We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mondrian South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mondrian South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Fabulous 5 star hotel with a panoramic view of Biscayne Bay. Luis Pagan, the Chief Concierge, was so nice and so helpful when changing our room and upgrading us to a penthouse. The pool and the wait staff at the pool were so nice and pool-side bar and bartenders couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast each morning was superb. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for your recent visit and your recommendation. We are delighted our staff provided you with memorable service, notably our seasoned Chief Concierge, Luis. He is indeed a star. We hope you will join us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,083
    780
    286
    135
    103
See reviews for
446
1,325
201
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for a 4-day weekend in late January 2014. After a bit of frustration trying to find the hotel (no signage, no street number, you just have to trust the GPS) we were checked in and led to a massive 1-bdr studio overlooking the ocean & s.beach. It was seriously bigger than most apartments I've lived in. The only complaint I had was that we requested a king sized bed and this huge room where they could have easily put a king bed only had a queen. Oh well. We decided not to change rooms since it was so huge and airy. The staff is super friendly, especially David by the pool. He is a big reason why we'd go back again. Location was EXCELLENT. Right across from a Starbucks and Whole Foods which made it super easy to eat healthy. Full kitchen in room allowed us to store and heat up food, helping to keep costs down. We didn't partake of any food/drink at hotel so I can't speak to that. The walk to South Beach/Ocean drive is about 10 blocks, so not a short walk, but not too long either. Pool is lovely overlooking the bay with lots of chairs, great DJ spinning tunes, and deliciously thick towels which we were also allowed to take to beach. Great hotel!!! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Request room 1405 It's huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Sasha,

Thank you for your recent visit and this kind recommendation. Yes, our room product is superb, all rooms are large with kitchens, some with Queen beds and some with King. The pool is phenomenal and David and his team create the ultimate in the South Beach pool experience.
We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I spent 4 nights at the Mondrian with a few girls from college. We were looking for a nice/low-key hotel at which we could relax. We found this in part....

I liked the edgy decor, but the smell of the hotel (hallways/corridors/rooms) was repulsive. Don't get me wrong - it's not a dirty smell - the hotel smells like cheap cologne... everywhere. I think they spray it on the carpets (seriously). It was uncomfortably strong.

The other thing to note abut this hotel is that there is a modeling agency INSIDE the hotel. This doesn't sound like a big deal (and it shouldn't be), but every time we went to the pool, there were tons of empty chairs but they were apparently reserved (for the models?). The pool staff always seemed very inconvenienced when we tired to locate unreserved loungers. The hotel constantly made us feel like we were misstepping.

On the plus side, we liked that the hotel was a small distance from the beach/ art deco district. It was an easy walk or cab away, and the location is quiet/chill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations, especially by the pool. Most find David and his team to be the epitome of grace and personal service.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Mondrian early could not check in our rm wasn't ready so we went out to the pool. Let me start off by saying David at the pool is great he's on top of everything and very friendly. The service at the pool was lacking. The waiter/waitress took forever to get anything and that was consistent through out our stay. The room was very spacious and clean. They did not restock our mini bar once during our stay. I wouldn't stay here again there are better hotels.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tinysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. While we are happy David provided you with memorable service, we apologize that you did not find this level of service to be consistent throughout the hotel. The shortcomings you found have been addressed vehemently as your experience falls short of our high standards. We do hope you will come back.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

One of the most wonderful hotels I've ever been in. Common spaces as the hall, the dinning room, the pool and the terrasse are simply AMAZING, the decoration is spectacular. As well as the rooms and, of course, their incredible shower.

However, almost every single service is extra paying. To be truth, when you are in a Hotel like that you don't expect to pay for the gym or even the WIFI!! :S

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Yes, there is a charge for WiFi in the rooms, but we offer it complimentary in the lobby and by the pool. I'm confused about your comment regarding a charge for the gym as this is offered complimentary.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in the Mondrian. Firstly the positives, excellent room with view of bayside on 14th floor. Big and spacious and was very clean on our arrival.

Secondly the staff - in particular David at poolside. He is outstanding at his job and goes above and beyond to ensure that each and every customer is having a very nice time. A real asset to the hotel.

There were a few negatives however. Firstly despite having prepaid our room before arrival, when checking in I was told that $150 per night would be blocked on my card for 'incidentals' equating to $600. Now I completely understand that a credit card is required in case people need express check out or haven't paid the room. However I find it outrageous when the room has been paid for that this set amount of money would be blocked on my account - meaning that it can't be spent on activities within the miami area.This is what check out is for - to settle any outstanding expenses! Moreover I have been checked out for over 24 hours and the block still hasn't been lifted - pretty poor!

Secondly the toiletries were not replaced on a daily basis which for over $200 a night I would expect to be replaced daily - as is free wifi required in rooms. Sort out these small things Mondrian and drop the ridiculous credit card blockages and you will be undoubtedly be a 4-5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room as high up as possible with views of the bay. Also excellent home foods and starbucks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewbru2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. We are happy you enjoyed our pool. David and his team excel in customer service and you are certainly not the first to benefit from his attentive and friendly demeanor. Yes, we hold $150 per night for incidentals, this is standard practice. We also offer complimentary WiFi in our lobby and by the pool.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Most people here have complained about the location -- but we knew where we were booking and were fine with that.
But for over $500 a night the room quality is very poor and the service is very poor but with an attitude. The room is really dated, sagging mattress, and very poorly maintained. Our hand held shower fell off the side of the shower, the tabel in our kitchenette has a large crack on the side, everything is dinghy and needs a re-fresh.
We phoned housekeeping when we were leaving our room to ask for it to be cleaned and when we returned hours later it still had not been done. When we phoned again they told us 'your room was not scheduled for today'! Unbelievable when we are nightly guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side have great Miami views but can be loud as the sound from the pool echoes up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your recent visit. We apologize for the condition of your room. I have reached out to you to gather more information about your visit so that I may locate your reservation. I hope to hear back from you soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing