We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return.”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #36 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Would definitely return.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location if you want to be in the middle of everything. Right opposite the beach with oodles of restaurants around. Our room had no view which in hindsight was great. There was absolutely zero noise from the street.

The room was quite small but this is common with most of the art deco styled hotels in the area.

All the staff we encountered were great. Helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was a nice touch as we were not expecting it. Other touches like free bottled water in the room, free reliable wifi and access to a fantastic local gym really made for a great stay.

And what's more, the room rate was fantastic value for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bebej1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    335
    95
    32
    32
See reviews for
80
626
67
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I checked into the Pelican on Sunday, Oct 13,for a one night stay, upon checking in we were treated like gold!! Check in was quick and easy, and the room was very chic! All the rooms have a theme, we were in up , up , and away, a airplane flight theme!! Beds were a lil on the hard side , but room was very nice with free Italian spring water in the refrigerator! Included in your stay is an all-inclusive TWO Hour drink happy hour that was amazing!!! Also breakfast for two the next morning, that was excellent!! Location was Perfect, right on South Beach, and with happy hour and breakfast included!! You can't go wrong!!! What value for a sleek, chic, South Beach hotel!!! Definitely Will Return!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flatl1ne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Can second a lot of what others have said: helpful front desk, cute decor, free water, breakfast beach chair and towels. Just an all around great hotel. I got the room through Priceline. Had to call to make sure I got a queen instead if two twins.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkahunachills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Perfect location, stunningly diverse and different in a very good way. Complimentary breakfast, lovey bar food. There is really nothing bad to say about anything, The location is just lovely. Prices are very reasonable for the level of service

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It was a really good surprise to stay at the Pelican hotel all rooms are different, very clean, amenities are great ( wifi, breakfast, complimentary happy hour, beach access...) and the best is the team, all staff are AWESOME always professional and keep smiling ... From housekeeping attendant to restaurant team but specially the reception staff are wonderful.... Thank you I be back soon....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 98Tahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican for 3 nights in September 2013. We had the room "Born in the stars and stripes", with its special interior. The room was not large (as is normal for Miami), but had a table and two chairs and a comfortable bed. It is true that the aircon can be noisy at night, but it works fine, so we didnt have a problem with that. The bathroom was relatively spacious and the rain shower was amazing. Housekeeping was very good, everything super clean, they even cleaned up the bathroom twice one day after I had an afternoon shower. Hotel staff was very helpful, they even let me use their phone and computer when I wanted to make a call which I couldnt make from my international phone.

The restaurant has very good food (ate there twice) and the breakfast offer for guests was a nice touch. Of course, the happy hour was much appreciated, and the cocktails were good!
All in all, I would definitely recommend the place to my friends, for both atmosphere and service. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing another building (so, not much of a view), but must be defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MariechenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Last minute booking, making sure we were comfortable, not taking advantage of our lack of energy to search other hotels after a looong day!

Great Happy Hour(that comes with room)...Great Breakfasts (that come with room)...and a Beautiful and VERY Professional GM, Lupe Castillo!!!

See you again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing