We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never back again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #24 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Milano-Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never back again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

After being happy regular customer for 10 years I was shocked when, without prior notice, the new Management,Lupe Castillo,wanted to triple my room rate for the memorial day weekend.Of course I left immediately.There's no comparison between the new management looking for small short-sighted speculations and the elegant friendly approach of the previous management looking for customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DinoMilano56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    318
    87
    29
    30
See reviews for
70
600
64
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

A great hotel in a great location, across from the beach and in the middle of the South Beach action. Friendly staff, quirky vintage style rooms (ours had 50's decor) and free wifi. Would definatley stay there again, it was great value, highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Adelaide_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Executive Thirties's Suite, which was really just kind of a long skinny room that wasn't all that suite like. I thought the individually-styled rooms at this place looked really great, but ours was pretty uninspiring. Cool idea, but didn't really deliver any of the unique style and atmosphere that was promised on the hotel website. But it was comfortable and must be well insulated because we couldn't really hear the crowds outside on Ocean Drive, even though they were right below. And, as some other reviewers have mentioned, the bed was on the firm side, but we found it comfortable.

In general, this place seemed so focused on a cool image that they sacrifice some of the hospitality details that you might expect for this price range. For example, there was complimentary water in our fridge when we checked in (very nice) but we found that one of the bottles was opened and half drunk (not so nice). And the shower gel had been half used. The free wireless internet signal didn't really reach the whole room, so I couldn't use the internet from the table or seating area, only from the bed. To me, these types of things suggest that they prioritize hip image over hotel quality. My guess is that many of the places along Ocean Drive are similar in this regard. That said, the staff was all very friendly, and none of the little things detracted that much from our stay.

I must admit that I didn't really know what I was getting myself into when booking a place right on Ocean Drive. If I returned to Miami Beach I'd probably look to stay at one of the other hotels a little farther north, which seem a bit more separate from some of the craziness. But even if I did want to return right to the heart of South Beach, I'd look for someplace else. Personally, I'd prefer more quality and less cool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Location on the Ocean Drive is superb. You wont any view from the rooms unless you go for executive rooms (2 of them I think). But then again you want spend so much time in the room in Miami anyway.

Rooms are good enough and cute in fact , all themed up. The reception and waiters tend to be Italian here.

The only shame is the restaurant. Total waste of money, give it a pass. Bad and expensive food. You ask a medium-rare steak, u end up dried well done steak, when u say that to the waiter, he doesnt even bother to change it. He just says I said medium to the chef!.. so was I supposed to be satisfied by that? oh if u said it, its ok then!!! it must be my fault that its well-done, dry and low quality meat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Çağlar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed in the room 'born in the stars and stripes' not a great view bit great for peace at night. South beach is loud but our room which wasn't at the front was quiet. Perfect for us. Always ask depending on your needs. It's just a great boutique hotel and the front of house are great too.
My only gripe is the restaurant doesn't match the quality of the hotel but then most of the restaurant on ocean drive are pretty crap.
The staff at the hotel itself are lovely and helpful but again having stayed in other hotels you can usually get the real know of where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmirfNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My partner and I visited the pelican hotel last September after much research. We'd previously stayed at the palms (never again!). The staff couldn't do enough to help, the rooms were fantastic and the location and views from our room were amazing! We are very much looking forward to our next trip to Miami and the pelican!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed for 7 nights a this hotel. We booked it tru the website after reading about it at tripadvisor! Everything was very nice. We got room 310, the Viva Las Vegas one. It was not very big but still comfy. The room was clean and nice.

Spring break was going on in South beach but the room was in the back so we didnt heard anything of the partying.

I can truly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing