We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The accommodations are sub-human”
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SLS South Beach
Ranked #40 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are willing to spend upward of $800 a night and sleep in a room that is less than 175 sq ft (including the bathroom), bumping elbows all the time with someone who has the misfortune of staying there with you, then this hotel may enter your consideration set. They did their best to appoint the room decently, but the bathroom had a rather large, disgusting stain on the sink, and it was basically impossible to operate the sink because the handles were buried under a shelf. The accommodations were highly, highly inconvenient and detracted from our vacation fun in a big way.

I should point out that the staff and service was very good - even though they couldn't help us despite repeated calls, it seems like they were trying. And the pool areas are quite the scene; their beach area is enjoyable and well cared for. As someone pointed out, pool servers are rather tardy (took about 30 mins to get her to come to us to place an order).

It's just a travesty that the room really makes the experience so terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shrank723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Shrank723,

Thank you so much for taking the time to communicate your most recent experience at SLS South Beach. Your feedback is very important to us and I assure you all commentary provided is taken seriously so the next guest is able to enjoy a different experience. I apologize that the accommodations, though well-appointed, were smaller than expected. Our beautiful building was built in 1940 and we do our best to make the historically driven room size comfortable in modern terms. I am so sorry this detracted from the stay expectations, but am so glad to hear that you found the staff and service a positive. Again, I sincerely apologize for your inconveniences and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel for a second chance to turn things around. Please feel free to contact me for future reservations so that I can see to your arrangements personally.

Warm regards,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful hotel with an amazingly friendly and warm staff. They truly go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and don't take your business for granted. The Bazaar restaurant by Jose Andres was divine, the drinks were unique and well thought out, and the pool party at Hyde was a blast. We had a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxury experience that is also fun!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceRezai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

AceRezai, you are amazing! Thank you so much for such a heartfelt, positive review. We are overjoyed you had such a great time visiting us and so happy you enjoyed Hyde and The Bazaar! You are absolutely right – our team loves going out of their way to do whatever we can to ensure your every need is addressed. We are so lucky to have them! Can’t wait for you to come visit us again soon!
Best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The best part of this hotel was the staff. Everyone from the valet to the managers were helpful and accommodating. The restaurant, Bazaar, was excellent and our afternoon at Hyde Beach was great. Overall I'd recommend this hotel. Be prepared the hotel is expensive but it is worth it. If you're coming to South Beach it's a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegShrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Megan S,
Wow! What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and applaud the team for a job well done. We are incredibly fortunate to have a group of people who genuinely care about our guests and it’s great to hear that it shows!
Thank you so much again and I hope you come visit us again soon!
All my best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Recently spent 5 days there. Great location; 2 beautiful pools. Largely great service (except for a couple of servers by the pool, but most were terrific, as was rest of staff throughout hotel); 2 very good restaurants. Covered open-air porch terrific spot for breakfast, lunch, cocktails. Had an excellent mani/pedi in a cabana right at the pool and paid less than I expected at this type of resort. Cons: Spent one full day/night without A/C and had to ask twice before it was fixed (they claimed they were doing maintenance but didn't tell us in advance). Also, had a facial and massage, both priced at $150 for 60 mins. However, they failed to mention they add a $30 "hotel service charge" before tip! You're better off going down the street to Bliss spa (great massage for $125 for 50 mins., no service charge). Work out room very small and except for the last day, there were rarely any towels, water dispenser didn't always have cups, and one morning the room hadn't been cleaned, with dirty/used towels and cups and even plastic plates everywhere. At the prices we paid, this should not be the case.

Room Tip: Be sure to book through American Express Fine Resorts & Hotels if you want to get the upgrade up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear jcsoup,
Thank you so much for your review – especially the kind words regarding the property, your restaurant experience and the excellent poolside mani/pedi! I am so sorry for the air conditioning issues you faced while staying with us. I assure you that is atypical of our hotel and thanks to your alert we were able to remedy the situation right away. We are as well addressing the feedback regarding the fitness center. You are absolutely right - everything should be in order, clean and ready for use regardless of time of day. I am sorry this was not the case during your time with us. So you are aware, the matter has been addressed with the appropriate team members and standards are now up to par.
Thank you again so much for staying with us and providing constructive feedback! Without your guidance, we could not improve. We look forward to showing you a better side when you return!
Best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I decided to change hotel in Miami the day before my arrival since was suggested from friends, after many years in other hotels.
It was a fantastic experience! Great location, close to Ocean Drive, close to Lincoln.
Very cool, music and atmosphere all the time.
The Hyde beach is fantastic, assistents too!!!!!!
Bazar, the best food in Miami!
I suggest you to reserve!!!!!!
Rooms are large, good view, clean.
The double shower is great!
Breakfast incredible.
Jamie, the manager very kind!!!
A fantastic experience. I can suggest SLS forever!!!!!!

Room Tip: king deluxe ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Giorgio V,
A giant thank you to both you and your friends for choosing SLS! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel accommodations as well as The Bazaar and Hyde during your recent visit. We have a wonderful time making it all happen here for every guest – no matter what the venue. And you are right – Jamie is the best! Thank you again for the 5 star review. We look forward to your return!
Best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Everything was amazing and the staff was amazing! Damian down at the beach is super friendly and the view is fantastic! The drinks are delicious and the beach is great! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vdlg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

It is great to hear that you had a fantastic time while at SLS Hotel South Beach, this is exactly the experience we aim to provide all guests that step foot in the hotel. I am happy that Damien was able to enhance your time at the hotel, I will be sure to share the feedback with him. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have recently spent 4 days staying at the SLS with a big group of friends and had a fantastic time. We had a suite which admittedly was small compared to others I've stayed in but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. Both pool areas are nice but missed one of the famous pool parties as our stay didn't cover a weekend, probably a good thing being the other side of forty!! The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff, the sheer amount of staff and their high level of service. They were all so friendly and helpful. We have stayed in lots of top level hotels around the world and this rates as one of the best in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review on SLS Hotel South Beach, your feedback is greatly appreciated. It brings me great joy to know that you felt a warm welcome from all of the staff, they work very hard to over deliver on the guest experience. It is a shame that you did not get to experience Hyde, the weekend parties are always fun for all that attend. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future so you can enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,527 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,679 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,559 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,032 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £217 - £970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your luxury hotel in South Beach, where you can call on close friends,Philippe Starck, Chef José Andrés and Lenny Kravitz for a beachfront getaway like no other. Tuck away in our Miami boutique hotel, score the hottest reservations in Miami or play it coy at Hyde Beach, no matter your destination at SLS Hotel South Beach, you can always count on welcoming service, redefined luxury, and undeniable style. At SLS, you don't need to go to South Beach. South Beach has come to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SLS South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing