We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are well designed and worth it...restaurant not so.”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #29 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rooms are well designed and worth it...restaurant not so.”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed in the room 'born in the stars and stripes' not a great view bit great for peace at night. South beach is loud but our room which wasn't at the front was quiet. Perfect for us. Always ask depending on your needs. It's just a great boutique hotel and the front of house are great too.
My only gripe is the restaurant doesn't match the quality of the hotel but then most of the restaurant on ocean drive are pretty crap.
The staff at the hotel itself are lovely and helpful but again having stayed in other hotels you can usually get the real know of where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmirfNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    331
    90
    31
    31
See reviews for
78
617
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My partner and I visited the pelican hotel last September after much research. We'd previously stayed at the palms (never again!). The staff couldn't do enough to help, the rooms were fantastic and the location and views from our room were amazing! We are very much looking forward to our next trip to Miami and the pelican!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed for 7 nights a this hotel. We booked it tru the website after reading about it at tripadvisor! Everything was very nice. We got room 310, the Viva Las Vegas one. It was not very big but still comfy. The room was clean and nice.

Spring break was going on in South beach but the room was in the back so we didnt heard anything of the partying.

I can truly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were in South Beach last night and we were lured into having dinner there by the "drink specials" - it was $29 for a cosmo and a margarita. The drinks were small and weak. The food wasnt good and I feel terrible about the $85 bill which was partially high due to the $15 mandatory 17% gratuity that was put on our bill. What an awful experience. I WILL MAKE SURE WE DONT EVER GO THERE AGAIN!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank dakota0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Visited for one day arriving mid afternoon, out the next morning. Busy festival in progress, bad traffic -I called the hotel on cel and they sent people out to take the luggage. HAd a room in back was relatively quiet. rooms are small but nice. Good location and view of south beach action on the street

One con - we ordered an eggplant dish that seemed 98% pasta and the staff kept sayng it has eggplant in it.

Room Tip: quiet one in back, but if you want a view get frot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Good location and clean but DO NOT let them put you in room 311 !!! There is no air conditioning !

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The staff was extremely nice, but totally clueless! Had a lot of trouble valet-ing my car and picking it up - took about 40 minutes to get it in a totally down time. We ordered coffee to be delivered to our room one morning and instead of a pot, they brought us 3 mugs, uncovered, so by the time it reached the room, it was cold. We also had ordered a croissant and there was no jam or butter to go along with it...hmmmm. Really dank smell throughout the hotel. Kind of like a really clean doctor's office. We stayed in the Executive Zebra suite, which was a great, large size, but right on the street, so it was VERY loud - our fault for booking it, not the hotel's, but be aware. Okay spot but I would explore other options within the same price range before you decide on this. Although, this was a cost efficient choice compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jms2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,027 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,227 reviews
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,279 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
453 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing