We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce but Noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #69 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“NIce but Noisy.”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The Tides Hotel is a beautiful looking hotel. The staff is excellent. Very accommodating, well trained, always looking to please. HOWEVER, the hotel is located between two very noisy establishments. One is a bar, (remember the movie "Bird Cage"?) that has entertainers dancing in the street singing with a microphone at the top of their lungs well into the night. The other is a restaurant that has blaring recorded music or live outdoor bands performing at least till midnight. Complained about the noise but appears there is nothing the hotel staff can do about it except file a complaint with the police. It appears there is a noise curfew that prohibits loud noise after 11 pm but it is not enforced. Had our room changed to a higher floor but really did not help. Hotel is fine for people who do not mind loud noise interfering with their sleep or those who are out partying until the early morning hours. If you are interested in a relaxing, quite hotel, do not pick this one -or South Beach. Now, lets talk about South Beach. For the young. Sleezy, trashy environment. 42nd Street, NYC, in pastel colors. Lincoln Drive, forget about it. Again, nothing but 42nd Street stores. Nothing classy about South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I regret that your stay with us was dissappointing mainly due to noise pollution. We make every effort to accommodate our guests and provide alternatives and was pleased that we were able to extend a suite change to a higher floor.

We were most delighted that you found our colleagues and service delivery to be excellent. We aim to provide consistent, reliable and personalized services and are truly pleased that we acheived this with you.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your most insightful and candid feedback with us. We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    295
    98
    41
    39
See reviews for
179
604
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I visited the Tides for my Anniversary. The hotel itself is spectacular. The rooms are amazing and the location is fantastic! It is right on South Beach next to great restaurants, hot spots and right across from the beach. The staff was in one word-wonderful. They knew it was my anniversary and they took care of us from A to Z, making us feel very special. They were polite and went out of their way to assist me and my husband, from restaurant/bar recommendations, traffic guidance, concierge assistance and making us feel welcome. Dave took great care of us when making the reservations, Garrett made us feel welcome upon arrival (and even told us what roads to avoid prior to our arrival) and Breanna was extremely helpful. Great hotel, great stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at The Tides at the end of last year and it was just perfect. The hotel is stunning and clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were made to feel so special. We arrived at the hotel at 7am after a long flight and were taken straight to our room to check in and there was a basket of warm pastries and a platter of fresh fruit waiting for us. They checked us in whilst in our room so that we didn't have to stand in the reception. Such a nice touch. We also had a hand written card welcoming us to the hotel and the name of our 'personal assistant' should we need anything during our stay. Our room was stunning- ocean views and on a high floor. A dressing area, stunning bathroom with Molton Brown products that were refilled daily. We also didn't have any problems with noise from the street.

The food at breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic. Again the service was great. The pool area is great and again outstanding service where nothing is too much trouble. Everytime we left or entered the hotel we were given fresh bottles of Voss water. It was these touches which really made our stay. The hotel provides complimentary sunloungers and towels for the beach.

Loved it and wouldn't consider anywhere else in South Beach to stay. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Great location. Truly outstanding service, especially for kids. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a superb hotel. It's expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The finest boutique hotel we've stayed in. Staff who genuinely enjoy their job and every request was dealt with quickly and promptly. It was Hiphop weekend and the way we were able to sit in the outside bar watching the world go by was unique.
A special thank you and commendation to the Chef.
On the first night we attended the hotel's restaurant and timed it so we arrived 10 minutes after a party of 20 had been seated and so our food was very slightly delayed. We did not say anything (when it arrived it was delicious) but the next day the chef contacted us personally to apologise as one of the staff had reported to him that we had been waiting longer than normal for food. This was followed up by another senior members of staff who tracked us down to the pool to apologise and asked if they could do anything to make amends. We declined as, frankly, the service on that night was still better than most places in London. It is how a hotel respond when things do not go to plan that defines them. In this case I have no hesitation is saying that when we next visit South Beach we will only consider the Tides.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeekles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest nomad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

My experience at the Tides in Miami Beach merits a mention in Trip Advisor. It exceeded expectations. The staff provided excellent service, and made the stay special. Some specifics:
We had some unexpected business needs on arrival, and frequent need of the rental car. The staff managed every request promptly with no fuss; in spite of the crazyness of South Beach on a holiday weekend! The hotel also insulated us from the insane crowds outside, and proved to be a relaxing oasis of calm in what might have otherwise been an ordeal.
The food at La Marea was superb, and the new chef is just getting started. The waiters were friendly without being obtrusive.
Our room was spotless each day. The guest rooms are remarkably large for South Beach.
The morning coffee/tea service was nice.
The young staff go out of their way to engage the guests in conversation, and seem genuinely happy to work at the Tides.
The pool was warm (it's heated) and clean, and none of the staff were bothered that my wife used it topless. It is on the west side of the building, so only receives sun in the afternoon.
We loved the decor: it is modern but comfortable and relaxing.
The only drawback is the fact that Ocean Drive (which all the rooms face) is party central in SoBe, so it is impossible to escape the noise in the evenings. But then, if you are looking for peace and quiet, you wouldn't be staying in South Beach, would you?
This is one of the few premium botique hotels I have stayed at that earned it's premium price.
We would return again gladly!

  • Liked — the friendly and efficient staff
  • Disliked — street noise (unavoidable in this location)
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank soltailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This boutiquey hotel is absolutely beautiful. Upon arrival the hotel provided us with 2 cocktails and a bottle of champagne and strawberries (it was our honeymoon but I only mentioned it in an email some 6 months earlier). The service was amazing and the rooms (which are fully specked with a plasma, MASSIVE bed, sofa, amazing view etc) are extremely spacious. The location is also perfect with the beach right opposite, and is walking distance to all major attractions in South Beach. Worth every penny and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Hotel Victor
#81 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing