We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #68 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Tides South Beach. we picked the hotel based on the reviews we saw here on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. the hotel is decorated beautifully and elegantly. The rooms are very large with a separate walk-in closet. The bathroom is gorgeous with a glass wall separating the shower from the bedroom. The pool area is beautiful. Although the hotel is right on ocean drive and the pool is on the second floor, you don't hear any of the street noise while you're in the pool as there is light music playing all the time. The pool is open 24 hours so if you feel like a midnight dip, it is open for your enjoyment. The service was wonderful too. we felt welcome from the time we booked the room as we were contacted a day before we arrived to ask for our travel plans and also to see if they could book any spa treatments for us. When we checked into the hotel, they brought us 2 delicious complimentary martinis to our room for us to drink and relax. overall, this hotel was a great experience. and the location is of course unbeatable. The lobby leads you directly to the busy and always happening ocean drive. One thing to mention is that the hotel only had valet parking at $35 a night which can be pricey. we found a parking garage around the corner for 15 a night and parked the car ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank era63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback with us and we are truly pleased that we provided you with a most memorable and enjoyable experience.

Our compliments to Kelly Wearstler Interior Designs who was instrumental in creating a quality residential and tastefully appointed decor. We strive to touch the heart and soul of our guests and are extremely proud that we achieved this with you.

Our signature Tides Royale martinis are legendary and we were delighted that you found them delicious.

Thank you for your candid feedback in respect to the charges for overnight parking. As we continually review our pricing, we will definitely take your comments into consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the mean time, remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

I visited Miami SoBe area for a few nights by myself and I have to say The Tides was a great choice. Very clean, upscale hotel with a nice staff that knows your name and treats you well. Clean, LARGE room - almost like a studio apt. by NYC standards !!!

Very quiet as well - I didn't hear any noise - so not sure what some people are talking about when they say the area is noisy. I did however visit during the week and it was quiet in general ...the pool area was like having your own private pool - with service of course which was very nice.

The oustide of the hotel is very nice for sitting outside and having a drink and they have a cool drink specials menu - so check it out !

One thing I should note is that there is no business center but the front desk has laptops they give you which you can sit and use in the lobby for no charge.

There is room service and a restaurant on site as well as a mall work out room across from the poola rea.

In general, I found the area okay for a few nights. Be preapred that people shove menus in your face as you walk along Ocean Drive - maybe the economy makes them do this as it is very annoying after day one ......but I managed.......

I recommend News Cafe on Ocean Drive as a really cute place to sit and grab a bite ......

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank MSREDNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the high praise and incredible recognition of being a winner. We were truly delighted to learn that we had exceeded your expectations from service delivery, to guest name recognition to impeccable and spacious accommodations.

I have shared your valuable feedback with Ms Anja Dubberke, F&B Manager in respect to the gracious service received at the pool to the innovative beverage offering at the Terrace.

We were pleased that you found our offer of lap top a viable alternative to the lack of Business Centre offering.

Once again, thank you for the generous comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We started a 2 week trip round Florida at The Tides,and what a wonderful start, like many people have said before from arriving the reception cannot be matched. We had a 6th floor room, which was not noisy at all, and we were very jetlagged but no noise bothered us. We were a little niggeled that the gym was not ready as promised but on the last day they offered that we could go to another hotel and use there's(i understand this is now open). They helped in everyway and the rooms are wonderful. I won't repeat what others have said, but we would thoroughly recommend and it got us off to a very good holiday.
Many thanks

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased that we got your holiday off to a great start with an arrival experience that was unmatched and nights of peaceful slumber.

We sincerely apologize that the relocation of our Fitness Centre was not completed during your stay with us. As you have noted, this facility has been completed and I am confident that you will be pleased with the equipment offering. I was encouraged to learn that my colleagues did extend an alternative so as to accommodate your needs.

Once again, thank you for your generous compliment on highly recommending us. We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back to The Tides soon.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

After our cruise my partner and I decided to spend 2 nights at The Tides. I requested an early check-in even though it wasn't guaranteed because the cruise docks at 8am. We arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon and to my disappointment the room was not ready. This was quickly remedied by the incredibly attentive staff that offered us complimentary martini's and their business laptop to check e-mails etc. The room was ready shortly thereafter and was absolutely gorgeous. As promised there was a great view of the ocean, spacious closet, single serving coffee maker, robes, etc. The pool was quaint, never a lot of people but very nice. Quiet and relaxing, there are umbrellas and a shaded area on either side of the pool where you can have a drink and just relax.

If there was ever a need for anything the front desk employees would do anything possible to make the request possible. The location was perfect, you are right on Ocean Drive so if you want to shop, lay out, go to the bars, even walk to Nikki Beach you can. I didn't find the hotel noisy at all but then again I didn't go to bed earlier than 1am. As soon as you exit the hotel there are restaurants where the employees literally attack you into sitting down for their free shots and happy hours and half off food. It's amazing! If you want a terrific hotel and great location I would recommend The Tides hands down. We even left some important documentation in the room and they were extremely responsive in getting this back to us. I would definitely stay at The Tides again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgreen519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you were most impressed with our superior levels of service and found our location to be perfect.

I regret that your suite was not available for your early arrival but was pleased that we were able to swiftly accommodate you. It was rewarding to learn that you found our accommodations tastefully designed and appointed and that our pool offering was in keeping with your high expectations.

I have recognized my team for their sense of urgency with their response when you had left behind some valuable documents. It is always encouraging to hear that our training efforts on prompt response and follow through with our guests is being respected.

We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back to The Tides soon.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I've been to SoBe seven times in the past 5 years - this is by far the best hotel in SoBe. The hotel was very helpful in accommodating us even before we had arrived - they had set us up with 2 adjoining rooms as there were two families in our party. The service is unparalleled and genuine (no snobbish attitudes to be found here). From the minute we arrived, Francisco (one of the managers) showed us to our rooms with drinks waiting for us. The rooms are impeccable - clean, huge, and all the amenities you could want (ipod, large flat screen tv, clean marble bathroom, separate walk-in closet area, etc). All are ocean front views and over 550 sq ft. Anything you want, the hotel staff is ready to please. Briana, Leslie, Ray, David, Francisco, Sheerly, and all the others we met (can't remember everyone's names, but they remembered ours) were unbelievable. They always took that extra step to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as we had hoped for. Considering we had 3 kids (between us and our friend's family), we were really taken care of by the hotel staff. The location is excellent. The pool is perfect with its cabana's and chairs/umbrellas. Not an over-sized pool, which makes it that much more peaceful. Couldn't ask for a better vaca. This is the only hotel we'll be staying at from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such generous and rewarding feedback with us in respect to your recent family vacation at The Tides. It was most encouraging to learn that we exceeded your expectations on multiple levels from the genuine care of our colleagues to the tastefully designed and appointed suites to our intimate and private pool offering.

I have shared your wonderful comments with Francisco, Brianna, Lesley, Rey, David and Sheerley…who were all delighted that you took the opportunity to recognize them. We pride ourselves on guest name recognition and personalizing our service delivery and are truly pleased that we achieved this with you.

Once again, thank you for the incredible honor of only staying with us when your travels bring you back to Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stay in the Tides for 8 nights and it is a absolutly outstanding property and service.
The check in was enourmes professional, we made the check in in the room. We have a wonderful view on the ocean from the 8th floor. The rooms are hugh and in friendly warm colours. The housekeeping clean up the rooms twice a day once in the morning once in the evenening for the turndown service. The Cocktails are brillant we recommend the Tide Royal it was delicious. We can say it is a grandhotel service in this small boutique hotel. Brilliant, outstanding and very professional. Thank´s for this wonderful vacations....

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipmunk1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the warm welcome, to the private in-suite check-in, to the tastefully appointed details in your suite, to the stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, to the attentive and immaculate Housekeeping services, to the delicious signature Tides Royale martini and most importantly, the gracious and professional service extended by our colleagues. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional guest services and are proud to have achieved this with you.

We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

3 day stay before a cruise, excellent in every respect from the greeting on arrival and every time a member of staff came by, to the pool and poolside service, cocktail bar and dining. Rooms are large, well equipped and fabulous views. Superb location for everything on Ocean Drive and the beach. Just one fault, the gym on the 9th floor is outdated, most of the electrical equipment didn't work and the roof leaked when it rained. Great view though, particularly as our room was on 3rd floor. Staff told me the gym was moving to mezzanine level, so that would be a good opportunity to refurbish. Otherwise everything was good. A little noisy at night, but that's to be expected in the middle of Ocean Drive, and just added to the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTides, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding feedback from your recent stay with us. It is greatly rewarding and encouraging to learn that you were well taken care of by our colleagues.

You were advised correctly in that we have relocated our Fitness Centre to the Mezzanine Level. This indoor facility now overlooks the stunning Atlantic Ocean and I am confident that it would be in keeping with your expectations when you next return.

I regret you experienced minimal noise disturbance and would be more than happy to secure an accommodation on a higher floor for all your future stays with us. I kindly invite you to call me personally at 305 604 5183, so that I may record this as your preference on your guest profile.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Hotel Victor
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
959 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 212 in Miami Beach
178 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £258 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing