We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #70 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I would not recommend the Tides. They have changed owners and because of it both the service and interior design changes they have made make it for a disappointing experience for the price.

The owners have made significant decor changes to the lobby since Kelly Wearstler designed it. They moved the cool bar area to the front and added a television and display bottles, which makes it feel more like a holiday inn rather than a chic, boutique hotel. They no longer have that cool, formal dining area. No more candles or inviting, ambiant music to make it warm and inviting. This makes a significant discrepancy from the imagery provided on the pictures they have posted on Tablets, etc.

The decor and service staff around the pool area does not exist. No life what so ever out there. It feels cold and desolate. You don’t even want to lay out back there. It overlooks a parking lot.

Stayed in 602, The room size was the only good thing I have to comment about the hotel and the bed was comfortable. However, because of the hotel’s proximity to the Palace bar next door, you won’t get much sleep in the evening. Circuit music can be heard playing each night until midnight.

We had several meals at the hotel. Each one I can say was a bad experience. Of the meals we had:

Dinner on patio: Served raw chicken.
Lunch on patio: Stale chips, overcooked eggs, had to call service attendant multiple times, no fork/knives
In room dining: Food ordered was not what was promised on menu. Turkey burger served with no none of the basics like lettuce, tomato, onion, stale bread. The antipasto platter came with white, stale bread and grape jelly?

We found out that the hotel outsources the food service to the same company that runs all the horrible restaurants along Ocean Drive, and because of it I don’t see the food improving in the future unless they fire the outsourced food provider.

For the prices the hotel charges (including an 18-20% gratituty required on all orders) it really sets a sour taste when thinking about Miami.

I think we would be better off staying at a cheaper hotel off Collins that offers a better experience at a much lower price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    290
    97
    41
    39
See reviews for
174
601
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were almost trapped at the Tides. Our room was so loud that, for the first time in our lives, we wanted to check out of a hotel early. We were on the second floor, overhanging the hotel's loud, outdoor lounge singer. It was like someone was actually playing a musical instrument in our room. Considering how loud it was, we suspected that guests on higher floors might also be having trouble sleeping. Our first choice, of course, was to request a quieter room on a higher floor. But it was the weekend between Christmas and New Year's, one of South Beach's busiest times of year. The desk clerk told us the rooms on higher floors were full. She said that there was absolutely no way we could move. So we told her that we would like to check out. We were then told that, if we left early, we would forfeit the equivalent of one night's charge. Given the time of year and our last-minute booking, we were paying $900 per night!? This desk clerk was adamant that nothing could be done until we spoke to the manager who would not be in until the following morning at 9. She also told us that it was standard practice for Miami Beach hotels to penalize travelers who checked out early, so tourists beware! She also mentioned, somewhat accusingly, that we had made a last-minute booking which was true, since this was an impromptu trip. But I didn't realize that this was a problem in the hotel business! Between the music and the couple arguing loudly next door for hours and hours and slamming the door so as to lock one or the other one out in the hall (which we realize was not the hotel's fault) we passed a very restless night. The next morning, I ordered, with breakfast, some hot water from room service. The water was stained brown, as if it had been used to clean the coffee maker. This did nothing to endear us to the hotel. When the the manager finally arrived, he told us he had no other rooms although when we mentioned the loud arguing of the couple, he did offer to move us to a bigger but even louder room even closer to the music on the second floor. Finally, he agreed to waive the $900 fee so we fled to the Mondrian, where we had an absolutely wonderful experience. As we were leaving, we heard other guests asking to check out early and being told they would lose the equivalent of one night's stay. I'd like the emphasize that this was not our first time at the Tides. We stayed there about ten years ago and had wanted to return because we had had a wonderful (and noise-free!) experience. The hotel has many good qualities. The rooms are large and chic. The location is extremely central. I think the problem is that the website does do enough to warn guests that the lower-floor rooms are extremely noisy, that higher floors must be requested at the time of booking, especially during the busy season, and that the no-show penalty also applies to early departures. Given the noise level, I am pretty sure that even the higher floors are fairly loud since the hotel is not particularly tall. (It has maybe 10 floors.) I would not recommend this hotel unless you plan to stay out all night clubbing and sleep during the day.

Room Tip: Try to guarantee a room on a high floor at the time of booking although given the layout of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I truly do not have a bad word to say about this hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a suite and the room looked exactly like the pictures on the website, everything from room to the foyer was beautiful and amazingly decorated and the location is right on south beach and is close to great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

in comparison to the rest of the hotels of the strip this hotel is great value for money and has the most spacious rooms. we stayed in a studio ocean view and the place was perfect. a separate walk in wardrobe to store all the luggage so the rest of the room stays clean. a massive bathroom. the finishings are beautiful and suits the beach feel. the entrance area and restaurant makes one feel like you're in a hollywood movie. very relaxing. short distance from famous Versace mansion and the main shopping area. Great find!

Room Tip: suite with ocean view is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_travelling_twin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over a weekend, was familiar with the location and had even eaten there on several occasions. Was surprised with the level of service from the hotel staff, valet, check in, and everyone else I encountered were great.
Hotel is very nicely decorated although the leather furniture in the rooms is a bit worn. Great mix of contemporary furnishings with the Art Deco architecture.
Rooms are large and they all face the ocean, very nice bathrooms and large closets.
Pool area is lovely with plenty of chairs and two awesome cabanas to relax in.
As most have mentioned, there is noise from the club next door, but unless you want to go to bed very early this should not be an issue, you should even stop by the club and check it out, we think it's hilarious and all in good fun.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

First of all, the location of this hotel is ideal for someone accustomed to a boutique hotel feel. Small but elegant lobby just yards away from the beach. Beach chairs and umbrella are included in the very reasonable room rate. Sure it is loud into the nite, but it's in the center of all the action on Ocean Drive and just a short 15 minute walk away from Lincoln Mall. The rooms are large and clean. Kindly we were upgraded to a higher floor and by midnite the noise died down. Several great restaurants are nearby. My wife and I were there for 3 nites in the end of October as I went to a meeting up the street at one of the bigger hotels. We left our car in the garage the whole time and did not seem to have any worries. The bellmen were great. Check in was effortless with the day front desk.
However, on the last nite, my wife's iphone was stolen we believe from our hotel room. We had made a conscious effort to leave it behind as we walked up to Lincoln Mall for dinner, but did not put it in the room safe. We reported the loss immediately to the front desk and to the police after dinner that nite. The hotel assured me that something like that had never happened there before and made me feel that somehow I was to blame. I have not heard any more from the hotel since the morning we checked out and can only conclude that they are satisfied with their investigation. I mention this for anyone else in the future to be more careful then us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank vyaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

hotel is nicely refurbished. across the ocean highway from the beach. staff are very helpful. biggest issue is the noise level. very loud music until after midnight will make it hard to sleep. The drag bar next door with its various shows is the loudest, but the restaurant up front of the hotel plays music too loudly (and with poor sound quality too), also until after midnight. wouldn't come again for that reason. might be a plus for many though!

Room Tip: be wary of ocean front cause of the bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Hotel Victor
#76 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing