We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful last minute find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #16 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful last minute find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and i have been wandering through Florida for the first time in our 39 years of marriage. We have not made any prior reservations, relying on finding a nice place when we decide to stop for the night. We arrived in Miami mid afternoon. Had a fun but too quick afternoon walking around the Fairchild gardens before heading for South Beach. Using tripadvisor we found a wonderful italian restaurant, Spiga. 5 stars all the way around. As we were finishing dinner we we began thinking about where we would spend the night. I watched several couples entering and exiting a somewhat hidden entry to the impala. We stopped a couple who walked by our table and asked about the hotel. They loved it. We looked on tripadvisor and found great reviews and found a vacancy.

Wonderful little hotel. Room a bit small but everything else wonderful. Staff friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay great. If you stay here, have dinner at the wonderful restaurant in front Spiga. Home run on both accounts!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Congrats on 39 years of marriage, that must truly be exciting! Thanks for choosing the Impala Hotel by trusting the reviews on tripadvisor and then taking the time to leave a review. As I can see you were in a standard room and to some the size is just right and to others too small. The next time you visit us you may want to consider a deluxe room or even a suite if you desire a more spacious room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and dinner at Spiga and we look forward to your future visit with us whenever you come to Florida.
Just don’t wait another 39 years :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    219
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
98
437
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and the location is good, but the room needed updating, although there were some nice decorative touches. We saw a small roach in the room, and that made me uncomfortable and glad we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbkwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We are genuinely sorry you had some disappointments while here at the Impala Hotel. Please rest assured that roaches are not something we deal with on a regular basis. Our hotel is fumigated once a month and after your review, it was fumigated twice in that month. We are glad that you enjoyed our decorative touches and that you found our staff very nice and helpful. We have taken note of what needs updating and will work on them. Hopefully you will give us a chance to make a better impression on you in the future. Let us know if we can be assistance to you the next time you are in South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here just one night before a cruise out of Miami and we wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed at the Ritz during previous trip and enjoyed our stay much more at the Impala. Quite, clean and great service. We will definitely be back to Miami and will absolutely stay at the Impala. Great service by our friend Romain as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We appreciate every review from every guest and yours truly warmed our hearts! This review has us on cloud nine. Did you just say you enjoyed us more than the Ritz Carlton? Yes you did! We always strive to be an individual in the services we offer but every now and then it sure doesn’t hurt to hear we’ve exceeded the service of a 5 diamond hotel. You are definitely welcomed to return to the Impala Hotel anytime! Romain says the pleasure was all his. Until next time we’ll remain on cloud nine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Oh my god, if I could give this place 10 stars I would. It's so relaxing, clean, quiet, and the staff is amazing. I would recommend to anyone wanting to forget about their stressful life for a week end. Our room was cute and so comfortable, it's super close to EVERYTHING in south beach, and the front desk lovely lady gave us great recommendations for places to go eat, attractions and even called around for us to get the best deals possible. In a time where chains and corporate companies are around every corner, it was quite refreshing to find a place with individuality and charm. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We gladly accept and appreciate your 10 Stars! We are overjoyed that you left such a great review. Whenever we can assist on taking away the stress of the world, we definitely will. Our staff is here to assist within their means and every now and then, over and beyond. All of our staff are locals and are very familiar with the area, so we know all the secrets and we only share with Impala Hotel guest  Thank you for choosing us rather than a corporate chain and we are pleased to know we were able to stand up to the competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This small boutique hotel is really great if you are looking to a good place where to stay in South Beach. Just 1 block away from the beach and the thrill of Ocean Drive but still very quiet.
Beach bag and towels are provided. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable (#210).
Staff is really helpful and can help you if necessary to organize your stay/travel.
I will definately come back !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krakginto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased that you like many were able to have an Impala Hotel experience. We strive to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay. As I can see you were in our Grande Suite, which is very spacious and is our only room with a balcony that looks out to Collins Avenue. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our complimentary beach bag and towels in addition to the other amenities we have to offer. Our staff is here to gladly assist with all your needs either it be directions, attractions, tours, or dinner reservations. We are glad to ensure that we can do anything within our means. We look forward to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Impala hotel for one night this past weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel decor was charming and the rooms were nicely appointed. The Nespresso machine and free bottled water was a very nice touch. This hotel is fabulous all around if you want to be in the heart of South Beach within walking distance to great clubs, restaurants and the beach, but don't want to stay in your average run of the mill chain. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a pleasure it was to read your review! We are pleased to know that your stay at the Impala Hotel was fabulous all around. We may not have the big name of the chain hotels but we do offer the service and amenities such as the Nespresso machine and free bottled water. As you mentioned our location is ideal to the clubs, restaurants, and the beaches. On top of having an ideal location we also offer the peace a quiet that anyone would deserve after an eventful day on South Beach. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your South Beach visit (even if for just one night) and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, what a great little hidden gem that is quiet and clean. It's in a great location within walking distance to everything you need but still very quiet. The front desk staff was nice, professional and helpful. Only thing that could have been improved was valet parking took 20+ mins both days we stayed. This is understandable though at busy times of the year such as May. I would stay here again and recommend the Impala hotel to family and friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smc2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Impala Hotel. We grateful for such a kind review of our staff and location. Please note that you are correct; during very busy times in the season the wait for your car may exceed the maximum waiting time of 20 minutes. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced with valet. Overall we are glad that despite the wait time, you were able to enjoy our hotel. We thank you again and look forward to your future visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
La Flora
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing