We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tides is Excellent I will never stay anywhere else in Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #69 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I visited the Tides for my Anniversary. The hotel itself is spectacular. The rooms are amazing and the location is fantastic! It is right on South Beach next to great restaurants, hot spots and right across from the beach. The staff was in one word-wonderful. They knew it was my anniversary and they took care of us from A to Z, making us feel very special. They were polite and went out of their way to assist me and my husband, from restaurant/bar recommendations, traffic guidance, concierge assistance and making us feel welcome. Dave took great care of us when making the reservations, Garrett made us feel welcome upon arrival (and even told us what roads to avoid prior to our arrival) and Breanna was extremely helpful. Great hotel, great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at The Tides at the end of last year and it was just perfect. The hotel is stunning and clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were made to feel so special. We arrived at the hotel at 7am after a long flight and were taken straight to our room to check in and there was a basket of warm pastries and a platter of fresh fruit waiting for us. They checked us in whilst in our room so that we didn't have to stand in the reception. Such a nice touch. We also had a hand written card welcoming us to the hotel and the name of our 'personal assistant' should we need anything during our stay. Our room was stunning- ocean views and on a high floor. A dressing area, stunning bathroom with Molton Brown products that were refilled daily. We also didn't have any problems with noise from the street.

The food at breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic. Again the service was great. The pool area is great and again outstanding service where nothing is too much trouble. Everytime we left or entered the hotel we were given fresh bottles of Voss water. It was these touches which really made our stay. The hotel provides complimentary sunloungers and towels for the beach.

Loved it and wouldn't consider anywhere else in South Beach to stay. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Great location. Truly outstanding service, especially for kids. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a superb hotel. It's expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The finest boutique hotel we've stayed in. Staff who genuinely enjoy their job and every request was dealt with quickly and promptly. It was Hiphop weekend and the way we were able to sit in the outside bar watching the world go by was unique.
A special thank you and commendation to the Chef.
On the first night we attended the hotel's restaurant and timed it so we arrived 10 minutes after a party of 20 had been seated and so our food was very slightly delayed. We did not say anything (when it arrived it was delicious) but the next day the chef contacted us personally to apologise as one of the staff had reported to him that we had been waiting longer than normal for food. This was followed up by another senior members of staff who tracked us down to the pool to apologise and asked if they could do anything to make amends. We declined as, frankly, the service on that night was still better than most places in London. It is how a hotel respond when things do not go to plan that defines them. In this case I have no hesitation is saying that when we next visit South Beach we will only consider the Tides.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squeekles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

My experience at the Tides in Miami Beach merits a mention in Trip Advisor. It exceeded expectations. The staff provided excellent service, and made the stay special. Some specifics:
We had some unexpected business needs on arrival, and frequent need of the rental car. The staff managed every request promptly with no fuss; in spite of the crazyness of South Beach on a holiday weekend! The hotel also insulated us from the insane crowds outside, and proved to be a relaxing oasis of calm in what might have otherwise been an ordeal.
The food at La Marea was superb, and the new chef is just getting started. The waiters were friendly without being obtrusive.
Our room was spotless each day. The guest rooms are remarkably large for South Beach.
The morning coffee/tea service was nice.
The young staff go out of their way to engage the guests in conversation, and seem genuinely happy to work at the Tides.
The pool was warm (it's heated) and clean, and none of the staff were bothered that my wife used it topless. It is on the west side of the building, so only receives sun in the afternoon.
We loved the decor: it is modern but comfortable and relaxing.
The only drawback is the fact that Ocean Drive (which all the rooms face) is party central in SoBe, so it is impossible to escape the noise in the evenings. But then, if you are looking for peace and quiet, you wouldn't be staying in South Beach, would you?
This is one of the few premium botique hotels I have stayed at that earned it's premium price.
We would return again gladly!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank soltailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This boutiquey hotel is absolutely beautiful. Upon arrival the hotel provided us with 2 cocktails and a bottle of champagne and strawberries (it was our honeymoon but I only mentioned it in an email some 6 months earlier). The service was amazing and the rooms (which are fully specked with a plasma, MASSIVE bed, sofa, amazing view etc) are extremely spacious. The location is also perfect with the beach right opposite, and is walking distance to all major attractions in South Beach. Worth every penny and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shezbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Tides Hotel. There is nothing to fault this hotel, the rooms are huge and spotless, the staff are fantastic. We arrived late on a Friday evening after a long day travelling from the West Coast. As soon as our taxi pulled up one of the bell boys was removing our luggage and checking our names, he informed reception, and we were met by one of the "personal assistants" who took us directly to our room for an explanation, no messing around at the front desk. Our room on the fourth floor had a great view of Ocean Drive and the Beach, it was elegantly furnished with a King bed and large seating area. Having stayed in many nice hotels, I had high expectations, and the Tides exceeded those expectations on all levels. Our room had a dressing room which was great as a place to hide the cases and also to get dressed and store our clothes. They also provided complimentary voss bottled water and a Nespresso coffee and espresso machine, this is so refreshing in Miami where usually every little extra comes at a price.

The staff were brilliant all of them were so friendly and could not do enough for you. They booked several restaurants for us, and confirmed each time with a message in our room in a sealed envelope. The restaurant also serves top quality food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we ate there several times for lunch and had absolutely no complaints. They offer a complimentary grab and go breakfast before 9am, this is a selection of pastries and fresh fruit, but ideal if you want to make an early start - we only managed to make use of this once as 9am is a bit early during a holiday.

You also have free access to the 11th street Luxury beach with really comfy loungers and towels provided. As with all Miami beaches this closes rather early between 4:30 and 5:00pm, this is a bit annoying, but luckily the tides has a lovely pool area at the rear of the hotel, ideally situated to catch the suns rays after they kick you off the beach.

Evening cocktails on the hotel terrace were wonderful, they have an impressive wine and cocktail list and make everything exactly to your specifications.

Overall - perfection, no complaints at all.

One comment, remember this is Ocean Drive and although this is at the better end of the Drive there is still alot of street noise so be prepared.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,682 reviews
Hotel Victor
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
972 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,355 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,956 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £249 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing