We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cadet Hotel is all well!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #77 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
1 review
“Cadet Hotel is all well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

We stayed at this quaint unique hotel for 2 nights 1 night prior and 1 night after our cruise. We absolutely loved the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the location and the fine service provided. It's in the heart of the Art Deco district just 1 block away from Miami Beach and 1 block away from Lincoln Ave. Yes, it's our opinion, but we'll be back at the Cadet Hotel again next time in Miami.

D & L Simpson
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    321
    86
    30
    28
See reviews for
77
485
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

lovely hotel absolutely spotless and very stylish decor with the best staff and wonderful huge beds that are very hard to get out of! great location for south beach, lincoln rd and ocean drive - a bargain for a fabulous boutique hotel our favourite!

  • Liked — great staff, decor, spotless
  • Disliked — no room service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
189 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location for the price and staff were helpful in unloading car and pointing us in the direction of parking ($20 per 24 hours). We had asked for a room away from the renovations and we got one but it had a view of a wall and was a little dark. Room was very clean and housekeeping was good. However we did find the room a little on the small side. There were no facilities for making tea/coffee but a microwave and fridge were in the room. Bathroom was good with a good bbath/shower. Owners have spent a great deal of time on decorating and we would describe it as a boutique hotel in Europe. No where to sit outside apart from a very nice area by reception, however we were challenged when we took a glass of our wine out there which was a little embarrasing as we did not realise you could not do this. We thought it was a general outside sitting area.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again and work out some way to make coffee in the microwave!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lack of coffee facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stevieboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

Friendly staff and outstanding customer service. Little touches like personalized welcome notes, fresh strawberrys in the room followed later by chocoalats and bottled water. Before we left there was another personalized note left in the room thanking us for staying. This was followed up by an email once we returned home. The room was clean and it had a large closet with bathrobes. We were aware of some noise from the room above us but it was not too bad. Our only complaint was that the breakfast service did not start until 7:30 am which did not work out for us because we had an early flight home.

  • Liked — Location for price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uptownsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Cadet Hotel for four nights, we were in town for the Miami ING Marathon 2009. Our experience was excellent. The location is unbeatable in South Beach: one block from the beach and minutes to Lincoln Rd and Washington Ave. The hotel is impeccable, the staff is professional and very helpfull. They have a great breakfast served outside in the private garden. If you have a car, parking is 30 seconds away.
If you are running Miami 2010 and looking for an hotel in a convenient location, stop looking and book NOW!

  • Liked — Top location, great price and professional staff
  • Disliked — No views from room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rlst8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Cadet for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel was better than expected although the photos on the website do accurately reflect the rooms. The hotel staff were very eager to please and were very happy to help with any request. They even opened the door for us everytime we went to leave the hotel!

It is quite a small hotel by Miami standards and although the rooms are not huge they are fitted well and have all the amenities you would expect (apart from coffee making facilities). There was even a knock on the door our first night with a man offering us chocolates!

Location wise it is excellent, a block away from the beach and Collins Avenue (main road for hotels and restaurants) and parallel to Lincoln Road Mall (full of shops and restaurants).

There is no pool but it looks like they are building one. With the beach so close that is not a problem.

For the price I would say it is very good value and would stay there again if we visited Miami. Only gripe as others have said is that there is no parking but that is to be expected in a big city and the hotel are helpful at locating secure parking nearby.

  • Liked — Attentive staff
  • Disliked — Smaller than average room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMBPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed at the Cadet hotel in Dec 08 and paid 180USD for a double room for 2 people. From the outside the Cadet hotel doesn't scream "come and stay here!" but it's truly a lovely place. First, the location is perfect; it's a couple of blocks from the beach and from Lincoln Road. The hotel is nicely decorated, and whilst the rooms are not huge, they have all the nice little touches you'd expect from a higher star-rated hotel, and have a cosy, personal and laid-back feel. The hotel lobby is very nice and there is a well appointed outdoor "city garden" with comfortable seats and tables where you can have breakfast or a drink from the bar. Value-wise, the Cadet is a great find, and the service is very friendly and efficient. The hotel does not have a pool, but they're currently adding a spa and a restaurant (opening sometime in 2009).

Parking in the area is limited (like anywhere is South Beach); best bet is the municipal car park a couple of blocks away (count about 20-25 USD per day).

  • Liked — The location, the overall feel of the place, the friendly service
  • Disliked — No parking facilities
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbitFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#54 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing