We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
National Hotel Miami Beach
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a nice room, clean and decent size. The location is good withe easy access to public transportation and going to town, as well as close to the beach! Service was friendly and efficient. Pool was nice too, would come back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunday75006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    363
    119
    53
    31
See reviews for
256
493
57
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The National Hotel is a classic Art Deco around since 1939, but renovated authentically.. Conveniently located on South Beach, walk to stores and restaurants in the area. Our room was small, but comfortable with a king sized bed and windows that wrapped around the corner. The air-conditioning really cooled the room, but it only had two options, arctic breeze and off. We reported the problem at checkout.

The hotel pool is a beauty lined with palm trees and cabanas. We enjoyed the warm water and beautiful setting. Most days, however, we walked right past the pool to the private beach. Well attended, we enjoyed comfortable lounge chairs and fresh beach towels as part of our $20 a day resort fee. Waiters regularly checked on us to see if we needed food or drink. Each day on the beach we paid $19 for a beach umbrella. The National Hotel was my first experience at a private beach. If it's yours, too, be sure to read the restrictions on the hotel website.

We stayed at the National to celebrate a retirement. The hotel staff recognized the milestone providing my friend a complimentary fruit plate and glass of champagne. The hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating to all of us Especially helpful were Richard and Tatiana the concierges who gave us great tips for dining out and a tip for a walking Art Deco Tour.

For the price we paid, $200 per day, it would have been nice to have received the complimentary buffet breakfast. To get ice, a trip down six floors to the front desk was necessary. That seemed a little inconvenient.

All in all the experience was very good. The environment was clean and in keeping with the Art Deco architecture that draws crowds to the neighborhood. The beach was lovely shades of blue and green, sunny, breezy, with gentle surf. The service was very good. A couple of times we had to call for bathroom linens that were not restocked, but someone always brought them up. We had some noisy neighbors one evening whooping it up in the wee hours of the morning, but not for long.

I would visit the National Hotel again. I'd encourage anyone to check their website if looking for a hotel in South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derbycitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a decent hotel but the service is awful. The concierge spent 15 minutes to get up very basic information about the Perez Art Museum which we wished to visit. She took forever to explain how to get there and then when we did, the museum was closed because it was Monday. A good concierge should know the museum opening timings of the most famous museum in town. This cost us a $25 taxi getting there, and then an hour and a half on public transport getting back. When we complained, the smug check out guy couldn't even bring himself to apologize. Never going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessicaMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was good! And it's near by ocean but service needs to be better! I didn't like service at all!!!
We went to beach and I ask towels but their wasn't any towels as he said. Man who was working there He said its already about 5pm and they out of towels. so???
they do Close at 6:30pm
And I ask him can we get from the hotel regular towels he said they don't allow that. But they still did charge me for the Towels.
And I didn't like manager who is working breakfast time he is not nice I don't know why.maybe he didn't like us.
Next time , next time I'll go different place for sure!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Shikapai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you enjoy art deco hotels this is one of the best. Beautifully appointed public areas and rooms, although rooms are somewhat on the small side. On check-in the front desk staff member clearly struggled with the English language. Probably not the best place to place such a recruit. The bell staff/porters are the strong feature of the service side of this hotel. Other areas were not so strong. Superb pools and very close to restaurants and related facilities in South Beach-only a short walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caplink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just finished 10 days in south Florida, 8 at The National. What a beautiful hotel. Prime location - close to Lincoln Road, great restaurants (OLA), a fantastic pool (the pool just off the restaurant is 204ft long - a true classic; beautiful Art Deco decor and a staff that cares (Special thanks to Karen, Richard, Armando, Michelle, Brian and Elvan), this hotel is a gem and a "must stay" for my next trip. Oh, btw - immaculately clean!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I really liked everything about this hotel. Location was great close to the beach and Lincoln rd. The service was really good and the staff friendly. Rooms were very clean, nicee decorated and stylish, bed was so comfortable. I had breakfast included, the breakfast was really good and it was a beautiful view sitting out on the terrace eating it at sunrise. There is a heated pool and a non heated pool. The cooler one was nice to go in when it was a hot day and when sun was going down it was amazing to have the heated pool to swim in. There was a pool bar and you could also order food. The beach was a few steps away with sun beds and they also gave you towels. What makes me not give excellent on the review is that i found the drinks not very well made at times, I expected more since they were so expensive, and because the air conditioning in the room was noisy (as in many other hotels in the US). I would absolutely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Sagamore
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Miami Beach

Property: National Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in South Beach's celebrated Art Deco neighborhood, our oceanfront resort evokes cinematic elegance, boasting 116 newly designed city and direct ocean view guestrooms in our Historic Tower, and 36 luxurious cabanas and suites, skirted alongside native tropical palm trees and the city's longest infinity-edge pool. Fully restored in 2014, the hotel was recognized by "Historic Hotels of America" for maintaining its architectural authenticity while bringing subtle and sophisticated elements of contemporary design for the discerning traveler. The National Hotel's Tamara Bistro, among other unique onsite venues, offers old Gatsby glamour with New World fusion cuisine. We invite you to visit Miami Beach's 30s and 40s classic era of grace, elegance and style at the National Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your National Hotel Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Miami Beach
National Hotel Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing