We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be hard pressed to beat this hotel!”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #33 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Spent 3 fantastic nights at The Pelican and could not have asked for more. No need to waste any extra cash on an ocean view room as all the rooms are unique and offer something special. Location could not be better and the staff are great, exceptionally helpful in planning excursions, recommending restaurants even put together a 2 day trip to Key West for us! Highly recommend Joe's Stone Crab for dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwana-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

Located right on Ocean Drive this hotel is in the prime location for the beach, shopping and nightlife. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I have nothing negative to say except the rooms are a little small but we hardly stayed in the room so that was not a problem. Wouls definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmh1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The Pelican is fantastic, very stilish, location is excellent, great service, when you book a room included you have also the beach umbrella and beach chairs. The only negative rooms are quite small.
Location is fantastic, in the middle of South Beach, you cross the road and you are on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francy76Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

My boyfriend and I have just spent 5 nights at the PELICAN Hotel in Miami South Beach and we really enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this place to anyone searching for an original hotel (the rooms all have their own universe decorated with cosy vintage stuff) on Ocean Drive but also looking for a good service and quiet rooms.
The staff was very firendly and helpfull. During our stay we had a lot of little attentions. Services ++: free Internet access, free seats and towels available at the beach. The rooms are very cosy and very quiet. We have not tested the breakfast nor the dinner to the restaurant of the hotel but it seems it was pretty good. Go there you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Recently spent a night at The Pelican and wanted to share this info. Reservations were easily made on their website, and an email confirmation was sent a few days before arrival.
The street the hotel is located on (Ocean Blvd) is VERY crowded, and if you're travelling by car, you MUST arrive on the South-facing side of the street (opposite the beach) as there is no obvious valet parking. BTW - the hotel ONLY offers valet parking. You enter the hotel thru their restaurant and then walk back to the desk, let them know you have a car, and then they'll have one of the free-roaming valets park your car (off-site, somewhere!).
We'd requested one of 4 rooms (all are themed) and rec'd one of the rooms we requested, which we were happy about. The room was fairly small - as was the bathroom (although the shower stall was quite large) - but nicely decorated. The mattress was EXTREMELY FIRM (nice for some, bad for others) and the ceiling fan a bit noisy, but all else was fine.
Again, the location is great for beach access and tourist-related walking (e.g., up to the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall), but you have to realize that you're dead-center in the middle of the tourist hub-bub, which can be easily left by walking over one block to Collins Ave.
Anyway, I'd recommend the hotel for value, service and location, with caveats.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeGPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Really smart trendy hotel right in the middle of ocean drive. Great location to enjoy the sights and sounds of south beach. Two minute walk from the news cafe and the old versace mansion. Very modern looking building but still with that art deco twist. All rooms uniquely decorated, but a little on the small side. Not a great deal of closet space. Very spacious bathroom. Restaurant serves good food all day and the balcony at the front of the hotel is a great place to enjoy a drink and watch all the cars that frequent ocean drive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlees80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

A great thing about the Pelican is that you can have a detailed look at every single bedroom before even having checked in. You can try to guess which room you'll end up in, although trying to guarantee you'll be put in a specific room is a pointless exercise which is sure to end up in disappointment.

A great thing about this hotel is the location: it's right in the heart of Miami Beach's art-deco district, with lots of nice shopping and resturants. You are a short cab ride away from the cool clubs and bars, but at least you won't be paying the ridiculous rates at the likes of Delano, Loew's, Ritz-Carlton & Co.

I checked into the Deco(cktail) room, which is, well... very green, and kitsch! The room was very cool, and small, by American standards. As expected, there was no view whatsoever, except for a full on view of someone else's hotel room on the adjacent building. So it's curtain's closed at all times.

Yes, it gets a bit noisy at night (mire like background noise), but this is Miami Beach and chances are you won't be going to bed before midnight (after that, lots of bars and restaurants gradually close, making the streets quieter). If anything, the only instance where I had a noise complaint was that every afternoon, around 6pm (i.e. nap time), housekeeping knowcks on every single door, to leave a chocolate on the pillow, and you can hear every single knock on people's door, which is like torture when you're trying to put yourself to sleep!

Other than that, the place was very clean, bathroom was large, and nice toiletries were provided. I have heard about the occasional roach sighting from other guests, but this is Miami and every hotel suffers occasionally from it.

Staff presence is minimal, and reception will be unmanned quite often, so make sure you leave plenty of time if you need to speak to staff. Also, don't count on them to get you entry into hard to get in clubs or overbooked restaurants, they just don't have that kind of clout.

The restaurant was quite nice, but nothing out of this world. Beach service was very good.

All in all, a hip and affordable place to stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £133 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing