We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Art Deco hotel on ocean drive.”
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #135 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband & I just got back from this hotel from our honeymoon. The hotel it's self is beautiful & has lots of character as it has been kept in its original Art Deco theme. It is located on ocean drive and the white sand beach & clear blue sea is just across the street. The staff were wonderful and done everything they possibly could to make our stay perfect. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any one thinking of going to south beach, and if in the future we return would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine A, Director of Operations at The Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach. We are excited to learn that our hotel was your honeymoon destination. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for one night. The room was okay - wasn't very clean, but wasn't too shabby either. The bathroom, though, was terrible. Cramped and not clean at all - the tub was visibly dirty. The staff was average as well. The only upsides to the stay were the free chairs at South Beach, the free beach towels and the proximity to the beach. The hotel does have a pool but I didn't use it, so cannot comment on that.

Had chosen this hotel after reading the mostly positive reviews here, but definitely let down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCHotelManager, Operations Manager at The Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Park Central Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your overall stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the different departments throughout the Hotel. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

One of Ocean Drives most charming art-deco hotels. The covered terrace a great setting for captivating people watching. Inside translucent drapes, impossibly high ceilings with floors covered in terrazzo creates an impression you have stepped back in time.

A speedy checkin at reception, plenty of staff keen to help. Swimming pool + beach/ocean across the street ++ free high speed wifi (with no limits) +++ excellent air conditioning (already on when we arrived so the room was nice and cool and not limited to having a key in a slot just inside the door, this meant we could go out and leave the air-con on) ++++ clean white bed covers and sheets, clean towels, mini-bar and 42" TV. In keeping with the 30's feel so too are the furniture, bathroom and art in the room and passage.

The hotel also has a quiet roof-top sun deck, but it is at the back of the hotel and no real front view of the fabulous Ocean Drive, however. On the street a myriad of restaurants and places to eat all with very annoying restaurant table hustlers trying to sell their $9.95 breakfast or lunch special.

I warning to all don't be fooled or tricked by other restaurants on the street. A couple of burgers and two drinks can end up costing you over $100. The hotel has its own dining options which are excellent. Park Central Cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner or the fabulous Quinn's Restaurant food by Gerry Quinn, tastes of local produce and menu creations mixed with his passion of seafood and guava, mango and papaya of South Florida.

Remember I can't stress enough, when ordering from menus, at restaurants in Miami ... If there is no price, then ask first ... Unless you are rich and don't care!

This oceanfront Art Deco gem is worth a stay. I will be back when next in Miami.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCHotelManager, Operations Manager at The Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking a moment to review The Park Central Hotel. I am delighted to know about your remarkable stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel is unique in every aspect of the "Historical" hotels on South Beach. Eventho they are under New Ownership, so far they have maintained the high standard that we've come to love. We have come to know JC the Concierge and Lian as the faces of The Park Central Hotel. The rest of the staff as well live up to every visit to this hotel. The hotel is located in the quiet end of Ocean Drive. The only change I have seen so far is the parking option. All valet right now compared to self parking at the public gargage with pass key for half the cost. If you want a taste of "Old South Beach" in this is the hotel. Check out Quinn's and the The Park Central Cafe for great food.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to JC Jimenez for all of the restaurants,spas and tours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallensr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCHotelManager, Operations Manager at The Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Park Central Hotel. JC, Lian and the rest of the staff will be certainly recognized for their nonstop passion to serve our returning guests. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and polite. Especially J.C Jimenez the concierge and the house keeper Carida. Both were so friendly. I loved the cafeteria, they have the best coffee. I consider their coffee to be one of the best. I love that the beach is right across from the hotel. Everything you need is in walking distance, from restaurants to shopping stores. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCHotelManager, Operations Manager at The Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Park Central Hotel. Our team members JC and Caridad will be acknowledged for their amazing service. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

First off the location is PERFECT. We walked across Ocean drive to the beach several times a day. The front desk guy (Rudy??) was AMAZING, professional and took care of anything I needed. My son had a great time, dinner in the resturant was also amazing. The entire staff went above and beyond my expectations.
Yes the hotel is in the Art Deco section and the decor and experience were in time so if your used to the Hilton or Holiday in you will be "camping" by comparison but TOTALLY worth it!!
The only down side was the AC, the lack of any cool air and they are LOUD. I didn't think the nightlife downstairs was bad at all but the AC was just as other reviews had stated it.
I would definetly go back due to the outstanding service but I would never go back in AUG. That was definetly humid (coming from Cali its a shock) But the hotel was beautiful and again the staff...just perfect. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCHotelManager, Operations Manager at The Park Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Central Hotel Miami Beach. Rudy will certainly be recognized for his amazing service. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to serving you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here end of July with my boyfriend. It was his first time in Miami so I wanted him to have the experience of staying on Ocean Drive in the middle of everything. Upon arrival early at 11:30am we were able to check in which I was very happy about. Staff was very friendly & helpful. One guy (forgot his name) gave us some suggestions on dining & nightlife. Hotel room was just ok, pretty dated but it was clean. Small art deco style bathroom which is typical in SOBE. There is only 1 elevator & it's tiny so I expected to have to wait a long time to get upstairs but we were fine. Actually took the stairs mostly since we were 1 level up from the lobby. Pretty small pool area but nice. Pool itself is only a bit over 5` deep but good to wade around in. You get FREE beach chairs from 9-5 every day which is a really good perk. Great location. Overall we had a good experience here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaylizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#124 of 212 in Miami Beach
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardozo Hotel
Cardozo Hotel
#145 of 212 in Miami Beach
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#83 of 212 in Miami Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £83 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach
The Park Central Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing