We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I have stayed in Miami Beach”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #35 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent 5 days with a friend in this hotel, and from the moment we arrived, we received a warm and kind welcoming, starting with the guy at the front desk, and following with the people from the restaurant, the bar and the room service.
The room was very nice, and had everything we needed, we also got beach towels, 2 beach chairs, 2 free drinks during happy hour, and breakfast (no drinks included) with the rate we paid.
I highly recommend this hotel, great location, great customer service, great food.

Room Tip: Look first at the web page, cause every room has a special decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will-cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on trip advisor. We are glad you had a great experience at our Hotel. I will make sure to share it with the rest of the pelican team for doing a good job. We hope to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.


Have a great day.

Best Regards.

Lupe Castillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is not sound proof at all as I can hear everything the people next door are saying and the people in the hallway. I have no idea what the walls in between the rooms are made of because I can feel our neighbours walking around and dropping stuff which makes my bedframe vibrate???? And there is a really odd smell to our room.

I was excited about it having theme rooms but ours looks like a grandmothers cottage, not really what I thought I'd get in South Beach. But you do get 2 free drinks for happy hour and you're close to the beach

Room Tip: bring earplugs or a sound machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and shared your experience with us. Please accept our apologies, hoping next time you can give us the opportunity to take care of you.

have a great day.



Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a gem of a hotel...the Pelican in Miami Beach is funky, fun and affordable! My husband and I were able to enjoy an overnight getaway in Miami in the middle of a family vacation. The Pelican is across the street from the public beach, however with complimentary beach chairs with cushions (who knew??) that are set up for you, it feels more like a resort. An even better surprise were the complimentary drinks during the daily 4-6 pm happy hour at the bar. Every room has a unique decor/theme. You'd never live in zebra prints so why not have some fun on vacation?!? They accommodated my request to sub out the queen bed for 2 twins and made us a king! (Grazie Mentore!) complimentary cold bottled water and yummy bkfst were also great touches! Super accommodating staff, fun music in the lobby/cafe was nonstop but we never heard a peep once we were in the room. The Pelican had the right balance for us and we would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greensalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to south beach

Warm Regards,

Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I love this hotel it's so fancy...good food,excellent position,nice people,rooms are all different,the designer is the same of the brand Diesel, they give you towels and as a real boutique hotel you can choose lots of things to buy ,i will be back there as soon as possible,best in Miami

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that we made a difference during your stay, hoping to see you next time you are in south beach.


Have a great day.

Lupe Castillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked the Pelican because of the style and individuality of the rooms. We arrived from only to find that we had been moved next door to the Casa Grande Suites, an 'upgrade' according to the Pelican. They even had their own "Pelican key' so it's clearly a regular occurrence. The suite was very big but totally soulless and definitely not what I booked.

To be fair to the Pelican, the staff were very polite and the next day they did move us into the main hotel to the room we had booked - and it was a huge, fantastic room - the 'Fifties Executive' although right over the front terrace so noisy into the night. That isn't a complaint just an observation.

Breakfast wasn't served till 8am so if you're an early riser you'll have to go next door to the 24hr News Cafe for your early morning fix of coffee - but it's only steps away. 'Continental' breakfast is included according to Expedia - but it didn't include any of the things I think of as 'Continental' - juice, yoghurt, cereal, pastries .... It DOES include everything I think of as 'American' - eggs, bacon, hash browns, pancakes etc - again not a complaint - more of a warning if you're watching your waistline.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good and felt a lot more civilised than many of the other restaurants along that stretch of Ocean Drive.

Happy Hour included 2 free drinks each night - just a shame we arrived too late the first night.

This next bit doesn't refer specifically to the Pelican ......DON"T be tempted by the goldfish bowl cocktails available everywhere along Ocean Drive - we did on the first night and didn't ask the price - $40 a drink!! - way too big and not convinced there was that much alcohol in it. Ask for a regular sized (and regular priced - around $11-12) cocktail instead - buy 3 if you want to spend $40.

Room Tip: If you can't sleep with noise ask for a room away from the front when you book - even higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Our goal was to exceed your expectations by upgrading you to our one bedroom fully furnished ocean front apartment located next to our hotel. This beautiful 950 Sq apartment has been completely renovated and features a full living rooms space and modern open kitchen and comes with all of the services extended at the Pelican Hotel.

Thank you for your kind feed back and on behalf of our team, we thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you during your recent visit and hope to see you soon at the Pelican Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the first call to the hotel to checkout, top shelf. Reasonably priced restaurant, valet, hotel, beach amenities. Top notch friendly/warm staff across the board. This place had the best shower I have ever experienced in nearly 50 years (sounds crazy but oh so true). We truly had such a great time and they were the reason. Will be back 100%. Dennis, you know who I am :).

Thanks so much for a great relaxing trip.

Room Tip: They are all good. Small but all you need. You are in South Beach in prime Deco location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
hoping to see you soon on your next visit to South Beach.


Have a great day.

Best Regards,

Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way through Miami and as usual had a great time the staff is very friendly and helpful and location can not be beat. We loved the free breakfast and free happy hour drinks great amenities that not many hotels provide. We will defiantly be back.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank munecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on trip advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our hotel. Looking forward to see you next time on your next trip to South Beach.

Best Regards,

Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 212 in Miami Beach
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £110 - £574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing