We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #40 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend in early March - was the perfect antidote to the horrific winter we had in NYC. The place was fantastic - right on the water (bay side), but near enough to Collins/Washington so that walking around/seeing the South Beach sights was easy, but we could actually get some sleep (having said that, the pool area and bar were definitely busy at night). The room we had was huge - great view of the bay, big bathroom and a kitchenette. Very sparsely decorated (which I like) with a very clean/airy feeling. My only complaint - the doors are SUPER thin. We could hear everything in the hallway, including the woman who lost her key or something around 4am on Sunday night and spent about an hour or so banging on a door. Other than that, the staff was great, the pool was fantastic. Good weekend all around. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJWNYC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review and your recent visit. We are happy you found your room to be comfortable--all are equipped with kitchens!--and our location convenient. We are also pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and we agree that the pool experience is second to none. We are sorry you were disturbed in the wee hours. Calls to our Front Desk are always welcomed in such instances. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,661)
There are newer reviews for Mondrian South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 3,661 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Mondrian South Beach with a 20 month old toddler and had a great experience. The bay-view one bedroom suite we stayed in was generously proportioned with great views back across the bay into Miami. We were unsure whether we would feel out of place with a young child but at all times we were made to feel very welcome and the reception / pool staff were particularly kind and helpful. We ate in the restaurant once and found it to be of a high quality and reasonably priced within Miami. The location was ideal for us being away from the busier beachfront but within a nice walking distance as well as Whole Foods over the road and Oliver's restaurant a block or so away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KH401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you found your suite to be comfortable and that you and your young family felt welcomed. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in Miami Beach.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for just under a week before the Easter holidays and like any Morgans Hotel Group property it is very stylish, cool & hip.
We had a very comfortable 1 bedroom suite which was spacious with great living space, an enormous emperor bed in the bedroom but a tiny bathroom.
The food and service is excellent as you would expect from an MHG property and special commendation should go the the pool staff particularly David Arth and Eddie Moran who were highly attentive throughout our stay.
However, at the weekend, this hotel becomes a victim to economic circumstances and hosts a pool party for the cool kids of Miami in search of a great venue & EDM.
To be frank when we were there it was not a pretty sight as the place was swarmed with club kids out for a good time and boy did they have one.
Pool staff and serving staff were unable to cope and many of the residents(families with children) including us felt very uncomfortable about the whole experience.
Now many Miami hotels have weekly pool parties and they have become something of a fixture but The Mondrian was billed to us as quiet hotel away from the main drags of Ocean Drive and Collins.
After a major rant on Twitter the general manager of the hotel came to see me and we had a long chat about how their pool party experiment went horribly wrong & Steven Hiblum was very gracious in the face of my criticism.
He was also very helpful and I would have no problem staying here again - either avoiding the weekend or ensuring that the pool party has been put to the sword.
Memo to MHG - decide who your target audience is and stick to it!
PS best Strawberry Mango Mojitos I have ever tasted - period!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Conor,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for sharing your experience with us. David and Eddie are indeed rock stars at the pool; we are delighted they provided you with memorable service. We are glad, too, that you found the room to be comfortable and that you are appreciative of our design. We are sorry you did not enjoy our weekend pool parties; nevertheless we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I visited the Mondrian in Miami for a week's break in April 2014, having stayed previously in its sister hotels, The Shore Club and The Delano as well as The Raleigh and The Loews. We tried the Mondrian largely because it was newish but also because it is located on the other side away from Ocean Drive, overlooking the Bay and was meant to be a little quieter.

The hotel is beautiful with a spectacular entrance, its doorway framed by two massive wooden doors plus ring knockers. Throughout the hotel there are touches of additional eccentricity including the large, dilated-eyed staring sea siren who looms out of the reception wall as well as in some of the suites.

During the week the hotel is quiet and calm, a positive for us as we didn't want the madness of Collins or Ocean, especially in the evenings. It's fab to be able to enjoy it and then leave it behind at bedtime! And the walk to Ocean or Lincoln is only 20 or so minutes.

However, beware the weekends! It seems that all the main hotels are now hosting 'pool parties' at the weekends and the Mondrian have theirs too - a DJ playing by the pool from 12 noon on Saturday and Sunday! I must be honest, it wasn't for us. It attracted a very young Miami crowd and the mix didn't work with the hotel residents which included families (we were there during the Easter holidays), older couples like us (48 years) and other more discerning guests. However, we did speak to the General Manager and he couldn't have been more helpful. It seems that the Saturday we were there was a bit of an experiment to include brunch and free pool entry and it simply didn't work. So our experience was particularly bad but I have to give full credit to the management and staff for handling the difficult situation so well. I would be very surprised if this particular model is repeated (and that particular promoter used again).

That said though, there will still be pool parties during the summer months and this is just part of the Miami thing. They happen in all the hotels at the weekend and we found out that at least The Mondrian's stops at 4pm unlike others where it continues on after dusk!

But if the thought of this makes your toes curl then avoid the weekends if you can.

Another point to note, the pool doesn't get any sun until after 11am so this may not suit the early-riser sun worshipper!

We had a one bed suite which was very spacious with its own kitchenette and living area (although the bathroom was very small in comparison). The bed was a massive emperor size. Go for a suite with bay view balcony if you can.

And we ate by the pool every day and the food was delicious - the sushi menu offers a wide choice but there are also salads and sandwiches. Very tasty and massive portions. And the girls and boys serving were polite and attentive.

Special mention must also be made to the pool staff who simply never stopped and worked extremely hard all day to keep everyone happy - if it hadn't been for the wonderful David looking after us so well over the weekend and finding us a lovely quiet (er) spot, we'd have been off!

The Mondrian and its amazing staff would have got 5 stars if only it hadn't been for the brunch/pool party but we will definitely return (and just avoid the weekends)!

Room Tip: Bay view suite!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Janey,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian. We are glad you enjoyed our design, that you found our menu to be delicious and our service to be exceptional. David and his team by the pool are indeed rock stars when it comes to delivering a Mondrian Experience. We are sorry you did not enjoy our weekend pool parties. Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinion with our General Manager, he enjoyed speaking with you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

this was my second time in the Mondrian south beach in less than 3 months.first time with work colleagues and this last stay with my family (wife and boys 6 and 4),and would like to write how wonderful each time was.
although very difficult to single out any member of the kind team of staff from the valet right up to management!! i give the edge to Ariel Jaramillo guest services coordinator and Jose Noriegua at management.nothing was ever too much trouble and they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasent and trouble free as possible.
cheers guys to all of you.hope to see you on my next trip.
best
Ali

Room Tip: as much as possible try to get higher floors with bayview
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 124aha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for this kind review and for your recent and repeated stay. You are correct in stating that all of our staff are dedicated to providing excellent service. Ariel and Jose are indeed to of our stars; we are delighted they helped make your stay memorable for you and your family. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at other hotels in this group (Morgans) like the Sanderson in London, but didn't realize it until I walked into the foyer and recognized the style. I must admit I enjoy the Over The Top lamps and outrageous decor and it really gets you into the South Beach atmosphere.
The pool area is quite a scene with great views over the sea.
Also the hotels is an easy walk into the retail/eating action of Lincoln-Washington Streets.
If you are into running a nice jog is to come out of the hotel turn right towards the marina and follow the sea through to South Beach and enjoy the art deco buildings until you need to loop back along say 12th street. The credit-card rent-as-you-go bikes are also a great option with a stand close to the hotel (near the Starbucks). Its not super luxury, but certainly a fun hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for this kind review. We are happy you enjoyed our design and location. Thank you also for your loyalty to Morgans, we always appreciate having fans in our family, We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here for a one night quick visit to Miami and was impessed with the hotels grand lobby as soon as you walk in. The big staircase was stunning too and really gave you the wow factor. I was expecting this to be a pretentious hotel but was pleasently surprised. The staff at check in were very helpful and the guys at the valet parking were fab too. The rooms are very bright and spacious and modern. The bathrooms are very well designed and I adored the chandelier shower head! The pool area is very fasionable and the drinks at the bar were reasonably priced considering. Not the best location for an evening if you are going by foot, would always reccommend taxi or car...after all this is Miami.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine_Worshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for your recent visit. We are happy you were impressed by our design and service. Our team is dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive, and gracious manner. We are delighted you found this to be the case. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
SLS South Beach
#42 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,175 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,179 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,418 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £132 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing