We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #15 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
1 review
“Great location on South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Newly renovated place, perfectly location just around the corner to the beach! A very good choice for the money. Not crowded and very friendly staff. As we wanted to avoid the big hotel atmosphere, the Hotel Impala was just perfect for us: close to the beach, very clean, delicious breakfast! Definitely would stay their again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    219
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
98
437
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This place has gone under renovation and really has changed its ways! I stayed there recently and was shocked to see the improvements compared to the last time I stayed there. If you had a bad experience int the past, this place definitely listened to your concerns and made the necessary changes.

Great stay for me!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MehdyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Considering past reviews, I didn't know what to expect from this hotel. I have been very positively surprised! In fact the place is now brand new. Completely renovated. The owner and the management changed recently and transform the place in a very welcoming site. Great service and quality.
This is also a chance to escape from all the big hotel chains around Miami beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Impala was recommended by a friend....or rather an "EX" friend. This place is a worn out pig pen. Dirty, furniture could not pass muster @ Goodwill, fan missing blades, no coffee pot and extreamly noisey. Believe every bad thing that has been written about this dump.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Walt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyImpala, Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I am very sorry to read that you have had such a bad experience at the Impala Hotel. However, I am happy to inform you that we recently completed an extensive renovation and beautification project that I am sure will charm you if you give us the chance to make a better impression! The new Impala proudly a re-opened its door at the beginning of March 2012 and we hope that you will have the opportunity to come see our newly designed and improved rooms and all the amenities they include! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

A Motel would be better. Very dirty, in extremely bad condition.
From the moment you enter the lobby that smells badly of mould.
Nothing to do with the definition "Boutique Hotel".
I am Italian and work for a major Tour Operator. I am not picky at all and every time I go to South Beach I look for bargains and cheap accomodation so I can spare money and go there more often. I am really ashamed that this Hotel is intruducing itself as Italian Elegance and making connection with Versace and so on. yes they have a nice medusa head mosaics in the lobby..that's all.
It is old VERY OLD! The bed was a boat, a sinking boat! The table and chairs where outdoor furnitures probabily used ouside for long time and the fabric so dirty they changed completely color. Table sticky dirty and stone floor all over was dirty. The phone and alarm clock probabily 30 years old. The top of the "drawer" was missing. Curtains with stains all over. WC cover missing. Walls that desperately need paint. The only nice thing is the oversized shower and shower head! I asked to see other rooms. They were even worse, you could not switch on/off light unless you go to the night table. I actually open a connecting door that was not possible to lock and end up in somebody else's room (thank God the guys were only sleeping..:). I spent one night as I checked in very late, but I changed Hotel the morning after...A nightmere, with approximately the same price I went to a brand new clean nice small Hotel.They said they were starting to remodel...sure! They will have a lot to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lafuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We did not have time to research before we made a reservation (usually we always do). We figured that one night we can spend almost anywhere. Well... It was not good.... Room style was too rustic to determine where or not it is clean, so we did not feel like touching things there. Location is great. It was close to night life on South Beach. Our bed was comfy and clean. Towels were not that white and fluffy, but we had no choice. Room definitely required facelift. We have not seen any bugs and room was not smelly. Public parking lot is right next to the block where hotel is located. It is not easy to find a spot, but be patient and wait. $1.50/hour. It is free from 3 a.m. to 9 a.m. Complimentary breakfast includes limited choices: cereal, croissants, coffee and orange juice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

It turned out to be a very disappointing hotel. The room was kind of like the pictures, but very older and worn out. The only good things about the room were that it was spacious, the bed was comfy and there was a big flat screen tv. Also, very well located, close to the beach (but in August, the ocean is filled with jellyfish so we did not enjoy it at all and since there is no pool, it kind of put a damp in our plans of swimming cuz it was so hot). The free breakfast was alright but very limited.

There was no fridge in the room despite what the website said and no ice machine either so it made it impossible to keep any food or drinks cold in the room. The A/C kept the room cold but was so noisy we had to sleep with earplugs the whole stay. You need those no matter what cuz the walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors sneezing.

This hotel needs so many repairs it's unbelievable. Water stains on the ceiling, shower doesn't drain, dirty curtains and moldy screens in the windows (horrible view). There was a ceiling fan that had one blade broken. The employees were not very friendly but I would not be if I worked there either.. Also, the staircase and hallway smelled awful.

Note that the website says free wifi but it did not work in our room. However, there was an internet cable to plug a laptop in which was unpractical. Their website also mentioned a mini-bar which is not there and no bathrobe or safety box either. They should totally change their website since it's misleading.

I guess this hotel was once a nice one, but it is now run down and needs a BIG makeover.

I would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carorules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
La Flora
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
The Confidante
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing