We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girl trip to South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #72 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Girl trip to South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the first time we have been to South Beach and the first at The Tides. Awesome location, and the customer service excelled! Had a great time with the bartenders - so approachable and really interested in making sure your stay is a happy one! The staff - from the bellmen, front desk, room service and housekeeping - could not have been more accommodating and pleasant! The saying "sometimes you get what you pay for" was absolutely correct in this instance and so worth it! Thanks to everyone at The Tides for a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: The higher rooms do have less noise unless there are children running in the room above you and in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    290
    97
    41
    39
See reviews for
174
601
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Long weekend trip to Miami, and wanted to stay on South Beach. It was between The Tides and The Betsy - but reviews of the Betsy frequently cited that property's very small rooms given the price (it's pretty expensive). So we chose The Tides, and we had a wonderful time. Granted, it was pretty expensive, so you'd expect it to be nice. What we liked best, aside from a comfortable, huge room with a great view overlooking South Beach - was the sense that it was a haven in the midst of the chaos and energy of South Beach. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, all requests were promptly addressed, and the food served up by the restaurant was pretty good, although there are many other options - but it was fun to hang out on the Tides' terrace. And the live music - a great saxophonist - was a terrific counterbalance to the chaos of the Palace Bar next door. The only drawback (aside from the expensive room rate!) is that it's an old building so the elevator is pretty small, and there aren't a lot of extra plugs in the room which you find nowadays in most hotels, but this is minor. We really loved our stay and will definitely book at The Tides on our next trip to Miami.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clemence_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

One more stay at, for sure, the best hotel option on Ocean Drive, considering the localization, the charm and class of the building and its decoration, the ambience and the fabulous rooms.
We booked an Ocean Front Premier Suite for 7 nights, very spacious, extremely luminous with breathtaking panoramic view over the Ocean, with very comfy bed, splendid bathroom (high quality amenities) and very well equipped and decorated. Reception team was always very friendly and helpful, showing a real preoccupation and having our needs satisfied. We had small lunch (very good tuna tartar and guacamole), dinner (huge paella for two, but missing a “real paella” flavor…), and mojitos (well prepared). Small deception, the Sunday brunch options are not what you may expect from such high standard place, in particular regarding what is offered in all the other restaurants on Ocean Drive. Especially if you consider that they have the most comfortable street terrace to enjoy brunch on all Ocean Drive !! Service at the restaurant could also improve in terms of sympathy and efficiency.
We´ll definitely be back and recommend absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

In general we were treated well. Most of the guests for the wedding that stayed at The Tides felt that the service as far as waiters serving the meals and drinks in front of the hotel and lobby were extremely slow, it could take as much as 5 or 10 minutes to get someone to take your order and another 5 or 10 to bring it. Many times we had to ask them for utensils after they brought the order. Lastly I feel that the automatic gratuity is not a good policy, especially having to tip for poor service. As an owner of my own business, I was appalled to see how slow the service was, and can see how your are losing a lot of revenue as a result of it.
Lastly I would like to applaud the staff who actually worked the wedding reception, they all did an excellent job and are to be commended. I am not normally a person who complains, but in closing hopefully my critique will only improve your operation.
Respectfully
Gerry Connelly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great hotel in a great location on Ocean Drive! We were able walk/bike everywhere.
The hotel staff were definitely 5 star - always available to help and very friendly! I'm rating this as excellent due to we had great deal through Hotwire...we were upgraded to a corner room which was huge! Most of what everyone reported about room/pool are correct, however minor complaints that are def out weighed by positives. Outside noise always stopped about 11...expected if on Ocean drive. If looking for super posh upscale/quieter stay at one of the mega hotels on Collins. We did not eat at the restaurant due to reviews...not a big deal as tons of choices nearby.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are extra large
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to The Tides. We love the location and property itself. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a great job in our room. The furnishing in the public areas of the hotel are a bit tired. Since our visit last spring, they have discontinued morning coffee and pastry service.
They have also discontinued staffing at the pool. By mid day, no clean towels and no beverage service all day.

We had three meals at the restaurant. One good, two average, all over priced. But there are some great places within walking distance on Collins and Washington that are more reasonably priced. Because of the great location and hotel service we will be back, but would love to see some sprucing up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and me were super excited coming to SB and Tides hotel. We had a awesome getaway weekend here. Just want to thanks all staff and to recommend hotel and the restaurant for the good food, great ambient(music especially) and impeccable service( French waitress by name Sophia and Serbian hostess Maya). Thank you Tides.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewW0rldOrder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Hotel Victor
#76 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing