We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Hotel in South Beach”
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SLS South Beach
Ranked #39 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun Hotel in South Beach”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We've stayed all over South Beach and this hotel ranks up there.

Rooms are very small but really all you need when in South Beach. There is not a lot of storage space in the room or bathroom! We had a corner room facing the city so it was private and quiet. The club/bar at the SLS is towards the beach so the villas/ocean front rooms can a little noisy at night.

There are cabanas at the hotel pool (not the pool party pool) for guests and they are free of charge and first come first serve. As the weather was iffy when we were there, we loved this. We were able to sit outside and stay dry while it was raining. We also ventured back to the pool party one day and hung out at the bar. It was a quieter day and the cost of a chair didn't quite seem worth it. As the sun was in/out, the pool was never very crowded.

We aren't really fans of the food at the Bazaar but did enjoy Katsuya.

Great location on Collins and easy to get anywhere in South Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plush366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for the positive review, plush366! I love that you are still thinking about us all these months later. Thank you as well for saying we rank up there with the finest of SoBe! We do our best to impress and it sounds like your fun time with us did just that. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    415
    172
    100
    107
See reviews for
149
834
121
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time. We would highly recommend the SLS to friends and family! A special thank you to Alberto Campos for going above and beyond; he is the living defintion of phenomenal hospitality and customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Karin A, your review was short but oh so sweet! Thank you so much for the excellent review and especially for acknowledging Alberto as a stand out on our team! We are lucky to have him. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

i stayed at the sls hotel in early june, i had a great stay. We had a very pleasant time. There are 2 beautiful pools and a private beach as well as 2 amazing restaurants. they have a private beach and parties all weekend long that include great djs and other entertainment.

We had great service from there staff. They were all very helpful and got you whatever you need.

Leo DeMarsh handled all our requests with A+ proffesionalism and courtsey and did the best he could to fulfill all our requests. Which he did each time.

We had a great stay and will deffinately be returning to the sls

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amahana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a great review, Amahana! Thank you for the 5 stars and for highlighting our amazing Leo and the team’s sense of professionalism and love for top service. So thrilled you had a great stay! Can’t wait for the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our stay at the SLS has been memorable mainly owing to a great concierge, Vicky Reyes, that has turned all our wishes into reality. Vicky is definitely a plus of a wonderful hotel located in the heart of south beach Miami, with an amazing pool and a beautiful beach. Apart from Vicky, the king bed we've slept in was big and very comfortable and the room was bright with a great spacious shower. Should we mention something wrong, the elevators don't match the hotel standards since they're really slow and the room service could be improved a little but we're talking about details. SLS is definitely a place to stay and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Luca G, I couldn’t agree with you more. Vicky is incredible and we are so fortunate to have her as a member of our team! So glad you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for the 5 star review and I hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife stayed at the SLS for a quick two-night getaway. I had warned about small rooms with little storage space, so we packed light and thought the room was very nice - we had a corner room on the 8th floor with a city view and it was bright and private. Overall we had a great trip and in general the people at the SLS were very friendly. We did have a few issues while there that would probably cause us to stay somewhere else next time.

First, we were relaxing on lounge chairs on the beach ($20 for an umbrella? we thought that was a bit tacky), and were disappointed to learn they put away the chairs at 5pm, so we had to go back to the pool. While there were a couple of chairs free at the pool, they had run out of towels since the last of the towels were being used at the spring break-like party at the back pool (Hyde Beach). The front desk said they were getting a delivery of towels and said they would call my wife when they had them, they never called. Then when we went up to our room they had only given us two bath towels and no face towels - I guess there was a towel shortage at the hotel in general.

Second, the service was a bit lacking at the pool and the beach. We were rarely asked if we wanted to order any drinks or food, and had to ask several times for drinks at the Hyde Beach pool when we were there before the crowds came. The party on Saturday at Hyde Beach is extremely loud and raucous (there was a fight near the entrance and people were ejected), so if that's your thing you found the right place.

Breakfast was very good (and very expensive if not covered in a package), and the property otherwise was very stylish. The hotel is in a great location for walking around South Beach and close to Lincoln Road (where we had dinner at Juvia - highly recommended).

I wouldn't tell people they absolutely should not stay here since we had a great weekend overall, but personally we won't be back to this property due to the service issues and the use of one of the pools as a loud club some of the time.

Room Tip: High floor corner room facing the city for more privacy and space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear peterm1,
Thank you for taking the time to review SLS. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your weekend and that the staff was generally friendly, but troubled to hear you encountered service issues as noted in your review. We absolutely take the feedback to heart and will ensure that concerns like those expressed in your review do not happen to another guest. If you have the time to review further, I would love to hear from you personally and hopefully convince you to join us again. Thank you again for the feedback and I hope to speak with you soon.
Best,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Didn't stay at this hotel while on recent visit, but did manage to eat and gain access to hyde beach for a evening

Staff friendly
Food really impressive
Hyde beach was really impressive set up, drinks expensive that was only downside, all in all, i look forward to the seeing the set up of this one in vegas in 8 weeks time

Room Tip: Hyde beach is a must ... thursday nights are really really fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, james b! Hopefully next time you are in town you can give our hotel a whirl too. Vegas will be impressive! Come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just got back from a weekend at the SLS with 6 of my friends. We had an amazing time!

It was everyone's first time at the SLS and we had plans to get out and hit different restaurants/clubs in South Beach, but once we saw what the hotel had to offer, we hardly ever left the premises.

From the amazing front desk staff (shout out to Jamie for taking care of us), to the wait and security staff at Hyde Beach, we could not have asked for a better time. The rooms/beds were perfect, the pool party and lounge scene were epic. We will be back!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Amazing review, David B! I can’t thank you enough for the post and so appreciate your acknowledging Jamie and the team for making your time with us, well…amazing! Can’t wait to have you and your friends come back for another epic adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,126 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,449 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,398 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,427 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Property: SLS South Beach
Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your luxury hotel in South Beach, where you can call on close friends,Philippe Starck, Chef José Andrés and Lenny Kravitz for a beachfront getaway like no other. Tuck away in our Miami boutique hotel, score the hottest reservations in Miami or play it coy at Hyde Beach, no matter your destination at SLS Hotel South Beach, you can always count on welcoming service, redefined luxury, and undeniable style. At SLS, you don't need to go to South Beach. South Beach has come to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SLS South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing