We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach Jewel”
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SLS South Beach
Ranked #35 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“South Beach Jewel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the moment you walk in, you are enveloped in a cool, swanky euro american vibe. As you pass through the empty Bazaar restaurant to the pool, admiring the decor which matches music, you look forward to breakfast and dinner I liked the cozy feeling of a small hotel with personal attention, great restaurants and service. The have an unusual configuration…there is no closet, but rather a rod where you can hang things that shares minimal space with a mini bar…it's more like a maxi bar and a mini closet, because the bar is bigger. If you are working on your organizational skills or team work, the room will help with that…you will quickly learn to be very organized (there is no space to throw things around) and coordinate your movements with your room partner..if the drawer is open, you either wait to go or jump on the bed. The whimsical decor and the most comfortable beds made the other stuff merely entertaining.

Really enjoyed the pools, separated by a space with almond trees. Tried all the restaurants and bar, enjoyed all. Food and drinks are expensive, but worth the experience.

The pool parties draw beautiful people, but may not hold as much allure if you are 40+.

Don't miss continental breakfast with french pastries, the most amazing homemade yogurt and little surprises like panacotta and freshly squeezed juices.
Loved the hotel and the experience, will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size, except suites and villas. Ocean view is definitely preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
You are an absolute gem yourself, Ilana g! Thank you so much for your wonderful assessment your stay with us. I especially appreciate your creative take on the rooms and how they cozy layout helped you with organizational skills. Too funny! We are looking to a more enhanced version of storage soon, so hopefully next time you are visiting, we can wow you even more! Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    413
    169
    97
    105
See reviews for
147
826
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just spent 5 days at this beautiful Hotel. Since the check in the service was impecable..The room was small but super confortable and had everything we needed, modern and cosy. The restaurants are a delight (specially Katsuya) and the pool service was just fantastic. Ana and Sana made our time very pleasant in the pool. The location is just perfect. 1 block from Lincoln Rd. Thank you to all the SLS team, we couldnt memorize all your names but we remember each one of you. We will be back very soon. Jacky & Ines. Lima Peru

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Jacky & Ines, you made our day with this one!! Thank you for the 5 star review and for saying such beautiful things about the team. We are so happy to have shown you a delightful time in South Beach hope to see you again so very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My BF and I just went to Miami this past weekend and decided to stay at the SLS for the first time. Not only did I admire the decor, location, and vibe but the staff was unbelievable. It started with Carlos in concierge to the beach/pool service with Ivan/Leo/Alvero. These guys made our experience that much better! Not to mention the food was excellent! We would 110% would come back and stay here knowing these guys will make our stay that much better.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but newly renovated. Space wasn't an issue as the room felt fresh and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dare I say it, Christina K… AWESOME review!! You are the best! Thank you so much for taking the time to highlight what you loved about our property, the vibe and especially our team. We can’t wait for the opportunity to take care of you again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the SLS south beach hotel. The staff, especially Jamie, the guest relations manager, were very accomodating and friendly. This Miami hotel is very stylish and the rooms are wonderful. I was in a suite, however, my friends stayed in a smaller room and it was very comfortable. I also enjoyed the food at Katsuya and highly recommend a meal there if you like sushi. I will definitely return when my plans call for a trip to south beach. Very hip and a lot of action at the hotel is a plus if you enjoy liveliness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hot review, Anna C! We truly appreciate the very kind words as well as the 5 stars! So glad you enjoyed your time with us and that Jamie and the team made you feel welcome on your getaway. Can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a wonderful property! The service was excellent, the pool(s), music, and patrons were exemplary - both during the day and the evening. We had excellent food at the japanese restaurant, patio, and poolside. Highly recommend the upscale villa's and the "lenny kravitz designed" presidential suite - especially during the saturday pool party. Jamie with Guest Relations can help you with any of your needs!

Room Tip: Ask for the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Nothing like a little California love! Thank you so much for the 5 stars, Craig M! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you back soon for your next East Coast adventure. Jamie and the gang will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This has been the best hotel ive ever stayed at. Was here from July 24-28th. The hospitality is second to none. Very nice staff and made us feel welcome from the second we arrived there. Very classy hotel and if you want a place with a nice pool and music, this is your place to be. Everything is walking distance from this hotel,great places to eat all around, beach located in the back yard, and shopping center located a couple blocks away. Ive never written reviews for hotels ive stayed at and there is no way I couldn't write one for this place. I will definitely be staying here again when I come back to Miami.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
My goodness, gilbert a, we couldn't be happier with your first review! Thank you so very much for taking the time to post such kind words about the team, our hotel and the sense of hospitality you felt throughout your stay with us. We look forward to having you back – whenever your next adventure. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My best friend and I got away for our birthday celebrations and decided on the SLS SoBe. From the moment we checked in, Isa made our experience so enjoyable. He took care of us from start to finish making sure we had transportation, dinner recommendations, places to shop, nightlife to experience. In addition, I eat dairy free and he personally went out and purchased almond milk for the complimentary coffee provided in this mornings at the front desk. The hotel was gorgeous and the staff was very attentive in the restaurants, the pool, concierge, etc. we will definitely visit more SLS properties in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
This review is fabulous, Amy D! We really appreciate your taking the time to write and highlight our attentive team as a high point of your stay – especially our wonderful Isa. We are so fortunate to have team members like him who genuinely care about each and every guest. SO glad you felt the love! Thank you so much and we can’t wait to see you for your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,061 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,414 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,592 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Property: SLS South Beach
Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your luxury hotel in South Beach, where you can call on close friends,Philippe Starck, Chef José Andrés and Lenny Kravitz for a beachfront getaway like no other. Tuck away in our Miami boutique hotel, score the hottest reservations in Miami or play it coy at Hyde Beach, no matter your destination at SLS Hotel South Beach, you can always count on welcoming service, redefined luxury, and undeniable style. At SLS, you don't need to go to South Beach. South Beach has come to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SLS South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing