We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #128 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Troy, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was our first time on South Beach and Ocean Drive. My wife and I left there yesterday, 13 June 2014. Had a 5th floor room overlooking the ocean, Ocean Drive and beach. The concierge were extremely helpful and accommodating. Allison was fantastic in getting us a great room for our 25th wedding anniversary and even provided a complimentary bottle of champagne which was in our room waiting on us when we arrived. Such a special touch that helped make our anniversary even more special. Thank you Allison! The hotel is a wonderful place, reminescent of years gone by. Do not expect updates or remodeling of the rooms from this hotel, only maintenance and upkeep. Which makes this hotel even more special by maintaining the nostalgia of yesteryear. I would not think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: If you aren't on a tight budget, spring for an upper floor ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    587
    249
    85
    70
See reviews for
150
660
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Front desk clerks were for the most part very curt and brusque when asked about breakfast vouchers and a later checkout time, and almost purposefully, it seems, non-smiling. It's not very welcoming.
The room cleaning lady/staff seemed very nice and for the most part did a good job, but, find it hard to communicate, i.e. when a shower cap is needed, etc. ...never got it!
The concierge was asked about a rental car and he got back to us with an offer for a compact for $80/day from a place called Alme (?). I never heard of it. Too steep. As I called rental companies (Enterprise and Budget) in the lobby, he would periodically get back to me with counter offers: $75, $70, $65. Well, I got budget to offer a Toyota Camry for $123.22 for four days total, $30.81 per day!!!!...I'm looking at a printout of my credit card purchases at this very moment. Well HIS service charge is just too steep. But, it also sends a very bad message to guests about how they can, and if possible will get ripped off .
The doormen/bellhops were very professional, kind and helpful.
The staff at breakfast were also excellent...professional, courteous, and helpful, especially Cybal. I'm not sure how to spell her name. And the busboy. I feel bad that I forgot his name but again, he was excellent too.
The quality of staff and the policies and practices of the Hotel seems to have changed over the years my girlfriend and I have been coming to South Beach and staying at The Park Central Hotel. That's a shame as I thoroughly enjoy South Beach and have in the past, Park Central
Oh, the pool was a delight on these hot and humid days. I had to ask for the music to be turned on . The very helpful//professional bellhop/doorman (sorry I don't know his name) made it happen. My girlfriend and I, and others at the pool were very thankful. Why do they need guests to remind them?

Room Tip: What spa? Most rooms have do not face the Ocean. Most rooms face the one side facing the pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rmrwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place is in a great location on South Beach. You have access to all bars and clubs like Wet Willies and Fat Tuesday and all the clubs on Washington st within a very short walking distance. The rooms in the hotel are very spacious and I had a room with a view to the pool which made it even better. The roof deck where you can lay out and have some drinks is very nice too. The only set back about the hotel is that it is a little old.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window facing the pool or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Park Central Hotel gives you the feeling of Miami Beach of yesteryear. The staff is very polite and courteous to everyone. The hotel sets on the lower end of Ocean Drive and offers a very quiet opportunity to enjoy South Beach. It offers easy access to the beach and 2 beach chairs to go along with your beach day. They offer great food as well at Quinn's and the Park Central Cafe. You will find yourself feeling like its home away from home. Make sure you meet JC and Ian, they are Park Central at its best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rallensr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stopped at the restaurant ( well got accosted as we were passing ) and had a fantastic meal - I choose the special seafood pasta and it has been the best $20 I have spent in Miami - added to that the drinks were 2 for 1 .
The tuna with sticky rice and the parperdelle were the other meals and everyone said how nice the food was.
Recoomended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I only had one night here, whilst transiting through Miami, but it was a great hotel to stay for that one night.

Hotel was clean, had atmosphere and ambience. Room was vintage in decor and design, very nice, stylish. Everything was clean and worked.

Hotel corridors were a little dark and looking like they needed refreshed, but then this is a vintage hotel.

I didn't eat or drink there, nor use any facilities.

Staff were friendly, especially the bell hop gents.

beach is right on the waterfront, perfect for early morning run or visiting one of many cafes/bars/restaurants.

Breakfast was a little unusual, you had to collect a paper token from the hotel and take it to cafe next door. i only know this as a colleague found out and told me, no one else tells you this, so you end up paying in the cafe for your breakfast... Slightly unusual system. They could highlight this to you a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great place! Welcome to the 1950's... with lights on the hotel and restaurant at night it's beautiful. If you don't get a room with a view, go to the roof sun deck. Great place to relax with view of the park, ocean and skyline. Great relaxing jazz themed music at night to enjoy dinner or cocktails. The staff are wonderful! Very helpful, friendly and personable. We had Dereck, Carlos and Sergio and they treated us as family. Will definitely stay again on our next visit to Miami.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#189 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#176 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Property: The Park Central
Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach
The Park Central Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing