We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #129 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Having read all the other comments on the hotel and was a bit nervous, but all n all had a pleasant stay, and looking to return next year to same hotel.

We arrived early in the morning 0900 and they were only too happy to put our bags in the storeroom until our rooms were ready, which gave us time to explore the area and go for breakfast around the corner in the Cuban Segura diner, which was good value.

Our flights were not until late on the day of departure and we got a room until 6pm at $10 an hour, which for 4 of us as well worth it, and gave us another day in south beach.

The hotel is retro, so don’t expect the Hilton, but we enjoyed the hotel the staff were great, room had plenty of space was clean and the bed was comfortable.

There was some noise from people coming in from nights out but they were reasonably quiet no screaming and shouting like you expect at home from we brits. They came in and went to bed.

The hotel is on ocean drive which is busy and there all trying to sell you food, best to go back a street and walk up there.

The local bus was great 25 cents for as many stops as you like, great way to get about. For the really budget conscious there is now a direct bus from the airport to south beach for £2.35 cents, otherwise $32 in a taxi.

There are ice machines in the corridor for guests to use, which was handy for cooling down a beer before going out. There are supermarkets within 5 mins walk of the hotel that sell wine, beer etc.

When out and about look for deals ie resturaunt next door on left was doing two cocktails for $14 rather than $14 for one in the hotel, owned by the same people I think. Plenty of happy hours about.

The hotel restaurant was excellent but as others have said expensive $48 for a rib eye steak. That said all south beach is expensive for food and drink, so best to shop around and check web sites like 10best, trip advisor, Miami herald.

The roof terrace was a great place to chill out and made a change from the beach.
There is also a small pool if you just want a dip to cool down.

We enjoyed our stay and will be looking to return to same hotel next year around the same time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    587
    249
    85
    70
See reviews for
150
660
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Great little deco hotel on Ocean Drive that gives you the wonderful option of beach or pool. One of the few hotels that has a pool on Ocean. Great restaurant. This hotel is great if you want to be on the strip. You can hit the beach, pool, or shopping in the day and then hit all the wonderful restaurants, nightlife and people watching at night and then you can be back to your room in a flash. Good for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Park Central accommodations were quite adequate, providing a clean, roomy suite with art deco furnishings, dependable wifi and central location to dining, the beach and covered parking. Request a room on an upper floor in the back of the building so that it is quiet and far from the elevator. As an older building, the air conditioning, though a bit loud was strong and together with the ceiling fan kept the room comfortably cool. The staff was friendly and helpful. Not too pricey and great value for business travel or vacation getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Something of a South Beach landmark, the Park Central is a must for those that want that "step out onto Ocean Drive feel." Cracking location.

The rooms and public areas are a little old and the bathroom are small and in need of renovation - we just put that down to part of the charm of staying in such an old hotel. Even the lift had broken down for the first day.

Yea, so what there is no coffe in the rooms, you can get the best espresso you ever tasted at any one of a dozen places within 5 mins up the street.

The wi-fi connection and bed were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone - 1. We are coffee drinkers. There is no coffee machine in the room and Starbucks is quite a few blocks away. 2. Bathroom needs to be updated, it is small and looks dirty. The tub needs serious resurfacing and tiles seem to fall apart anytime soon. This is definitely a deal breaker if I knew about it earlier. 3. Pool is small and debris on the water, you would not want to swim in it when the ocean is a few steps away. 4. And of course their printer is broken when you want it working. Just go to cheaper hotels in the neighborhood, all you need is a safe in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastrunner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The Park Central Hotel is in a wonderful location. It is central to everything South Beach on the oceanfront Ocean Drive. It is slightly towards one end of Ocean Drive, which actually worked quite well for us. You are still right in the thick of things, but not quite in the middle of all of the madness that South Beach can sometimes be. There are a ton of restaurants and hotels along this road, but we enjoyed an everyday favorite of ours, TGIFridays, which is just a few buildings down from the hotel. Their parking garage is about 2 blocks from the hotel. It is nice that it's a few blocks from Ocean Drive, as most of the traffic flow heads down this road. We came in and out of the garage everyday with ease. We enjoyed use of the business center and really liked the rooftop deck in the evenings as well. The beds and bedding were satisfactory and I slept great each night. The bathroom was a tad on the smaller side, but it is certainly do-able. I did a lot of hotel research before selecting the Park Central, and after our stay, I would recommend it to anyone visiting the South Beach area!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_michelle_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I booked the Park Central due to its great rates and its location to the beach. I worried a bit before getting there that I had made a mistake, but I did not! Yay! Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the TV in good working condition. And its location on Ocean Drive cannot be beat - beach right across the street and right by any type of restaurant you could ever want. We stayed in Room 605 the first two nights, which is right next to the rooftop deck. It wasn't too loud at all save for a child screaming in the hallways, which is a bad parenting issue, not a hotel issue. The third night (a Friday) we stayed in Room 301 and that was a bit louder outside as people were up all night partying. I recommend going to the beach - the hotel provides beach towels and beach chairs as well. I would 100% stay here again and I am pretty picky about hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#101 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#189 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#173 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Property: The Park Central
Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach
The Park Central Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing