We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #67 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Service”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed ourselves so much that we were planning our return visit while we were there. This was the perfect spot on South Beach imo. The room was wonderfully spacious, the view was stunning and we could *almost* roll ourselves on to the beach from the hotel (the location was spot on). There was no need to hang out at the pool even though it was nicely decorated.

The front desk, although a small area, had provided us with all the information and help we needed. They were very accommodating, pleasantly friendly and always ready to help us. We had issues with the DVD player and they sent someone within 5 minutes. Before we knew it, the movie was playing. At another instance, we noticed the wireless phone handset was intermittently cutting off. This is what makes them a superb property because a phone repair man was already at our door while we were still on the phone with the front desk explaining this phone issue. Can you imagine the look on our faces when we realized this was being fixed at the moment we called them? Just amazing!

Room Tip: Hopefully you're an Amex Platinum member so they can offer you a complimentary room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvVacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    298
    98
    43
    39
See reviews for
185
617
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel instead of Ritz Carlton and was so glad we did. Service was excellent, hotel and room decor was very hip, and location superb in the heart of South Beach. Right across the street from beach and included free chaises and umbrella. Not for prudes since is next to gay bar with drag shows on sidewalk Friday and Saturday nights. We loved it though. Sat outside sipping enormous drinks and enjoyed people watching. Highly recommend this hotel and location for TRUE South Beach experience!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank giselle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Excellent location few steps to the beach. Although located in the noisy Ocean Drive, you don't hear much noise during the night. Very nice staff. Our room was very spacious. Could have better lighting in the bathroom. Hotel provides beach chairs from 9am to 6 pm.

Room Tip: rooms are spacious and better at higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend just came back from staying at the tides on south beach, And loved it. The hotel is in a good spot on sobe with lot's of places to eat and drink. The staff are so friendly and polite. You get towel's and bed on the beach free of charge. I would defo go back to the tides. Breakfast was lovely too! Try to get a high room as the music next door on weekend's can be very loud. Also you have to be more of an beach person as the pool is quite small.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayde w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely clean hotel in a great spot on South Beach. We had a Ocean signature room with great views, room was very large and on a higher floor so it wasn't too noisy at night.
Would stay there again.Staff were all so very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Lovely pool area with bar and food service.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean front signature room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

While strolling South Beach with some friends, we decided to the Tides hotel for Happy Hour and some live music. It was definitely a GREAT choice! The food, drinks, & service were AMAZING! The restaurant also had a saxophonists/live singer that performed and he was EXCELLENT. The night was absolutely perfect! So stop by if you're ever on SoBe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheJetsetter00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Was looking forward to staying here as I heard it was improving. Boy, was I wrong. The rooms are sparse and need updating, the bathroom amenities below average, and overall the service was just average. But what really got me angry, was the fire alarm going off for almost 30 minutes early in the morning. Apparently there was a fight in the lobby and someone pulled the alarm. How does it take 30 minutes to shut off the alarm!?! What was equally worse was having the big fire truck come and idle loudly outside the hotel for another 30 minutes, making it impossible to get any sleep. On top of that, instead of putting this complaint out on social media, I sent a note to the hotel manager, giving her a chance to explain the situation. Guess who never took the time or courtesy to respond back to me? Social media #fail, a clear indication they must not care about their guests experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saltwhistler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
Hotel Victor
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
945 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,563 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#68 of 208 in Miami Beach
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing