trusted us to provide you with a similar experience from your last go-round and it seems that we literally dropped the ball with you and your friends, and you are coming all the way from Australia!!. It is a horrible coincidence that both times you stayed with us there was some type of renovation going on, we do not renovate all year round, we typically wait for our low season (June through November) to do any big projects, this year we renovated all of the bathrooms in the second floor and we will most likely follow suit next year on the first floor. I'm very interested in speaking to you in person, as I would like to gather some details on your stay, as there are several things that concern me which you mentioned. We do not allow contractors to start work prior to 9 A.M., so that should have never happened - also any employee that seemed "angry" with a guest over any issue needs to be spoken with, so I would urge to contact me as I would like your help in figuring out whom that was. Please contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 or via email at sales@thekenthotel.com - we would like to keep you coming back as a repeat guest, and I think special considerations should be given to you because you are a repeat customer - please contact me if you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Ocean Reef Suites
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
The Colony Hotel
#171 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#90 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Property: The Kent Hotel
Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach
The Kent Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing