We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xfactor took over whole hotel+items stolen from room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Xfactor took over whole hotel+items stolen from room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

1. Disabled traveller-original room booked was given to xfactor crew/staff. We called 6 times and got a confirmation of a disabled room before we travelled. When we got there, our room was given to the x factor group that took over the whole hotel. We were given another disabled room.
2. Light blubs on mirror in bathroom broke twice with glass all over the floor. We have pictures of this. Manager said this is not the first time it happened and may happen again. very dangerous for anyone. Ensure room is hoovered if this breaks. We were out all day when these 2 light blulbs smashed all over bathroom floor.
3. Handles /grab rails in bathroom were all loose and had to be repaired.
4. Things were stolen from our room.
5. X factor crew/staff took over hotel, were very rude to all guests staying there.
2 of the managers got involved and assisted us throughout. We felt like the x factor crew/staff and contestants were a priority compared to the original hotel guests.

Room Tip: If disabled, your room may be given to someone else even if you call 6 times in advance and get an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. We wish to clairify a point of your review: The item which you claim was stolen from your room was actually a luggage strap which we replaced for your after you reported it missing. We are sorry that our efforts to satisfy you were not successful.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,082
    779
    286
    135
    103
See reviews for
445
1,324
201
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Mondrian is a nice hotel. If you are concerned it is not on the ocean side of South Beach, don't be. You can very easily walk to taxi to all of the major attractions on South Beach and the Mondrian's view of the bay is amazing. The Mondrian is a beautiful hotel. Common areas are artistically decorated and interesting. The pool has a number of areas that are post card worthy. Unfortunately, despite appearances, the Mondrian is a not a very comfortable place to stay. The trendiness of the rooms make them uncomfortable. Sofas and chairs in the rooms are aesthetically pleasing, but are so ridiculously uncomfortable you'll leave with bruises on your bum if your sit to hastily. Pool service is nice but extraordinarily expensive -- four of us racked up a bill of $750 in four hours. Service from the front desk is okay, but not as efficient and effective as you would expect. We had three rooms and check in with all were problematic, names being switched, numbers of beds mixed up. Simple things like getting a cab from the doormen were equally problematic. And, as other reviews have noted, there is a lot of chaos in the hotel after hours. We had a group of what seemed like 100 people occupy our hallway from 2AM to 4AM to finish up their night of drinking. For a hotel that is supposed to be Five Star the Mondrian misses the mark. It's a nice place to visit, just not a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a bay view. Low floors have a better view of the pool. Higher floors get less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravityFails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and this review. We are glad you like our location but are sorry that you did not experience the sense of comfort and escape you were looking for.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I reserved a private cabana for my birthday at the last minute with a group of good friends and will say from the second they picked up the phone it was 5 star service.. We live in South Beach literally down the street with the same view /sunset however having The Mondrian pool sunset experience was like being on some other island in some other country because of the service, the set up and the overall comfort we felt there all day and night long. I highly recommend u ask for David Arth to be the one to help you set up for any pool event. Truly goes out of his way to take perfect care of setting up your day along with the rest of the Mondrian personnel. We have travelled all over the world and can honestly say just going down the street experiencing all they had to offer measured up to any 5 star service we have had world wide!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddycre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you so much. We're delighted that David and his team at the pool provided you with such a memorable experience. We hope you will join us for many more sunsets in the future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have had the pleasure of celebrating at the Mondrian pool on a couple of occasions and have had a great time! Once, we just sat by the pool, and the other 2 times we got a cabana. Each experience was great since the pool staff made it easy for us to relax and enjoy the sun and pool and catered to our every need.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoy your pool experience so much. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is officially the first mixed review I have ever given for a hotel. I am a very seasoned traveler and I always expect the unexpected when traveling. This is why I am typically always satisfied with hotels. This hotel is beautiful with an equally beautiful view. The rooms are all suites with living rooms, dining rooms and kitchenettes. The hotel is very trendy and hi-tech. That being said, the walls are paper thin and if you've ever been to South Beach, you know that it is not a calm and quiet environment. My husband and I absolutely could not sleep due to all of the noise. We called the front desk at 4am to complain about the loud music next door and we were told that they cannot control the noise level of the guests. If you just want to party all night, I highly recommend this hotel as it really is beautiful, but if you want to sleep at all, don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VacantVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. I tried to contact you through this site as I'm at a loss as to why we couldn't rectify the noise situation to your satisfaction. We take the comfort of all our guests seriously; our Security team is committed to ensuring that guests are able to serenely recharge their batteries while relaxing in their room.

I hope you will get back to me with further details of your visit so that we may properly investigate the matter.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Pay the extra and get a bay view room with a balcony. The views are stunning.

Try to get a high floor though as the acoustics are heightened by the shape of the hotel and the conversations by the pool can be heard word for word.

The pool is gorgeous and great for people watching. Lots of buffed up bods and glam gals! Enjoyed the music - the DJ was fab and the vibe both relaxed and sexy.

Big thanks to Emar front desk manager for making our stay great!




  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you. We're deligthed they Emar helped to make your stay memorable, he is but one of many who are committed to delivering to you an amazing Mondrian Experience. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Amazingly friendly staff, great drinks and food poolside....David, the pool concierge, ensured that all 7 of us will return!!! Best pool scene around!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecarbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon at the pool.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing