We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SLS South Beach
Ranked #38 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

New hotel beautifully designed by Starck.
Room a little too small but well decorated.
Top service, great attention to each customer.
Great job by Rick at concergie, much courtesy from Tess and Nicole at front desk.
They have been very nice to our young girls with kind gifts.
Super japanese dinner in the hotel restaurant.
I strongly suggest it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Frederico F,
I am so glad to hear that the team at Katsuya delivered a great experience! I will be sure to share your feedback with Rick, Tess and Nicole, thank you.

I hope to see you at SLS South Beach real soon!

Savor Life Slowly,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    415
    172
    100
    107
See reviews for
149
834
121
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights to celebrate our baby moon and my birthday. We actually originally reserved an ocean view balcony room at another comparable beach-front hotel, but learned upon arrival that the first hotel was under construction and there would be renovation noise. We quickly switched to the SLS, and couldn't have been happier. From the moment we arrived, the concierge (Andres) went out of his way to take care of us. He provided amazing restaurant suggestions, set up the house car service for each of our planned excursions, and thoughtfully sent up birthday macaroons and a little baby gift for our impending arrival. Dinner at the in-house Bazaar restaurant was spectacular, even on my difficult pregnancy diet and with my husband's lactose restrictions. The front desk, pool and beach staff were super hospitable, and we left feeling totally refreshed. Highly, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R987_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear R987_12
I am so happy to hear that the other hotel was under construction! We will be ready for you on the next trip! I will be sure to share your kind words to Andres, thank you! Please let me know if I can assist you in the future.
My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I took a one night mini-break from the kids at the SLS and from the minute we arrived we felt like royalty. The hotel is everything a South Beach hotel should be - sumptuous and decadent. We were totally pampered by the service - absolutely stellar - and loved laying by the guest pool drinking margaritas and eating Katsuya's amazing sushi. The rooms were small (it is South Beach) but so comfortable and beautifully decorated. The rain shower was a great touch. And breakfast in bed was out of this world. We couldn't have had a better night and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimarie1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear AliMarie1502,
I am so glad to hear that the night away from the kids was a great escape! Maybe on the next trip they can come along and experience the pool & the beach. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share with the entire team!

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our little boys (three and one) just had a great time on the beach at SLS! We went for the beach and on that front have no complaints. The staff at the beach - Kenny, Gustavo, John and company were great! SLS has it's own area on the beach and food service is provided. The menu at the beach was a little thin, but my wife loved the tomato and watermelon salad and the pork belly sliders.
The staff at the front desk were also excellent, they even sent up cookies and milk for the boys on our last night! Our only negative experience with staff was with security. We were aggressively approached and questioned on two different occasions if we were guests at the hotel. My wife was particularly offended. After that she especially felt she did not fit in with the young trendy crowd that comprises the bulk of the clientele.
The SLS is most likely not in the family vacation with kids market, but I feel that the staff (with the exception of security) went out of their way to make us comfortable. And of course the boys didn't care, they had a great time at the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlickAlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear SlickAlik,
Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience at SLS South Beach!
I am happy that the boys were able to take full advantage of the pool.
Please accept my apologies for the approach by our Security Department. I will be sure to share your feedback with our Director of Security and coach the team so they improve the experience moving forward. I really appreciate that you took the time to share this detail.

Please feel free to contact me personally if I can assist you on the next visit to SLS South Beach!

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

You knew you had made the right choice when you checked in at the front desk. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They were going to make your experience memorable. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and they made note of that. Our room wasn't quite ready so we made our way to the pool area where we were inclined to try one of their delicious sounding drinks. Well worth it! Then our room was ready - and what a great room. Quite the romantic setting for a wedding anniversary! I knew then this was going to be a great night! Back to Hyde Beach for lunch where we found something suitable for both our palates ( me watching my weight, him not so much). It's a younger crowd so we were outnumbered, but not out of place. When we got back from the pool, waiting for us in our room was a deliciouse cheese plate - compliments of the hotel. What a nice gesture. Dinner was at the Bazaar - a signature restaurant for Jose Andres. We knew him from DC and were looking forward to dinner. I would be cheating you if I said this is a cheap option. But the tapas we're creative and tasty. George, our waiter helped us navigate the many options and made some great suggestions. Then after dinner back to the bar where we tried the caipirinha - not like any caipirinha we have ever had. Basically a frozen version! Wish I could make that at home! There are so many bars and restaurants to choose from there really is no reason to leave. But leave we did the next morning. And we were impressed even as we bade our farewells. Steve, at the valet station asked if we needed anything for our trip home and brought us two bottles of chilled Evian. We left thinking we will have to come back. And the staff made all the difference.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DCSoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear DCSoozy
I am happy to read that your anniversary was a memorable one. Thank you for choosing SLS South Beach to celebrate. We will save a room for next year!

All my best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I just returned today from a long weekend stay at SLS to celebrate my birthday. As previous reviewers have stated, the room is pretty small, but very lovely. We booked a supreme ocean view king room, however we were disappointed with the view. Since we were on a lower floor in the corner we mostly saw a lot of roof space and air conditioning units, although we could see the ocean (eventually). When we brought it to the attention of the guest manager, she was extremely apologetic and offered to move us to a higher floor, but we declined since we were there for a short stay. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was huge, but the bathroom itself was small and pretty cramped when we were both trying to get ready. There was no closet space, but a multi-functional wall unit that served as a wardrobe, dresser, and minibar. The hotel itself is beautiful. The food was amazing, but pricey, (which is to be expected). Loved the pools, and contrary to another review, we were able to access them much earlier than 11 am. However, they close at dusk. The staff was gracious and professional. Every single person was hospitable and helpful, from the valets to the concierge. The nightlife vibe is young and hip, and we spotted several celebrities including members of the champion Miami Heat. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxurious, fun, hip place.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor (above 4) if possible, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queensgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Queensgirl 08,
I am so happy to read that you had a fantastic time! Thank you for your kind words and feedback! I look forwrard to welcoming you in person the next time you are back in Miami.

Cheers!
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My recent stay was during the "soft opening". Walking in, I had a feeling that this hotel is going to be the next "it". The best parts of the SLS Hotel are common areas. The pools, restaurants, and the outdoor bar were awesome. The staff seem dysfunctional at times as to be expected, but went above and beyond trying to accommodate us. The hallway leading to your room is very dark and somewhat sketchy. The room itself is sexy and hip, but is tiny. Let me repeat tiny! I would not stay here for more than a week as there is no room put anything (no closet). I will definately be back to stay at one of the amazing looking pool villas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Vuguru
I want to take the time to thank you for sharing your feedback it means a lot to me. Although I am unable to recreate the space in our guest rooms, I can assure you that we are working with the team every day through training and development to ensure the best service experience. I hope to welcome you back in person in the very future.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,125 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,448 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,426 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Property: SLS South Beach
Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your luxury hotel in South Beach, where you can call on close friends,Philippe Starck, Chef José Andrés and Lenny Kravitz for a beachfront getaway like no other. Tuck away in our Miami boutique hotel, score the hottest reservations in Miami or play it coy at Hyde Beach, no matter your destination at SLS Hotel South Beach, you can always count on welcoming service, redefined luxury, and undeniable style. At SLS, you don't need to go to South Beach. South Beach has come to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SLS South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing