We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great-both the place & location”
Review of Villa Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Paradiso
Ranked #120 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2007

I stayed at Villa Paradiso for 4 nights in march 2007. Stayed by myself in the large studio with 2 double beds, so found it spacious.
It's 1 minute walk from beach (1 block away).

parallel to a supermarket (grocery store) on next road, washington ave.
Close to internet cafe on the next road, washington ave, useful to check up things in the area, check-in online to flights etc
close to loads of restaurants

Felt like my own flat rather than a hotel. Felt private and quiet.
nice setting/garden.

If i had to be picky, would say the bath could be a bit cleaner.
fridge in kitchen. no microwave. table with chairs. enough room to hang clothes.

Staff were friendly. Lady in reception was helpful e.g. with booking taxi and when they were a few minutes late, called again, without me having to ask.

would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank osholay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2007

We are sad to say that the Villa has to get new matresses if it wants to keep people coming back. The matress was so hard my young back woke up in the middle of the night on fire-because it hurt so bad. The springs could actually be felt through the thin as a tissue matress pad. I lifted up the bedding to see that yes it was an old stained mattress in dire need of replacement.
Everything else is excellent about this place which is why I hope to bring attention to the problem because it is so easy to change. There is no reason why they cannot invest in new matresses-with all the competition from the boutique hotels you would think they would. Please Villa get new bedding!!! Some people actually do want to sleep on their vacation!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank girlgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

You may be interested in crawling drunkenly down South Beach's streets with barely-dressed 21-year-olds, but you don't want them keeping the party going in the room right next door. You are not interested in a tiny room. And you are interested in a pleasant place, with shady trees and outdoor candles, that's more unique than the other hotels around. You like hotel staff who are down to earth and helpful. You like having a kitchen and ample closet space. You don't like handing over your entire month's rent for a one-night stay. You believe hotels should be clean and airy. You need to stay here, then.

The other reviews are right: these are remodeled apartments, with wood floors and spare furnishings off of a nice patio area. I think one of the reviews said it was like a boutique hotel, but I wouldn't go that far. Boutique hotels tend to have more amenities and more furnishings. There's no pool but the beach is about a block away. It is quiet and calm here, so that walking through the gate leads you quickly to a retreat from the South Beach bustle. You are very close to many good restaurants. The Art Deco district is outside your front door.

This is not what we expected of Miami, especially this neighborhood, when we drove past the chain stores and the happy hour hotspots. Instead it felt like a little romantic hideaway, where we could dip our toe into the party scene when we wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ohtheplacesIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

The Villa Paradiso was less than impressive as some folks have claimed. I really wanted to give this place a chance, but there were too many problems… Ill get to the few positives later.

We stayed in Room #3 on the 2nd floor. I’ll start with the bedroom and living room… The couch was old and dirty, but a white cover was placed over to hide any stains. I recall using this method back in college to make a $25 couch look like new. The bed was plenty big, but very stiff. The comforter was “used”… and we didn’t put it on the bed. Enough said. They don’t offer an internet connection, FYI.

I wouldn’t suggest storing your clothing in the dresser drawers. The last time they were sanded and/or cleaned, FDR was pushing New Deal legislation when the bldg was built in the 30’s. Plan on leaving your clothes in your suitcase.

You only get one set of towels during your stay. Im guessing the original towel color was white. The water pressure in the shower was poor. I was told by my girlfriend that the pressure was so low she had trouble getting conditioner out of her hair, whatever that means. The temperature of the water changed without warning, and you have to wait a minute sometimes for the temperature to recover. On day 2 of 3, we came back to the unit to change for the beach and used the toilet. When I flushed, it began running continuously… not overflowing, just pouring water continuously down the tube. The staff got a plumber/maintenance guy there within 30 minutes. He fixed in another 20 minutes, then the cleaning ladies came up and cleaned up.

As far as the “fully stocked kitchen”, we first saw a sign above the sink… “Guests are responsible for washing dishes”. There was no microwave or dishwasher… this was far from a functional kitchen… even for basic food prep. We declined to use the dishware. If you come, bring gallons of spring water.
Another positive, it was pretty quiet, even during the peak of College Spring Break time. The apartment did have plenty of space for 2 people, and the courtyard was nice.

I forgot to mention, 4 hours after we made our online reservations at the Villa Paradiso, they called us and said they didn’t have the vacancy. I said “but your website just took our reservation and we received a confirmation email, how could that be?” They really had no explanation… and never corrected the error, b/c I went back to their site an hour later and checked that it was still taking reservations for a date that they were already booked. If you decide to stay there, make sure you call to confirm an online reservation… or better yet, just make the reservation over the phone.

On a positive note, the location is great. You cannot beat the proximity to Lincoln Road, restaurants, and only 1 block from Ocean Drive and the beach. The apt building was built in 1936.

If you’re just looking for a room to get you close to the strip at any cost, then this might be the place for you. If you’re looking to relax with your gf or bf and enjoy your stay without worrying about cleanliness and comfort, then you’re probably going to need to cough-up at least $300 a night to get you to that comfort level. Miami Beach is expensive, so expect to get what you pay for. This hotel is operated by the staff that runs “The Loft” also on Collins Ave, so beware.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank hla7er45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

South Beach accomodations can be expensive and spotty. Villa Paradiso was neither by comparison. For $200 a night you will get luxury in some areas, but not South Beach. This place is comfortable, spacious, funky, friendly and convenient. Will always go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dm7b5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2007

My wife and I stayed here 01/21/07 until 01/25/07. We used tripadvisor before we booked a place and found this one seemed good. Boy, was it ever! It was the best. The location is very good with many shops, cafes, nite clubs and the beach is one block away. We love our coffee, so Starbucks was a welcome sight. Our room was more like an apartment than a hotel room. It had three separate rooms with a stove and a 'frig and it has an outside entrance, plus a steel grate fence enclosed patio area with tables and chair to enjoy that coffee. Very safe and secure. We had breakfast every morning at Jerry's Deli, which is one half block away. But don't rent a car, there is no place to park it, cabs are much more useful.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank 7long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights in Aug 06. It looks tiny from the outside but I was extremely happy with our room. It felt like an apartment that we owed. Tastefully decorated and very comforable. The location was perfect. Around the corner from the beach and a couple of blocks from Lincoln Road. We felt very secure day and night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would return here if we were ever to go back to S.B. Oh, and go and get a slice of pizza in Pizza Rustica, its sexy as hell!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dingdongwongbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#111 of 212 in Miami Beach
511 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#114 of 212 in Miami Beach
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#123 of 212 in Miami Beach
587 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#166 of 212 in Miami Beach
16 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#98 of 212 in Miami Beach
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso

Address: 1415 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £107 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Paradiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Hotel Miami Beach
Paradiso Hotel Miami Beach
Paradiso Miami Beach
Villa Paradiso Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing