We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel with Awesome sunsets.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
987 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Awesome sunsets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stay at this hotel more than any other In south beach. Sister to the "Delano" a( where we stay a lot also) this hotel looks over the bay, and on a clear day the sunset is worth seeing .Setting over a back drop of star island and downtown Miami its nothing short of breathtaking.
The foyer is grand with its theme of "Alice in wonderland" and its One million dollar staircase ( this info given to us by one of the bartenders) hits you as soon as you walk through the front doors. All white, with black wrought iron staircase , this entrance is spectacular!
The staff are all helpful and fantastic, the rooms are equipped with microwaves, dishes,coffee pots etc and arevery spacious. I recommend you ask for a bay view room, we have tried all, some have a balcony which are great I believe they are the suites.( two rooms) cost a little more. But worth the extra.
This hotel seems to attract a very hip crowd, this past time it was "swim wear" week so every time we got in the elevator there were models from everywhere.
Also a big advantage is the "Whole foods" which is only a block away, you turn right out of the front doors , cross the street, and there is whole foods and also a Starbucks.
The pool is great but gets crowded so you may want to go down there early and reserve a lounge chair. Just a short cab drive from Lincoln rd. or anywhere you may want to go ...this hotel is at the top of our list of places to stay in south beach.. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a bay view room, try and get one of the higher rooms maybe 6 floor or up.. as this past tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bornabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent and repeated visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased you found our staff to be courteous and attentive and we're glad, too, that you enjoyed our design and vibe. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,082
    779
    286
    135
    103
See reviews for
445
1,324
201
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

In town for Swim Week and therefore always needing WiFi access for work was a challenge at this hotel. Our room WiFi simply did not connect on any of our devices (note it is $15 per day) and in the pool it was inconsistent. That was the main challenge which was stressful as this was a work trip.

Aside from that detail, everything about the stay was wonderful. The location is beautiful and is 5 minute cab ride from the beach. The pool is lots of fun and the room was spacious. Enjoyable stay overall, definitely would go back but for vacation when WiFi is not required.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WithLoveGabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, thanks in part to our room product and fun vibe. We are sorry you had challenges with your internet connectivity. Our IT is addressing the shortfall.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

All is fantastic but we came to sleep and a hotel with 1 queen size bed were we asked 3 twin rooms for 6 tall Dutch is a nuissance. There is enough space to put 2, but you get a stretcher of 6 ft Very inconvenient. Hope a Spring Air salesman arrives soon at least to sell some Talalay latex toppers to cover the springs of the stretcher. We have 2 nights to go. Anna T.

Room Tip: these are only single rooms with queen size Twijfelaar beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. We have rooms with King, Queen, Full and 2 Double beds. The rates may vary based upon the numbers of beds in the rooms. We hope you have let us know at reception if there is something we can do to make you more comfortable.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a fabulous boutique hotel! The rooms were pretty spacious (esp. considering many of the older Miami hotels are quite small). The waterfall shower from the chandelier is pretty cool and we got a room that had 1.5 bathrooms. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool staff were FANTASTIC. David (I think that's his name) was amazing - he greeted us each morning and found us pool chairs together, laid out towels, and checked in regularly on us. The servers were also very friendly and helpful. My only feedback would be the bathroom sinks are a bit odd in that the counter runs right into the sink and so water can get on your items.
We even saw Puff Daddy at our hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for your recent visit to Mondrian. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here, thanks in part to the friendly and attentive service you received as well as our vibe. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

6 weary and exhausted travellers arrived after 10 hectic days in orlando coupled with a 3 1/2 hour journey to be met by courteous and welcoming doormen,valet parkers and bell boys. They introduced themselves and took care of luggage and car. The foyer of the hotel is stunning and I knew immediately we had made the right choice. All the receptionist were extremely helpful and were willing to ' go the extra mile'. Any queries we had were immediately answered. My older children were interested in night clubs and they were provided with a list of recommendations including free tickets. Well done. Rooms are very spacious, clean and include tea/coffee making facilities. Pool area is spotless and each and every pool attendant from David,Josh etc made us feel special and truly enjoy our experience. The ladies very extremely attentive to our liquid and dietary needs!. Continental breakfast was included in our stay with a good array of fruit and pastries. Poolside bar food was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Cocktail hour/hours were most enjoyable, especially watching the sunset over the bay. The hotel is approx 15 min walk from beach or shopping or a taxi is approx $5. Overall a most enjoyable experience and one which I shall repeat.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but get a bay view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitorsireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for this kind review. While we are glad you found our design appealing and our product clean, we are most delighted and proud of the fact that all of our staff greeted you with friendly and attentive interactions. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I actually brought my girlfriend here to take her to a really nice place before her surgery for thyroid cancer (thyroidectomy). Unfortunately, a mistake on my part left us with an unpleasant room. Imagine my dismay when our perfect weekend was ruined by my own actions (it had to do with a confusion on an online booking website).

I did not tell the hotel staff for the reason of our stay at this nice(and very expensive!) hotel. The front desk receptionist (I wish I could remember her name) realized I was visibly distraught. I was supposed to have a room with a view (according to the third party online booking site), but there were none left in our price range. I was distraught because I just wanted to surprise my girlfriend and take her mind off her impending surgery. It would be the last time she would be able to go to a pool for a very long time.

The receptionist then did something that surprised me: She upgraded us to a suite with a balcony and the view we desired. I was stunned by this gesture. I did not tell her what this meant to us, as my girlfriend did not want others to know of her condition. I have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton, the Hilton, all the Fountainbleaus, and the like (this was when I was still a minor, and not a struggling law student). But, the service here was almost like being with family. I felt that these people enjoyed our company and wanted for us to have a good time!

Pros:
-Clean
-attentive
-beautiful rooms
-lively scene

Cons:
-maybe a little loud, but only noticeable on the balcony (when there is a yacht party going on outside! awesome!)

I wish to extend my thanks to Mondrian and its staff. Their actions helped my girlfriend forget about life for awhile and live like queen. Though they may have lost a little bit of money on the rooms for those nights, they gained the loyalty and admiration of a future customer. Luckily, I get to start practicing law in a few months...so I will have more disposable income :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 115stepheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your visit and for this kind review. We are delighted to know our attentive and friendly staff helped to make your stay memorable. We are very grateful for your loyalty and hope to welcome you back soon. We also hope your girlfriend is recovering well.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Like all of you, I had myriad choices when it came to accommodations in SoBe and I have no doubt that I made the right decision.

Our stay at Mondrian SB proved to be a true VIP experience. I could not have had more fun celebrating the granting of my divorce. The fact I now enjoy heroic status with my girlfriend is a huge bonus as well.

From the moment we arrived, Priscilla greeted us like family. The aroma in the lobby put a big smile on my girlfriends face and being house-heads from way back, the tunes they were rocking made me feel as if I’d truly come home. Priscilla comped our internet access because we were staying for a long 8 days. The free internet was a NICE TOUCH.

Tatiana, Valerie and all the other front desk staff were spot on. The toilet seat in my room was rather loose so I called downstairs to advise them and they came up and fixed it within minutes.

David, Josh, Wen, Ashley, Chantal, Haley and everyone else by the pool proved to have a unique and attentive style. THESE FOLKS WORKED HARD TO PLEASE US, and please us they did. Our last day which was a crazy busy Saturday, the pool was packed with a wating list to get chaise lounges, but somehow, Josh got us situated within 2 minutes. BIG UPS TO JOSH for pulling a rabbit out of his hat!

The housekeeping staff was also attentive. Our room was cleaned and ready before noon every day during the entire stay.

The view from our 10th floor Bay View Studio was breathtaking. My girlfriend refused to close the drapes so that she could enjoy the view if she had to get up in the middle of the night. That was the only thing that upset me since I had to get up to close them every morning @ 6 AM. Of course, this was not the hotel’s fault LOL.

Whole FoodS, Starbucks, Panera Bread, Walgreens, MB Liquors, Cara Mia Trattoria (Excellent Italian restaurant) and at least 4 DECO BIKE rental locations all within 5 block radius. Also a free Trolley stops almost in front of the property. Trolley makes loops around West Ave & Alton Rd. from Shops at 5th & Alton (TJ Maxx, Publix, Ross) and Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza all the way to Lincoln Road Mall. VERY CONVENIENT AND QUAINT.

No doubt I will be returning to Mondrian SoBe. I have also committed to booking a room for my son next summer as a college graduation present. I hope to share heroic status with him and his girlfriend as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lenny,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay so much, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from so many of our staff as well as our location and vibe. We certainly look forward to many happy returns from you.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing