We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand the overall Good Rating of this Hotel”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #34 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Well, I thought a lot about rating this hotel as our overall experience was a negative one. But before I explain I would like to point out that the service at the front desk was excellent and was the only really outstanding experience we had. They were always nice and provided great service.

When we booked this hotel we looked at the ratings here and based on that we decided to book at the Pelican Hotel for a 9 night stay. When we arrived we could not believe that the room was that small and we only had a window to the alley with a view on a lot of things (mostly trash) or directly into the room of the neighboring building (see picture). It was just simply not what we expected and it just did not feel that clean as well.

But the worst thing was the noise. The location is for people who want to party only but not for guests who want a vacation and relax. It was so loud until 2:30 AM at least (music, etc.). We had to buy ear plugs to get some kind of sleep. The air condition in the room was very loud as well. And even if you turned it off, you could here the a/c from the next building. Furthermore we could hear the people in the rooms around us as well - Result - No Sleep!

The valet service was also a "nice" experience. Every time when we got our car back, the seats were completely changed, they changed the radio station, coins were missing, and we even found empty red bull cans in the car (comment: we don't drink red bull).

As the weather was not good during our stay (cold and heavy rains), the hotel and the room was always the last place we wanted to be at, as it was just not a place one could relax at.

During one of our breakfasts at the hotel we were sitting at a table near the kitchen right at a room divider. While we were eating we noticed that the room divider was dirty with pieces of food on it (see picture). When we notified the waiter he only replied that it is not his job to clean this, and we should speak to the manager about it!!! I mean we were staring at old food while having breakfast! Disgusting! So I took out my camera and took a picture. Three people (including the manager) looked at us, but no one moved or even spoke a word or apologized! Unbelievable.

We had three more nights, but that was it - even though it was a pre-paid reservation we could not stay any longer and had to leave...so we checked out and left for better place for the remainder of our vacation.

We will definitely not go back to this place and we can also not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't book unless you want to party only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are delighted to read that our front desk provided you with such great service. We believe they do a fantastic job to ensure that we exceed the expectation of our guests. Our housekeeping team work equally as hard to ensure that all of our rooms are perfectly cleaned as we take great pride in taking good care of our vintage hotel and provide our guests with great service. Thank you for emphasizing this in your review.

With reference to the shape of the building please know that the area's development pattern and architecture is reflective of its physical setting, prevalent architectural styles of the 1930's, the aspirations of its original developers, and the changing economic conditions of the nation and the local community. The area was planned and developed as a resort destination and was constructed within a short amount of time. As a result there is a high concentration of distinct resort architecture typical of the 1930s. the hotels from this period were clearly designed to take advantage of their proximity to the beach.

Regrettably, when choosing a 1930 hotel one needs to expect small but well-appointed room. The shape of most hotels are rectangular and do not provide a view. For those travelers seeking a view we have the perfect rooms: Six beautifully appointed suites with an amazing view of the ocean. We offer great excursions at good prices when the weather does not cooperate for our hotel guests. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Know that your comments concerning the valet, a-c from the neighboring restaurant and restaurant staff have been addressed and have been rectified immediately.

I apologize on behalf of our management team and should you wish to return to Miami Beach it would be our pleasure to provide you with a special rate in one of our ocean front suites.

Sincerely,
Lupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great little funky ( you walk thru the restaurant /bar to get to reception) hotel in the heart of South Beach. Our room was immaculately clean and imaginatively decorated ( the web site shows each room's decorations). Everyone on staff was very nice and helpful. Free happy hour drinks and a good free breakfast help add up to a very good value. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are off the street and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vansland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Booked through hotwire and as I was feeling a little unwell decided to use a 4 star hotel to be sure of a good standard. This is a 4 star only in an alternate universe! It is unfortunately relatively cold in Florida at the moment and both the hotel and hotwire feel that I am being unreasonable in expecting heating in a 4 star hotel in Miami in January. I am now in bed with a pair of joggers and fleece on trying to get warm. Joy!! Will never use hotwire or stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Paul,

We are truly sorry that we failed to ensure you had a comfortable temperature in your room.

Please know that the thermostat in your room have the capability of switching to heat and each room works individually. In preparation for the record low climate, last month we have purchased additional warm blankets and portable heaters to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable. I'm confident that had we known we would have most certainly provided you with a portable heater.

I'm so very sorry that we were not able to assist you but truly hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Lupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for just one night before flying back to the UK. We were greeted by a very happy, friendly man on the reception, Carlos I think who was lovely. All the staff were very nice. In the evening, a member of staff came to the room with a weather forecast for the following morning and chocolates.

I can't fault it really, 2 free cocktails for both of us during happy hour, yum. Free breakfast. (drinks not included though which is a bit odd). Funky rooms, great location, nice place. Loved the big 'rain' type shower. That was great. The whole hotel had a great vibe. There were always cool tunes playing downstairs and it was just a great place to come back to.It wasn't really noisy or anything which was good, just chilled and pleasant. Very close to the airport bus stop, loads of shops and places to eat nearby and right on the beach.

Sadly it rained both days we were here so we didn't get much beach time, but it was a nice hotel to be stuck in during the rain! I would definitely recommend it and would (and will hopefully!!) go back. loved it. Nice one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GemmaR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Not much to add to all the other glowing reviews:

1. Easy check-in.
2. Super-friendly staff, both at reception and in the restaurant/bar.
3. Fun location on Ocean Drive.
4. Easy to rent chairs and an umbrella on the beach.
5. Really comfortable room.
6. Good (free!) drinks at happy hour.
7. Any change? I guess I wouldn't charge for coffee, which makes the free breakfast not free.
8. Would we return? We did! We stayed two nights before and one night after our trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Pelican is a place with several awards, but they refuse to sit down and enjoy them...they are always experimenting and bringing new and exciting changes to their menu. Every time, Pelican is a great experience, and one of the best restaurants in Ocean Drive. A must!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank GerardoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I travel for business often and stay at flag hotels. I took a chance and booked this hotel based on reviews. It was a fantastic idea. Check in was simple and my room was a suite so I had a great area to work from. Could not wait to wrap up and head to the bar. The bartenders are great from all over the world . If you get a chance eat at the restaurant food was amazing!
.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gallo2297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,443 reviews
0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#18 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#81 of 212 in Miami Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £118 - £882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing