We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mix feelings ,love it or hated it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #67 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“mix feelings ,love it or hated it”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

first when we arrive ,nobody help us t carry our luggage , then everything was fine ,they give us a really good welcome martini ,strawberries with a wine ,because our 9th anniversary ,the good points; Raj was very nice guy help us in every way ,same Francisco they are awesome , the people in here is nice ,but something i don't like, i have to ask if they can sen to me a orchid ,my room doesn't have a zebra rug ,the restaurant is horrible ,the food is really bad ,the only good thing is the tides Martini Royale , and the towels not fluffy ,the ropes was outdated ,same the slippers ,most of the hotels they give to you new ones ,this ones look like somebody use already thats nasty ,maybe i am so picky ,but hotels with this category 4.5 stars ,everything should first class ,however the Window was nice ,probably i will come back again to Betsy ,the service is not good at all like tides ,but the amenities are first quality ,the welcome the help, the bellman ,was mix experience for me at the tides.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodriguezEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    297
    98
    41
    39
See reviews for
181
610
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We knew we wanted sun and fun for our anniversary trip. We also wanted to stay where there was nightlife and great restaurants. The Tides was perfect for us. Breakfast every morning on the terrace with a great view of the beach was heaven. The staff was exceptional and they knew our name by the first day. Every day we were personally greeted by the staff. They asked us how was dinner and made suggestions for placing to go for shopping. At night we wanted to go to some night clubs, but we couldn't leave the Tides outside terrace were we enjoyed cocktails and a cigar listening the neighboring spanish guitar every night. We couldn't have experienced any of these things if we had stayed at one of the large hotel chains. I want to make a special shout out to Raj, Francisco, Janine, and Gabriella for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chirogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Set in a frenetic scene, the Tides is a more upscale and laid back alternative on Ocean Drive. True the restaurant and bar scene are not happening, but it seems like you would have to compromise on the chill effect if these were more bustling. The room and staff are great, there are a couple of over achievers here that will make your stay perfect, as in any organization, there are some that are treading water. The room was big, clean and has a great shower. The pool is behind the hotel on the mezzanine level and feels kind of isolated and really not happening. If you are looking for a pool scene on the beach, this may not be the place for you, if you want privacy and solitude, this may be the place for you. The bar here is really bad, the bartender while we were there is really not a people person, was at the bar by myself and was able to engage her in a pleasant conversation, came back with the wife and got a lot of one word answers, I can talk to my teenagers if I want that interchange.
If you are looking for chill in an active area, this is a great alternative. (BTW on noise level, it is loud but it usually calms down around 11 or 12 and we had no problems getting off to sleep)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestenderNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Tides is ideally located and a little further north than the rest of Southbeach. It is located across a park and the beach. This hotel has been around a long time and they have preserved and maintained the original fittings. I understand that many famous people have stayed here in the past.
Everything in The Tides is very tastefully done: the exterior areas, the foyer, the pool at the rear and the rooms.
The staff were friendly and very helpful generally. Southbeach is pretty noisy but our room which was on the third floor helped isolate us from the noise.

Room Tip: Southbeach is noisy and if you don't like loud music, get a higher level room or stay somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

First, the good stuff. We stayed at the Tides back in January for the Notre Dame-Alabama football game weekend. We had been once before as a family, in 2005 or 2006 (the exact date escapes me), and it has been totally redone since then. The interiors had been completely redone, and the whole place looks fantastic. They've got a secluded pool that's really nice; the rooms are huge, and have stunning views of the beach - really ideal location. I should note that with all of the surrounding restaurants and bars, it can get pretty lively, so keep that in mind if you're not a night owl (in which case, why are you in Miami?!)

Now the bad stuff: specifically that the food wasn't great and the service was really, really bad. It was like they blew their entire operating budget on the (gorgeous) renovations, with nothing leftover for staff or food. Breakfast could take upwards of 90 minutes, even when no one else was dining indoors or out. Even with the long wait, there would be something wrong with the order. Housekeeping seemed a bit remiss too - we had to call every day we were there to get someone to come and make the bed or do a cursory cleaning of the room. There was one waitress that was good, and we literally would only stop for food or for a drink if we knew she was going to be around.

Food was also not great. By the pool I ordered a cobb salad, and when it came it came without the shrimp, eggs, dressing, or avocado. That is 4/6 of the ingredients. LOL.

So basically, unless they can take their staff through bootcamp, I'd recommend looking elsewhere. But if service gets better -- the rooms, location, and design are simply stunning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

While the hotel looks nice, the staff is nice, we were not informed that we were next to a very noisy bar with loud techno music up to 3 am when we booked for a family vacation. At 11 pm, we were told that it would stop and it did not. I wished the hotel had informed us this was not a place to stay as a family and because they did not say anything, we fe

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Tides with my daughter during her spring break and had a pleasant experience at The Tides. Although my room not quite ready when I arrived at 3, they comped me a lunch while I waited until about 4:30. Pleasant room on the 5th floor and just like everyone has said the rooms are large (we had a queen double) with a lovely view of the park and beach beyond. Everyone was very helpful and kind and the service was excellent. The beach setup could not be easier - give your name and room number and two chairs, umbrella and towels delivered by friendly attendants. The free coffee and danish is hardly worth it - better yet, walk down to the News Cafe and get a great cup of coffee and good food and people watching is fun! Ate at Le Sandwicherie (14th and Washington) for an early dinner - go, eat, sit at a stool and chat with the people hanging out! Joe's Stone Crab is great but if you go be prepared for a wait (no reservations). It is part of the fun and worth the wait. Save room for the key lime pie! It is noisy as everyone has said, but quiet after 11 or so and so no problem getting to sleep. Comfy beds, great shower, soft towels and clean rooms! They do like to come by early, so if you are sleeping in, just stick the privacy notice on the door and you will be golden! If you want to be right in the middle of the happening part of Miami Beach, it is a great choice!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view and the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drummer'sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay at Tides.

Our apologies for the lack of room availability upon your arrival, but happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious accommodations and the view of the beach and ocean. As well, happy to read you enjoyed the beach accessibility and that the staff was friendly and attentive.

Sorry to read about your displeasure with the morning complimentary coffee and pastries.

Hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
Hotel Victor
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
927 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,892 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing