We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, Stilish, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We spent a we at Miami and chose Mondrian as we visited it during a previous trip.
We’re given a very quiet a nice room at 14th floor, with a view to SoBe.
The floor was very quiet, without noise and we could have e very good sleeping.
Room was a studio, very large and comfortable.
We’ve had a problem with the toilet, but as soon as we called the front desk they sent a man who restored it quickly.
We had a dinner at the Asia the Cuba and very satisfied with food and service. Our sea bass and tuna were lovely and the coconut cake was enough for 4 people.
Wine list could be improved. Music was a little bit loud.
As I know Friday is a very nice day at Mondrian, so we enjoyed the party in the lunge bar with music, cocktails and dancing.
Swimming pool area is nice and comfortable, even we had some difficulties to get the attention of the girls servine the cocktails.
The staff was very kind and helpful. Concierge wich helped us in restaurant reservations and suggestions about how to spend the night.
Mondrian provides you a card which gives you priority access to the Shore club and Delano.
We’ll definitely go back to Mondrian in our next holiday in Miami.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeno19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful experience at Mondrian. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of the size and comfort our rooms offer and it is great to hear you had a peaceful sleep. Asia de Cuba is also just wonderful and the poo/view from there is hard to beat. MHG prides itself on our concierge and their connection to the city. We are thrilled you reaped the benefits that go along with that special card!
We look forward to welcoming you back to your MIami home again soon....
Best,
Lisa McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,891 - 2,897 of 3,744 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2010

Two friends of mine and I wanted to take a girls getaway. We had never stayed at the Mondrian before, but a friend of ours told us that the rate that we got was amazing for the type of hotel that it is. From the moment we walked in we were treated amazingly. First they upgraded us from a studio to a one bedroom suite. Then we went to the pool and the pool concierge, David, made sure that he got us whatever chairs we wanted. For the rest of the stay he made sure that we were taken care of. He runs around to make sure everyone has anything and everything they need and is always available. There were so many great things about the hotel, but we would go back just for him. On Sundays, there is a huge pool party. The place is packed with a DJ and everything. It is a great party. We were also given free breakfast vouchers, which were not included in our original package. The food at the pool is pretty expensive. There is a good alternative though. Whole Foods is right across the street and they allow you to bring in food from outside. Also, there is a nice sized kitchen in the room with a fridge and cooktop. We went to whole foods just to have post-pool snacks. I would say the only drawback is that it is not right on the beach. However, we were able to go over to the Delano and use their beach. Overall, the staff was very helpful and had great suggestions as to how to make our trip better and where to go out. Since we got back, we have told everyone to stay at the Mondrian. Definitely say hi to David for us!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLSChicagoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2010

Dear Guests,
I hear from David you were all pretty amazing yourselves! He says Hello right back. David is such a magical person, his level of friendly perfect service is the best I have ever encountered.

I am delighted to hear you were so warmly welcomed and that we were able to give you an upgrade, we do try whenever possible. Our location is really cool, just about anything you need is around the corner. It's the best of both worlds, the beautiful pool by Biscayne Bay with breathtaking sunsets and the stunning option of Delano Beach. Our pool party has been a real hit and its a dead sexy crowd!
We look forward welcoming all of you back again soon, David has the perfect section all ready to go!!!
My sincere thanks,
Lisa McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a chic, contemporary, glitzy hotel with a special plus==the rooms are suites with kitchenettes and plenty of room. From check in, to the bartender, the staff was professional and friendly. I was surprised at the spacious, clean, and hip room with an outstandingly comfortable bed and luxe linens. The decor is funky glitz with subtle lighting. A chandelier in the shower is actually a rainshower head, and the mosaic tile shower wall is beautifully lit. There is plenty of glass to brighten your day, and some units have balconies. The location is on the bay side of South Beach with a view of downtown Miami, and the pool on the bay is lovely. I highly recommend this hotel unless you have to be on the ocean side, which is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samson1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamondrian, Public Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2010

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful words. I really love that you "Got us", our design is very chic and cutting edge. The Hotel was designed by Marcel Wanders and he really is a genius at creating just the right amount of comfort and theatrics. In addition to our amazing pool, guests are welcome to use Delano Beach, therefore it is the best of both worlds. Its a 15 minute walk or a short taxi ride.

We look forward to having you back again soon.
Best,
Lisa McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Located Bay Side on West Avenue. It's a beautiful hotel. The front desk/concierge is so helpful. Whatever we needed they were their to help.
Very airy open look, all white. There is a picture of a "doe-eyed" woman which seems to be the theme through-out. Not Kind my style seeing it in your room, and through out the hotel. Pool overlooks they bay which is set up just beautiful! Everything is right there for you.
Rooms: are quite nice. In the bathrooms there is definitely not enough space to put out all your "essentials" which seems strange considering the room was so large. Room had a kitchen which was great for anyone who is there for an extended period of time that they would need this. Housekeeping did not come to give us fresh towels during our stay. Found that strange. Beds VERY comfortable.
Pool: Pool was kept immaculate and David had to be one of the best pool concierges ever! We took a cabana during our stay. He set us up in the late morning with coffee and made sure throughout the day we were taken care of! Extra tables, towels, whatever, he was there!
Bar Area: Bartender took forever during the early evening to make mojitos. After tasting them, I understood why. They were fabulous, very expensive though.
Gym: Lots of equipment, VERY clean, your basic gym equipment. Just need the air conditioning on.

Pool side food, was exceptional. As for dinner, we ate off premises the entire time.
If you are looking for a good restaurant off the premises and want to venture into Miami try Il Gabbiano. It's on the waterfront in Miami. THAT was amazing food with impeccable service.

If you are there on a weekend, the bar area gets quite crowded quickly. They have entertainment. A good party atmosphere considering that there is little to do in the immediate area. Hotel has quite an eclectic mix of people.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ShazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Upon arriving at the Mondrian we had no idea what to expect. Booked the hotel through priceline so didn't have expectations of having the BEST room around.

Hotel was bumping, there was a dj by the pool and a gated off area that you had to pass through to get to the pool. They literally would unrope it to let you through.

Since we were early our room wasn't ready. Immediatly the guy behind the desk tried to upsell us. Granted, I also overheard him try to upsell everyone, so maybe they were overbooked on certain room types. We decided to go w/ the $50 upgrade for a bayview room and he told us he would call us when our room was ready. Three hours later, and exhausted we returned to the hotel with out a phone call. We checked at the front desk and the room still wasn't ready. He seemed flustered, but told us he would put a rush on it and it should be done any minute. So we ventured over to the bar area and got a drink. After 45 minutes, and no news, complete exhaustion was setting in. The room still wasn't ready, and it was 4pm by this time. So we had waited almost 5 hours for a clean room.

The good news... because of our patience (or his bosses approval) he upgraded us from a studio to a 2 bedroom suite.

It was by far exactly what the hotel needed to do to redeem our visit thus far. We went upstairs to the MOST BEAUTIFUL room I had ever been in, changed, and found a place by the pool. SUnday's must be extremely busy because we had a hard time getting the attention of the pool guys, but eventually we found a place to call home. We were served plenty of great drinks, and found our way upstairs around 7. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel, food was PHENOMENAL!

Had a great nights sleep, got up the next morning and sat by the pool for a few hours. And headed onto Fontainebleau for a conference..

Given the choice between where to stay, I would stay at the Mondrian 100 times over.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mford1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2010

Dear Guest,
We regret that you had to wait so long for your room. It must have been a busy weekend and that led to your longer wait. I am relieved to hear that we made it up to you and that you loved your room. I hope our commitment to your happiness was evident.

Sundays are really busy here as guests are normally departing from a weekend stay and we have a really cool Sunday party, which is what you encountered. If you contact me prior to arrival next time I will tell you what is happening that day and will also do my best to assure that your room is ready.

In the end it sounds like you had a great time and I am thrilled that you enjoyed Mondrian. Please do come back, we welcome you with open arms.
Sincerely,
Lisa McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had a fantastic time !!!!! The staff was exceptional from Tim, Dave, Holly, Laura and the rest of the staff at the Mondrian. The location was great and not far from Collins Ave, Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road. The room we stood at was the most beautiful room we had ever stayed at. We ate at Asia De Cuba in the hotel and that was also exceptional as well!! one of the dishes I recommend in getting is the Tunapica for starters and ending with the most delicious bananna split enough to share. Highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntita1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2010

Dear Guest,
Thanks you for you very kind words. We really appreciate your taking the time to compliment our staff! Everyone mentioned is indeed a star. I could eat the Tunapica everyday by the way. I hope we see you again in the future, please stop by to say "Hello".
Best,
Lisa McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Just had a girls 5 day trip and thoroughly enjoyed the Mondrian! All the staff were very courteous - especially Henry the bellman who was the most helpful and genuine person. The location of the hotel was top notch. Close to the beach, shopping, a starbucks on the corner and a FANTASTIC restaurant Gusto a block away. We stayed in a one bedroom and yes could hear some of the younger partiers but once the bedroom door was closed we would hear no noise. Sundown drinks are a must with some of the yummiest cocktails we have ever had!Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacheldeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your amazing review. I am so please that you and your friends had such a wonderful stay. Henry is indeed a joy to be around he was thrilled that you mentioned him!
Hope we see you again soon. Thank you again for your terrific feedback.
Best,
Lisa McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,481 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,194 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,641 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,493 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £143 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing