We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered South Beach Treasure”
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marlin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

So I was planning a spontaneous trip for a long weekend to Miami with my wife. I could not find a decent hotel that weekend. Apparently some big convention or event was going on. I usually stay at the Delano, or the W Hotel but they were both fully booked. A friend of mine that leaves in Miami Beach told me to check out the Marlin Hotel. My first reaction was…I never even heard of it so I am doubt it will be good. My friend told me the Marlin is a precious secret super luxury hotel that has just been fully renovated (and completely rewired electronically) and that I should really try it. I did not have other options so I decided to do it.

We finally arrived at the Marlin and this little boutique hotel was amazing. We checked in at a private VIP style check in office. We received a brand new iPad (Yes iPad) upon check in that became our “go to” device for anything we needed in the room. This iPad controlled the A/C, lights, TV, and everything else that was electrically powered in the room. The room itself was amazing too. Super luxury. My wife and I were joking how we felt a little guilty being pampered by such luxury on our mini-vacation.

Apparently this hotel is known among celebrities and well-known musicians who come to South Beach and want to maintain some privacy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiterunner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

If I had stayed only 3 nights I would have given this hotel the highest rating there is. The location, room, and friendly hosts were amazing. However, as described, there is a recording studio on the ground floor, with only two floors of rooms above. The problem was on my last, fourth night. We came home early for a Saturday night (midnight) as we had to catch a flight and leave the hotel by 8am the next morning. My friend and I were in a room on the second floor. At around 12:30am - RAP recording STARTED. The base beat was unbearable, the bed was actually shaking. IT DID NOT STOP UNTIL 7AM! No lie- 7 HOURS straight of rap recording- one story below where we were trying to get sleep. I don't understand why this is allowed and acceptable- its just not practical or fair for paying hotel customers. I wanted to cry but was completely helpless. I understand the appeal and edge and vibe that the studio creates, but how about studio hours? 12AM - 7AM straight??? Unreal.
If anyone feels they absolutely must stay here, I strongly recommend you request a room on the 3rd floor.. The second floor is too risky- unless you are a really really sound sleeper or just plan to be passed out each night.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KBKB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The hotel is almost the definition of Boutique. Incredible decoration, mixed with the local architecture. The rooms are very confortable, modern, trendy. I wish I had stayed longer. The lobby is also pretty cool and the service is very prompt and polite. Next time I come to Miami I'll definitly stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliveiraPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Excellent location, AMAZING environment and very friendly staff! Definitely the best spot to stay in South Beach! Ipad controlled high tech rooms, the TV behind the mirror, breathe taking Music Studio, running into celebrities in hotel hallways and having the best treatment from the friendly staff was fan-tas-tic!! We will pick Marlin anytime we go to Miami.. no doubt!!
Cant wait for the next visit!!

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOSAMANTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

After recent renovation the Marlin Hotel is one the best places to stay in South Beach Miami. The staff is very kind and assist you with everything you need. The rooms are very clean and with the ultimate audio & video electronics. The location is excelent and the rates are reasonable for what the hotel offers. I stayed there in last January 2012 and intend to return soon with my wife. There is a famous recording studio at the street level, The South Beach Studio, one of the most famous recording studios in the USA. It deserves a guided tour. Please ask the manager to guide you there when they are not recording.

Room Tip: The third floor is the best, but all rooms are excellent. The best silent rooms are at the rear of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advancedcinematics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed here last month and this is by far the coolest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff is so friendly and they truly try to make you feel like you are staying at home. I have stayed a lot of places on south beach and the service has never compared to the Marlin's service. The service compares to level of service you get in Vegas. The rooms are very nice and you control your entire room and tv with an ipad you get a checkin. The bed was just as comfortable as my bed at home and the location is awesome to because you can walk to many shops and restaurants so you do not have to get in a taxi all the time. We will be staying here again at the end of March as well and I cant wait!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRANDONS827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walid S, Manager at The Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

On behalf of the entire Marlin Hotel staff we like to thank you for the great feed back, we truly enjoyed having you stay with us.
Hope to see you very soon.
Walid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Really spacious rooms, which was a nice change from the standard matchbox sized hotel rooms one gets these days. Technically progressive, including surround sound and a huge TV screen that mysteriously appeared from within the room mirror. The bathroom, like the hotel room, was spacious and well thought out. Overall it was a great stay in a what I know to be a South Beach game changing destination. Great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#6 of 214 in Miami Beach
402 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 214 in Miami Beach
604 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,486 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#15 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,837 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#24 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £133 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlin Hotel is a considerate combination of history, architecture, modern luxury and style. The cozy and welcoming nature of the hotel coupled with its South Beach location makes it the ultimate destination for those seeking a luxurious beach getaway. Situated amidst the escapade that is South Beach, the hotel is the perfect oceanside hideaway. Guests are just steps away from white sand beaches as well as must-see shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel has recently been completely renovated and has been committed to preserving the landmark art deco building's architectural dynasty, while providing guests with unparalleled elegance and gracious service. The guestrooms and suites are luxurious and spacious, ranging from 240 to 500 square-feet and redesigned to create a home away from home, heightened by the contemporary style, custom- designed furniture and fixtures, wood floors and serene color palate. The relaxing setting extends to the spa-like bathroom that includes a rainfall shower, unique glass-enclosed wet room and therapeutic pebble floor. Each room offers exquisite attention to detail, from the hand-selected pillows and rugs to the coastal-inspired artwork that is reminiscent of Miami's tropical surroundings. No two rooms are alike but all feature state-of-the-art amenities including a 55" LED TV with surround sound, fully stocked mini bar, luxury linens, custom spa bathrobes and slippers, and blackout drapes with remote control. The hotel also offers thoughtful amenities to ensure that each stay is nothing short of perfection, including a designated maid and turndown service, laundry and dry-cleaning, transportation, continental breakfast and high-speed wireless internet. The interior of the hotel exudes opulence, while still embodying the energy and style for which it has always been known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach
The Marlin Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing