We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy Customer Service”
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #76 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crappy Customer Service”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My 9 year old son and I stayed at the Cadet as we were attending a wedding. We had pre-paid for our room in advance and after reading many great reviews on the hotel... we were in for a shocking surprise.
This hotel really lacks in customer service and they are only interested in making money. The front desk had clearly made a mistake of charging my credit card for the $100 in case of "incidentals", and then removing the charge. This incompetency, lead to me and my son being shut out of our room after the wedding at 12 midnight... Mind you, I had a 9 year old child with me and the front desk refused to let us retire to our room, even after the room was already pre-paid. The dummy working the front desk insisted that I pay the $100 dollars for "incidentals", which mind you, was paid and debited from my account and the moron insisted that it didn't go through.
I will never stay at this hotel again and don't recommend families with children stay here either. They do not care for the welfare of a child. They just care that they make the mighty buck. Instead of letting me take care of the $100 incidental fee in the morning, they locked me out of the room until a payment was made.
They don't look at the big picture... this place is run by morons. Plain and simple, do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank netski17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    329
    91
    31
    28
See reviews for
81
500
67
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

our second time staying at cadet. areal gem of a botique hotel. clean and nice
i hardly recommend anything but this one's a keeper

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I was so excited to stay at the cadet after reading all the reviews on here! It looked amazing!

Maybe because I had built it up so much i was slightly disappointed when we got there.The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were lovely. We appreciated the bottles of water and the fresh fruit on the day we got there. Beds very comfy!!

It is not located in the best area and there were road works the whole time we were there however they didn't start early in the morning so they weren't too bad! The windows must be very thin as it was very noisy on a night with people walking past the hotel at all hours. It was very near the beach which was gorgeous and lincoln road which is where we spent out nights because i'm not 21.

I really didn't like South Beach as a place, we had just spent a week in Orlando and I wish we hadn't moved! The beach was gorgeous but I have seen just as gorgeous beaches in nicer places. Some of the people were so rude, especially in the restaurants on Ocean Drive.

Maybe this made me not appreciate the hotel as much as other people.

They have an outdoor spa area which was lovely and although some people said they didn't take food and drink into the hotel, we went in with a pizza one night and noone said anything!! And we had a fridge in our room which we loaded with bottles of water so i don't think they stick to that rule!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieboo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Roads
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This hotel was a great little hotel located near South Beach, Florida. I really enjoyed the hotel but there was a few small things that one should know before booking. Hopefully this review will help with your decision.

Pros:
The hotel was clean and the staff was nice.
They bring you a newspaper every day.
The hotel supplies you with a greeting card, strawberries, and bottled water.
Convenient to the beach.
Convenient to Lincoln Avenue and CVS.

Cons:
You can't bring outside food or drink into the hotel :-(
No elevator (but there are only two floors and the staff will carry your bags for you)
The room was pretty small (but if you are in Miami you won't spend much time in the room).
They lock the hotel doors at night and you can't swipe your card to get in (but the hotel staff is there 24/7 and they open the doors for you).
The walk to the nightlife is extremely long, about 20 minute walk or 5 dollar cab ride.

Overall I thought this hotel was a great hotel. If you want to be close to the nightlife you may want to consider another hotel but if you want to be close to the beach and just close enough to enjoy the nightlife but far enough away to enjoy your vacation then this is definitely a great choice.

There was a strand of hair in the bathroom but I decided to overlook that as the rest of the room was pretty clean. The desk had a nice display of strawberries and a welcome letter. The room was pretty small but again if you are in Miami you may not be spending that much time in the room.

I will book there again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2shopHamptonRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Despite having a tiny room, the Cadet was lovely. The enormous armoire in the room could have been taken out to create a LOT more room. Still, this is a nice place to stay. One block off of Collins Ave, it was close to the boutique hotels and the beach and one block from Lincoln Road. The terrace is really sweet and creates a really nice spot for a coffee or a beer. The staff could not have been nicer. Lots of little touches to make this place nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We chose The Cadet, from a list in our guide book, by its external looks and location.
The more we saw of the area, the more we were delighted with our choice.
The hotel is one block back from the beach in the Art Deco area of South Miami Beach, very close to Lincoln Road. It seemed to be run by two charming receptionists, Melodie and Jeanette who could not have been more helpful, efficient and friendly. We arrived the day before the Iceland volcanic ash stopped flights out of Miami to Europe. We got a very good rate which Melodie maintained when we asked to extend our stay - despite Miami hotels being filled with stranded cruise passengers. Our room gave us every modern comfort necessary and overlooked the hotel pool/spa. Breakfast was the most civilised we had in many US hotels during our holiday.
Altogether a lovely stay - Clark Gable would be proud of you! Thank you, girls!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredDaleShaftesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Interior/exterior designer puts very nice touches on many small details. If you are going to party at South Beach, don't stay here! For all other purposes, this place is beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,714 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
363 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#94 of 208 in Miami Beach
205 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,220 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing