We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip choice for Hip Area!”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Hip choice for Hip Area!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice spacious rooms; most that are actually mini suite apartments. Newer property located just a bit north of the central area of South Beach. Rooms get a bit of wear and tear but still nice. Small balconies with seating a big plus. On the beach with lovely beach service, for a fee. Most everything is fee centric so be prepared. Fully amenitized from signature restaurants, spa, gym, bars, pools, and beach access. Higher floors have nice views and are quieter. Bar is quite the scene on weekends. Fun people watching as well. Service is good but can be a bit rushed and surly.

Room Tip: Ask for southern views on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
It was our pleasure to have you. We're pleased to share that we will soon be refreshing our guest rooms, and look forward to having you back so you can personally see the difference. Hope to see you soon!

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,417
    597
    252
    131
    148
See reviews for
640
1,384
152
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The best thing about the W South Beach wasn't the prime location, trendy decor, clean comfortable room, toiletries (Bliss brand shampoos and lotions and useful extras like makeup remover), the free upgrade I got to a room with a beach view or the friendly and eagerly helpful valets and door men. The best thing about the W South Beach was the email I received from Rick Ueno (GM) after I filled out a survey about my stay.

After checking out, I got an email from Starwood Hotels asking me to give feedback about my stay at the W. As a Starwood Preferred Guest, I figured I might as well participate in the survey even though I suspected my responses would most likely be sent off into the “Twilight Zone,” as many customer surveys are-- never to be read or seen of again. Surprisingly, I was wrong.

Just a day or two after submitting my survey, I got a personal email from Rick Ueno addressing the one and only negative aspect of my stay which I’d identified in my survey-- $14.95/day internet access in my room (I've stayed at cheaper hotels like Hampton Inn where internet is ALWAYS free!). Rick told me that he was going to refund the fee I had incurred for the internet service and to save his email and let him know next time I stay at the hotel so he can add "special GM touches" to my next stay.

This to me is a shining example of what good, responsive, respectful customer service looks like and it's what will make my stay at the W one that’ll stand out in my mind for a long time. With so many options for hotels, it's careful and attentive customer care that makes all the difference when deciding between companies. Thank you Rick, for making me feel HEARD and for making the W South Beach my new go-to when visiting Miami!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Our guests' 110% satisfaction is always our top priority. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, as we personally read all feedback and are constantly looking for ways to bring our service to an even higher level of luxury.

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the W with our 3 children on our way to the Caribbean and again on our trip home at the end of our vacation. We enjoyed our stay both nights. We had 2 beautiful rooms with amazing views of the beach and surrounding area each stay. The staff provided exceptional service. We needed a roll-away bed for our kids' room. When I requested it and found out it was $75 I was shocked and turned it down. The woman helping me at the front desk immediately offered to comp it for me. This was impressive service. While on vacation in the caribbean I broke my back water skiing. I was in incredible pain during our return trip. Isaac Augustama noticed and was quick to offer an ice pack as well as an electric kettle and towels so I could apply both ice and heat. They were delivered to my room within minutes. The care and concern were above and beyond my expectations.

Room Tip: High floors have great views of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Our team is always ready and willing to go the extra mile for our guests, and we're so pleased that we were able to assist with ice packs and an electric kettle for your back pain. We hope you were able to enjoy your South Beach vacation in comfort, and hope you feel better soon!

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West palm beach, fl
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Always love staying at the W. However the south beach location is a specifically wonderful and unique W - great room, pool, meals, service and this time I stayed, I visited and enjoyed the bar and club, The Wall.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrost03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We appreciate your continued loyalty to W South Beach. It's our pleasure to make each one of your stays special, and we can't wait to have you back for another amazing getaway.

Until then,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

All over a good place to vacation, took the niece and nephew and the staff was so great with them, they kept them entertained and the beaches were beautiful. I will be back. Only minus was parking, because other vacationers would try to park there to get to the beach even though they weren't a guest at the hotel. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Next time you visit, our WHEELS department would be happy to valet your car for you. See you soon!

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great guy! Amazing service! Everyone at the W mostly at wet bar offer the best of services!! We will return to this hotel every time we go down to Miami! The rooms are also gorgeous staying on the penthouse floor just stunning! It's the place to be in Miami!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We can't wait to share your compliments with the team at our WET Deck! We're glad you enjoyed some fun in the sun, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Until then,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for a night. I wish had the time to extend my stay here. Every room in the hotel faces the beach. Rooms are big, clean, airy with balcony facing the beach.
Excellent service and professional staff. I want to come back here sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We love treating all of our guests to ocean views, made possible by the building's innovative 25-degree angle toward the Atlantic. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we can't wait to welcome you back.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,180 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,429 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,682 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach
W South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing