We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live the Miami lifestyle...if even for just a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Live the Miami lifestyle...if even for just a few days”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I stayed here with friends (we are all in our late 20s/early 30s) for a getaway weekend and had a blast. The hotel is clean and very modern, but not sterile. We stayed in a suite (we got a deal on Travelzoo for 240/nt). The suites are spacious, well appointed/decorated. The pool scene is amazing. Beautiful pool, beautiful people. We stayed for a getaway weekend, but I think this would be a great hotel for being with a significant other or just hanging out. The "scene" is not 'in your face' but rather pretty laid back.

One other key point - staying here gives you access to the Shore Club and the Delano - which is a great perk

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpark730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,153
    800
    291
    139
    110
See reviews for
455
1,357
205
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, CA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This hotel was a location in itself. Not exactly walking distance to the main strip of South Beach, but a short cab ride away. Although this hotel had it's own south beach scene going on. With a great view of the bay and Downtown Miami. It has a great pool and cabana area and a rooftop hang out area.
Don't expect a lot of sleep though. Guests are "hanging out" until the wee hours of the morning at the pool, on the verandas and in the halls.

Cleanliness is a bit lacking, but the service is excellent
Not a family place at all and not for anyone not staying in South Beach for the night life.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bntzmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

loved mondrian. would definitely stay here again. location is on the bay side of south beach, but still very close to great restaurants. it's nice actually being away from collins and ocean. and when i did want the beach, it's not a long walk or 7 dollar cab ride. the hotel itself is beautiful. i think it's used to be an apartment building. the entrance is dramatic. lots of guys helping with bags and stuff. lobby is super clean. elevators have cool artwork. public space was a bit on the scene side for me, so i only spent a little time by the pool. also that's no surprise for south beach or a hotel like mondrian. best part was the room. i was upgraded to a room on the 16th floor. i think there's one more level. the room had a balcony with amazing views of biscayne bay and downtown miami. i spent a lot of time out there just relaxing. there was a kitchen, a living room, a bedroom and bathroom. it was all very roomy and clean. the shower had cool mosaic tile in it. the only thing missing was a dvd player. or at least i couldn't find one. i brought some netflix. oh well. oh yeah, the carpets near the elevators are really cool too. they match the tiles in the kitchen. dutch porcelain inspired with a beach vibe. hope this helps.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basecamp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Touring the US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

A veteran of Morgans Hotels, the Mondrian is lacking in customer service. The room/suites were spacious and designed with a sense of whimsy. The public areas were clean. The front desk was attentive. Now for the lacking: after waiting 40 minutes for our "have a drink while we finish your room" drink, no one took our order or seemed particularly interested in helping us. Housekeeping is listed as 2x daily. Unless we called, we did not receive it once! Again, no apology or explanation. On 2 separate occasions we asked the Concierge a question. When told he would get back to us, I fully expected a return call. NO CALLS WERE RETURNED! This is unexceptable - especially from a concierge!
I must say that the front desk was appalled when I relayed these stories and promptly refunded 200 dollars. Had the remainder of the staff been as quick to please, I would not have had reason to write this review.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenjay212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Not sure where to begin. Although the Mondrian has a trendy, aesthetic design it falls very short in every other aspect of function and service of an "upschale hotel". We arrived at 4pm and our room was not ready, had to eat in the bar and were not offered any ammeneties while we waited over an hour for a room. The room was consistently not cleaned until we called to complain at 7pm at night. Also waited several hours for blow dryers, towels and linens for my daughters pull out bed.The design of the bathrooms were clearly not done with the guest in mind. in order to turn the shower on you must get soaking wet as the ceiling fixture that looks very nice but delivers cold water as you try to make your way to the faucet. in an obvious effort for modern minimalistic design functionality was painfully ignored.
The bathrobes were dirty with a cigarette lighter in one of the pockets -- clearly not cleaned from the previous guest. As if things couldnt get worse, we found womens underwear and an empty box of condoms in the closet. i know this sounds outrageous - but it is 100% accurate.
i travel over 100,000 miles per year and stay at many nice hotels. I am shocked that this hotel can brand itself as a luxury hotel with unsanitary conditions and sub standard service.
i urge you not to take a chance and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picknjigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My wife and I came down to Miami for a long relaxing weekend mid-March(Fri night-Monday) and had a very good time. The hotel is beautifully designed and situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood, away from the noisy Ocean Drive. It's not far from the beach ~10min walk.
We arrived around midnight Fri. The music in the lobby bar was so loud I couldn't hear a thing the front desk clerk said. Tired from the flight, we went up to our room on the 14th fl immediately. We had a one-bedroom suite facing the bay. The room is spacious and comfortable. The view from the balcony is incredible.
We spent most of the weekend around the beautiful pool. They have a DJ on during the day for the pool party. It's also open to public on Sunday. Halfway through the day, I noticed my wife and I were the only two people at the pool that brought books to read, which is interesting because it feels like we are totally in the wrong place, but I guess who needs reading when you can look pretty and play with your own hair all day. :)
We did not sample dinner in the hotel because there are so many good restaurants to try outside fo the hotel, but breakfast is quite expensive. $6 for a glass of orange juice.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tito_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I had a really nice time there and enjoyed the overall atmosphere. The staff was friendly, although very busy so service suffered a little bit. It was sort of like a nonstop party during the day, especially on Sunday, so if that's not your thing then stay away. Otherwise, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abss1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,871 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,752 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing