We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A People Watching Haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A People Watching Haven!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Betsy for 7 days in early November 2011 and on the whole had a great time there. We were in Miami because of work and so we weren't paying the bill which I suppose could affect this review, but I still hope to be as objective as possible.

I may as well get the downsides out of the way (of which there are few). Yes it's true, the rooms aren't the biggest nor are they the most modern. But the bed is so, so, sooooo comfy and the room is clean and more than adequate. Miami being the hot, vibrant city it is means that you don't need a huge room; you just want it to be comfortable and homely which it is.

Facilities at the hotel are pretty good. The pool is nice enough and the roof terrace is great; a lovely view to the beach, great background music, comfy beds and a decent bar service. Lovely! It would be just about perfect if the pool was on the roof terrace too, but the fact that it isn't is not the end of the world.

Service in the hotel was excellent. We didn't test the service too much (as in we didn't use the concierge etc), but we ate and drank there many times and found the food and drink service to be spot on . Special mention should go to Tony on the door who goes out of his way to help whilst also being a genuinely nice guy.

The food is also very good. Portion sizes are stupidly big, but I guess that's America for you. What you get however is tasty, though I suppose fairly simple.But that's the sort of food you want in a hotel, so it's perfect.

For me however, the best thing about the hotel is it's general vibe. It's a lovely, colonial building amongst a sea of art deco/neon tack. As a result, it's such a pleasure just being there! Sitting on the front terrace, grabbing some food or having a drink and watching the wackos of Miami beach drift by is such a pleasure and you start to notice that most people walking past the hotel look enviously at it as if they wished they were staying there. And I can't blame them, because it's a pretty great hotel in a great spot on SOBE. Don't be afraid to book here; it's a very good hotel.

Room Tip: We had a standard pool room which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yumyum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    493
    153
    62
    32
See reviews for
510
1,229
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

All the other review's are very accurate,this is place is very classy . i keep asking myself why i didnt give it five star's ,maybe because the room's are a bit small (very nicely decorated,like the whole establishment) . we paid 300 dollars a night,this is a fair price,during off season can be cheaper thus a good deal,at peak season the price rockets,personally speaking would probably avoid then.

Hope this helps !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

we went the first weekend of october. even thou it was raining the entire weekend everyone at the hotel was super nice and attentive. we had an excelent room. spacious. we had room service. food came quick and was really good. Adnan was very helpful at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tersa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Tersa,

Thank you for your kind words - I would pass them along to Adnan at the Front Desk but most of our staff read Tripadvisor reviews regularly themselves, so I am sure he has already seen your comment! Our Guest reviews are so important, and we always appreciate your taking your own valuable time to post your impressions!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at The Betsy for 4 nights, and althugh the weather could have been better and we could have used more of the facilities - pool, beach etc it was still a very enjoyable experience. the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms very good - the only thing missing was a coffee maker, but not the end of the world.
Would definately recommend as the location is excellent.

Room Tip: they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for choosing The Betsy - South Beach for your recent getaway. We really appreciate you comments and we will share them with our staff.

I am sorry to read last week’s unseasonal rain prevented you from enjoying some of our best features including the roof deck and spa, our beach amenities and sidewalk dinning at BLT Steak. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travel plans include Miami Beach, so I can take personal care of your experience

Sincere Regards,
Ed Ponder
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level Contributor
215 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

the betsy is a mew jem in town. the location is perfect, the colonial style nice (at least not another cold design hotel in miami). the room a little small, but cosy.
malin+goetz amenities in room, white marble bathroom. the breakfast was served on a patio facing ocean drive and was a rich meal. i enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from a visit to the Betsy. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a terrific location. However, we experienced two very dissappointing experiences while there. The first involved a very bad fall by my wife on the front steps of the hotel. This occurred immediately after a brief rain storm that left the front marble steps wet. I witnessed the fall and the fall was sudden and severe - my wife is still in pain and has an extremely bad bruise on her back. The bellboys ran to our aid, followed by the Concierge and a member of Security. The individual from Security even took all my contact information and promised that the General Manager would follow up. A couple of days went by and there was absolutely zero contact from anyone from the Hotel. After a couple of days, four of our travelling party decided to order Lunch and have it delivered to the Rooftop Terrace. There had been rain showers that day and apparently the Terrace had been closed earlier. It was sunny at that time and barely a cloud in the sky. My wife entered into an argument from someone on the Hotel staff on the merits of opening the Rooftop Terrace. After she became visibly upset (and mentioned the afore mentioned fall with no follow-up), the Hotel decided to open the Terrace. The order then took forever (a mistake was acknowledged at one point) and the eventual order was incorrect. We did enjoy the Terrace for several hours however - with the weather being perfect. Both events (particularly the events around the fall) really soured our visit and experience at the Betsy.

Room Tip: We were in room 204 - very, very small. Another couple and friends that we were travelling with wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daytonfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Daytonfly,
I was so sorry to hear about your wife's fall during your recent stay. Although I was actually off property on a medical leave last week, the one thing I religiously keep up with is our Guest's reviews. I personally sent you an email when I returned to work this week but have not heard back from you - and would appreciate the opportunity to speak directly with you. The week that you were here was certainly a rough weather week - and aside from your wife's assurances that she was ok, I was surprised that you did not receive (or respond to) the voice mail left by our Director of Operations while you were still here. We take our Guests' safety and comfort very seriously and very peraonlly at the Betsy - and remain at your service to do whatever we can to restore your perception of the Betsy South Beach. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel at your convenience.
Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I spent three nights there and it was amazing and the view over the ocean drive was stunning.The only thing I didnt like it was a bit noisy at night..

Room Tip: If you are looking for a specius room choose a corner suit, if you are looking for a quite room choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,364 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,489 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,892 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,409 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach and only one of three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, a Lobby Bar, Library and Conservatory with an Espresso Bar giving guests ample options to lounge and enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world’s great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing