We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My perfectly glamorous wedding at the W South Beach”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #15 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I were married at the W South Beach on Nov. 10, 2013. It was truly a magical weekend. One of my bridesmaids said it was "glamorous." That's exactly how I feel about my entire experience at the hotel. Beyond the celebrity sightings including Magic Johnson, you are treated like a celebrity while there. This is the best hotel experience of my life. Expect top-notch service during your visit. I love you W South Beach xo

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator make it easier (and faster) to get back to your fabulous room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyCarvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Congratulations! We couldn't be happier to have shared this moment with you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon - perhaps for an anniversary. Best of wishes for this new chapter in your life.

Until next time,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,583)
There are newer reviews for W South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 3,585 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I take my family here twice a year. the staff are a delight. the restaurants are great. the food quality is amazing
the rooms a bit pricey but you get what you pay for.
i 100% recommend this hotel to anyone. bring lots of money and have a ball.

the beach is also amazing

Room Tip: no complaints
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodManNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear that W South Beach is your family's escape of choice year after year! It sounds as though you had an incredible experience, and we can't wait to wow you again next year.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in early Nov 2013:

We were on the Lower Penthouse Floor , 19, with an Ocean View:
The Bad
1) There is construction right outside our window. Yes you can see the ocean, but you also see workers working on a big building. If you open your patio door during the hours of 7am - 6pm-- it's noise, noise, noise!! If the window is shut and you don't go out there, you can hardly hear it.
2) They charge for the internet-- A LOT! It's about $15/day....you pay so much for the room, and then --- you have to pay almost 100 dollars more for the internet. They do allow for 3 devices for one connection-- but still!
3) This floor is one floor below the 'residences'. This means that nearly every night at 3pm there is a loud party going on overhead -- let's face it, you are staying below someone else's house...it's their house, with their rules and they can do what they want to. So I was woken up at 3pm two nights with the sounds of people who had had too much to drink. So if you are a light sleeper, maybe get a lower floor than 19.

The Good:
1) location is great, fantastic beach walk way right behind the hotel
2) nice private pool with good service
3) plenty of helpful people to help you find attractions (we went to the Viscaya house and a Miami Heat game)
4) At at the Beach restaurant in the hotel, it was priced OK, and food / service was good
5) used room service twice -- came on time and breakfasts were good- it's very pricey though. The $34 breakfast is over $50 dollars once you include 'service fee' and 'delivery charges', etc.
6) Room is large, bathroom is spacious -- two sinks, a great shower with 3 heads
7) Room has a sitting area and then the bed, plenty of room to hang out in, all designed in a black and white modern setting (lots of shiny surfaces)
8) plenty of places to plug in your computer equipment/phone/etc. There is a huge power strip on the side of the desk -- that's wonderful when you have a cell and ipad and aren't crawling around on the floor to find an outlet

SO -- all in all -- great experience if it weren't for the construction -- ask before you go if there is construction going on -- they most probably will say 'no' or 'it's not loud'......but BEWARE!!

Room Tip: Don't stay too high up, we were on the 'lower penthouse floor' (19) and each night you c...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your feedback, and thank you for taking the time to share so that we can improve our guest experience. We are closely monitoring the progress of our neighbor's construction, and are happy to provide our guests with any item or service necessary to minimize the sound levels through our Whatever/Whenever department. With that said, we are glad to head that you enjoyed our location, team and amenities - they truly are top-tier.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is one of the noisiest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in so if you plan a visit ear plugs really are essential. We have a suite which looks out to the ocean but has a car park below where the taxi drivers harmonise on their car horns for a surprising amount of time. Other drivers are inclined to join in and we had a serenade as early as 3am today. Its no use trying to avoid the noise by switching to the other side of the building. Workmen are out there pulling down the high rise next door.

Its quieter on the beach but we were surprised to be told that it costs $15 a day to have an umbrella by your lounger.

We have an Oasis suite which really does provide delightful accommodation. Everything you need for a pleasant stay - except the earplugs

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theeytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear about the noise you encountered on your stay. If the sounds of South Beach ever interfere with your enjoyment of the property, we are happy to provide earplugs - or any item that would make your stay as pleasant as possible - through our signature Whatever/Whenever service.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Oasis Suite, and do hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice amenities by the beach, less central than other hotels but still a few blocks from south beach and the vibrant Miami (Lincoln road mall, the shopping area of Collins avenue and Ocean Drive). In any case you'd better rent a car in Miami if you intend to roam around. The concierge is very good, he gave us good advice for restaurants. The service though needs a serious improvement. At 5:00 pm our room was not ready for check in yet and when we asked for late check out a few days later they said we had to leave at 11:00 am!! Once we checked in, we realized that our room was facing a huge building under construction, impossibly noisy. Fortunately enough they gave us another one. Night service was done first day only and they never refilled some of the toiletries during our stay. The second negative was our room which is supposed to be among the best : a "Mega Suite" #632. It has 2 floors but the stairs allow all the light in in the morning and is a sure wake up call. In summary, it is a nice place that needs a lot more for you to get value for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We express our sincerest apologies for the lack of service you received from our staff. Please know this is not the way we service our guests. With the helpful feedback you provided, we can utilize this experience as a training tool for future guest experiences.

Once again, we truly apologize for the lack of "wow" factor on your visit.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Being a Miami local I decided to celebrate my Birthday weekend with a "staycation" (vacation where you live) at the best hotel Miami has to offer...W South Beach. I have stayed here previous times and everything is GREAT! From good food at Mr. Chows restaurant, great service provided by Katie, and great music at The Wall nightclub. I had an amazing Birthday weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8oaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First, happy birthday! We love when locals join us for a stay, and are thrilled to hear that W South Beach was able to provide you with an energized new perspective of our beautiful city.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Even though we had the "basic" room, it was one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever enjoyed. The patio faced out over the pool and over the beach and ocean--absolutely breathtaking.

This hotel is more of a resort--you could spend a long weekend there and not even need/want to leave: multiple gourmet restaurants, a bumping club, pool, and beach activities (kayaks, beach chairs, and wave runners). So fun!!

Fabulous, fabulous stay! I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Obviously, a high-up room facing the ocean :)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllAmericanGirlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your experience! We're proud to say that our rooms are the largest in South Beach, with each boasting an ocean view.

We hope to see you again soon for another fabulous stay.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,251 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,095 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,411 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £253 - £937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach
W South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing