We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If staying in South Beach, The W South Beach is where you want to stay.”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #11 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St Charles
1 review
“If staying in South Beach, The W South Beach is where you want to stay.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I couldn't be happier I chose the W South Beach. This property exceeded my expectations from the location on the beach to the clean large modern rooms, the excellent service, the spa, the Resturant, the night club, bar and the beautiful pool, the W has it all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetailExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for letting us know about your stellar vacation. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,355
    583
    245
    129
    143
See reviews for
627
1,341
146
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

There is so much to like about this hotel. Stayed there for a friend's 40th birthday - the room was excellent, staff very helpful, amenities (gym, tennis court, pool) very good, and the location is exactly what you want from South Beach (i.e., near the beach). Our visit coincided with the Mercedes Benz swim week, but service didn't seem to skip a beat, despite the added people and energy. The one exception here was The Dutch - the on-site restaurant. Did breakfast there each day of my visit and, but for the first day, the service just kept mis-firing. Each day, I had to specifically ask for a spoon, for some reason. Routine things were missed. Two of the three days, they couldn't get my order straight (and it was breakfast - my orders weren't particularly complex.) Even getting a check took work. After a while, it became something of a joke and we made the best of it, but - it was genuinely surprising.

Room Tip: My room faced south; my friends faced north. I won. Be guided accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience during Swim Week. While we are glad you enjoyed our prime location and amenities, we're sorry to hear that your breakfast experience did not exceed expectations. We have shared your feedback with the team in order to improve the guest experience, and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had an amazing weekend at the W. The hotel, amenities, and staff was exceptional. In particular, the in room service manager Teddy was wonderful! And for the night life entertainment, Vladymir was so helpful and ensured entry into the best and most exclusive clubs. I will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammyb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Glad to hear it! We can't wait to see you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Until then,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff was on point for everthing from going to swim with Dolphins to finding us a party bus, I would recommend to any and everyone, except for the night club the promoter was rude and really didn't belong in an establisment like the W Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranlar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your five-star review. It was our pleasure to help you arrange your excursions so that you could experience Miami Beach to the fullest!

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great option right on the beachfront of South Beach. Only stayed one night on our way down to the Florida Keys but it is a beautiful hotel with a gorgeous room and view of the ocean (large balcony was wonderful). Service was excellent though it can get crowded at night when the nightclub is open. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at W South Beach. We're happy to hear you had a great stay, and hope that next time we can welcome you back for an extended vacation.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

First and foremost our room was the fabulous studio. It was beautiful, large room with a large balcony as well as a microwave stove and refrigerator.

Douglas and angel Vargas at the desk were fantastic. Made our stay great. The only issue we had was that the pool does not accommodate enough chairs for the guests. We have a favorite other tropical resort that has a first come first serve basis for chairs and as long as you leave your things the chairs remain yours for the day if you decide to take a dip in the ocean or return to your room to freshen up. The W gives u 30 minutes and your chairs are subject to be removed for someone else..I would suggest they add some more space or change the 30 minute issue. We did than find ourselves needing to reserve a cabana for the next day to ensure use of the pool but unfortunately the weather was extremely poor. The hotel was considerate enough to not charge us for the cabana due to inclement conditions. With all that said I just want to thank the helpful staff and also make sure people are aware of the pool "issues" so you can make informed decisions on where you stay..

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Et244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate your feedback. While we do our best to ensure every guest has access to a pool chair, we do sometimes have to open up chairs to other guests when they have been left unattended for more than 30 minutes. This is to ensure a flawless, fair WET Deck experience for all of our valued guests. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Its our fourth time here and continually impresses!
Two people in particular to seek out.....
At pool Bibi is wonderful. She totally makes you feel special and has all the pool guys working hard to make sure you get best chairs and are comfortable all day long. One day she will be the hotel manager!
At front desk ask for Matt, truly professional and helpful 100% of the time
They never give him a day off .....and its easy to see why .....he is great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us! We can't wait to share your compliments with our team. Hope to see you soon!

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach
W South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing