We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“found our home away from home”
Review of Hotel Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ocean
Ranked #173 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were happily surprised by the superb management and attention to detail that we experienced. Everyone treated us like royalty. Ellie at the front desk was particularly helpful.
Her recommendations were thoughtful; everywhere we went and everything we did was genuinely memorable. The Hotel is a diamond in the rough that provides lots of value and the "best" location. We will always remember this as our best anniversary ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleyda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Highly recommend it very friendly and helpful staff especially Ellis. Even though te weather was iffy their accommodation made the trip enjoyable. Staff was friendly and courteous. Coffee Juice and cookies available throughout the day was an added bonus

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We bought this through a Groupon Deal for our anniversary. I called and talked Yulima and asked her if it was possible to upgrade to a ocean view without hesitation she said "Of Course!" and the upgrade was complimentary. Our stay there was wonderful, the location is the best. The room was clean and welcoming. We loved every minute. We are definitely going to stay at Hotel Ocean again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RShaw1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Ellie at the front desk goes the "extra mile"; she's a great ambassador for Hotel.
It's a great location with great rooms and best management; it's the best Hotel we've stayed at on South Beach (we've been 4 times @ year for the past 3)

Room Tip: the PH is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here in the past and we are now just planning another stay for the end of this month hopefully. Very well kept, clean and close to everything in South Beach area. Directly across from Ocean. Very nice area outside sitting to enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is dated and unclean. The hotel room floors were slanting. The queen size mattress was on a king size box spring. The furniture was scuffed and dated. The shower stall was in need of re-grouting and there was long black hair on the wall and shower floor. There was no grout/calking for the sink taps so the handles moved back and forth freely. We couldn't open the mini-fridge door properly because it rubbed on the sloping floor. Our overall impression - unclean and in poor condition.

Our 'city view' room actually looked out over the courtyard where music played until after midnight. We love music, but, the walls were paper-thin and the techno music was so loud it sounded like we were playing it in our room. People disagreeing several rooms away from us could be heard without effort. When parties and fighting occurred overnight, management took no action. In fact, when contacted on our final night, staff debated about whose turn it was to deal with any problems. Poor management practices=poor customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - there are no 'good' rooms. Stay here only if you have a super low exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CanadianSteelCurtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have stayed in the hotel twice now and love it. Rooms, decor and staff excellent. Great location as in the middle of all the action on Ocean Drive. Only issue is the noise of the partying throngs outside of the hotel as well the varying entertainment offered by the hotel and its nearby neighbors. This is SoBe so can be expected....great hotel but beware of the local noise!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Kent Hotel
#87 of 214 in Miami Beach
944 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#112 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,850 reviews
Seagull Hotel Miami Beach
#143 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#75 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,652 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#81 of 214 in Miami Beach
545 reviews
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#132 of 214 in Miami Beach
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean

Address: 1230 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#109 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £91 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with chic modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Miami Beach
Ocean Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing